Layton Claims the Final Showdown at SSP on Saturday; Ott Wins Non-Stop 358 Feature

ssp susquehanna Speedway Park
ssp susquehanna Speedway Park

From Todd Fisher

Newberrytown, PA (November 13, 2010) – The Final Showdown at the Susquehanna Speedway Park on Saturday afternoon, November 13 went to Chad Layton Harrisburg. Daryn Pittman challenged Layton for the win but lapped traffic prevented him from making the winning pass and he had to settle for second. Don Kreitz Jr. won the wild battle for third place over Greg Hodnett and Fred Rahmer who finished fourth and fifth respectively. Heat race wins went to Pittman, Hodnett and Layton.

In the 20-lap 358 Sprint Car feature, Aaron Ott started seventh and completed the winning pass on lap 14 to claim the non-stop feature event. 2010 ARDC Midget champion, Steve Buckwalter led the first fourteen circuits and settled for second. Cris Eash, Jay Galloway and Glendon Forsythe rounded out the top five. Adrian Shaffer and Ott were the qualifying heat race winners.

The Susquehanna Speedway Park is located midway between Harrisburg and York off I-83 to exit 32, then 1.4 miles NW on SR382 to York Road, then 1.3 miles south. For more information, contact the speedway offices at (717) 292-1696 or visit online at On raceday, use the track phone at (717) 938-9170 for up-to-date information.

Susquehanna Speedway Park Race Results from Saturday, November 13, 2010

Super Sprint Cars (30 laps): 1. Chad Layton; 2. Daryn Pittman; 3. Don Kreitz Jr.; 4. Greg Hodnett; 5. Fred Rahmer; 6. Aaron Ott; 7. Scott Lutz; 8. Billy Schoffstall; 9. Bryn Gohn; 10. Bill Stine; 11. Cole Duncan; 12. Rick Wilson; 13. Dave Wilson; 14. Darren Schott; 15. Gary Gollub; 16. Brian Ellenberger; 17. April Wilson; 18. Jay Shypinka; 19. Justin Henderson; 20. Brent Marks; 21. Rick Lafferty; 22. Johnny Mackison Jr.; 23. French Grimes; DNS – Jeff Taylor; Steve Petry.


HEAT RACE WINNERS: Pittman; Hodnett; and Layton.

Top 360 Sprint Car Finisher: Gohn

358 Sprint Cars (20 laps): 1. Aaron Ott; 2. Steve Buckwalter; 3. Cris Eash; 4. Jay Galloway; 5. Glenndon Forsythe; 6. Dale Hammaker; 7. Ryan Kissinger; 8. Doug Hammaker; 9. Brie Hershey; 10. Adrian Shaffer; 11. Mike Bittinger; 12. Jordan Givler; 13. Rodney Westhafer; 14. Nathan Berwager; 15. Billy Heltzel III; 16. Dwayne Morris; 17. Brian Suchy; 18. Jason Cherry; DNS – Pat Cannon; Logan Schuchart.

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Buckwalter (1-14); Ott (15-20).

HEAT RACE WINNERS: Shaffer and Ott.