urc United Racing Company Logo

From Bob Miller

JJ Grasso, URC’s “Jersey Jet” of Pedricktown, NJ scored his fourth win of 2010 in URC competition Saturday night at the Delaware International Speedway. Grasso took the lead from Becca Anderson on lap fourteen then ran unchallenged to his sixteenth career Rislone URC Sprint Series career win. In the close and exciting season long Rislone point chase, Grasso is trailing six time URC champion Curt Michael by twenty-one point. Michael started twelfth in the twenty-four car starting field and rallied to an impressive third place finish, also collecting five additional points for advancing the most spots (9) in the feature event. The solid third place finished by Michael and the Valley Forge INC team and earned them the Taylor & Messick Delaware State season long Championship.

A field of twenty-six Rislone URC sprint cars took part in the program with heat race victories going to Becca Anderson, Kramer Williamson and Art Liedl.

In the twenty-five lap feature event, the yellow was displayed before the first lap was completed as Bill Unglert came to a stop in turn two. On the restart, Becca Anderson took immediate control of the lead as Kramer Williamson followed in second. Grasso passed Williamson for second on lap two and attempted to reel in Anderson. Even with a caution on lap seven for Tim Iulg who spun in turn four, Anderson maintained the top spot as Curt Michael was threading his way to the front.

By the halfway point of the race, Grasso was offering serious challenges for the lead and on lap fourteen, the BK Leasing #99 was at the front of the pack. Grasso quickly established a comfortable lead over Anderson and Michael as Kramer Williamson and Justin Collett rounded out the top five.

In the closing stages of the race, Grasso had to contend with lapped traffic, however, he held a solid lead over Anderson. Although Michael tried to reel in Anderson, she too managed her advantage.

With the checker flag waiving, JJ Grasso was the winner over Becca Anderson, Curt Michael Kramer Williamson and Justin Collett.

FEATURE FINISH: JJ Grasso, Becca Anderson, Curt Michael, Justin Collett, Josh Weller, Kramer Williamson, Art Liedl, Robbie Stillwaggon, Kevin Darling, Kevin Nouse, Randy West, Rory Janney, Eddie Wagner, Joe Zuczek, Jonathan Swanson, Midge Miller, Tim Higgins, Gary Gollub, Mike Kostic, Scott Pursell, Tim Iulg, Justin Jones, Randy Wilbert, Bill Unglert. DNQ- – -Tim Hogue, Andy Best.

LikeWise Stables Fast Time of the Night: Becca Anderson
Fred’s Trailer Parts Hard Charger: Curt Michael – – Advanced 9 spots in the feature
The Audi Shop 13th Place Bonus: Eddie Wagner.

For all your Hotel and lodging needs, check out Choice Hotels by visiting Be sure to mention LURC for special rates and discounts.