2013 Tease Selinsgrove Speedway Logo

By Steve Inch2013 Tease Selinsgrove Speedway Logo

SELINSGROVE, Pa. –  Selinsgrove Speedway will return to racing action at 7:30 p.m. Saturday, June 29, with the 12th annual running of the Middleswarth Potato Chips Firecracker 30 for 358 sprint cars plus late models, pro stocks, and roadrunners. Track gates will open at 5 p.m.

The Firecracker 30-lap main event for the 358 sprint cars will pay $2,000 to win and $225 to start out of a purse totaling $10,495. Time trials, heats, and a B-main will be the format for qualifying for the sprint car special.

Past winners of the Firecracker race as a 40-lap contest include the late Jim Nace of Thompsontown (2002), Bob Beidleman of Walnutport (2003), Dave Calaman of Carlisle (2004), Nate Snyder of Halifax (2005), and Blane Heimbach of Selinsgrove (2006). In 2007, the race was abbreviated to 30 laps and was won by Calaman. Scott Flammer of West Milford, N.J., (2008) Pat Cannon of Etters (2009), Snyder (2010), Logan Schuchart of Hanover (2011), and Heimbach (2012) are also past winners of the 30-lap event.

In 358-360 sprint car competition at the track this season 12 races have produced seven different feature winners. Pat Cannon of Etters is on top of the season win list with five victories to date. Jason Shultz of Carlisle is the only other repeat winner with two victories. Mark Smith of Sunbury; Tony Stewart of Rushville, Ind.; Eric Tomecek of Abbottstown; JJ Grass of Pedricktown, N.J., and TJ Stutts of Liverpool have taken single wins this year.

Selinsgrove Raceway Park will present three complete racing programs this Friday-Sunday, June 21-23. Friday night’s program will feature go karts and micro sprint cars at 7 p.m. The PA Elite Dirt Karters Association will host a two-day karting special Saturday and Sunday, June 22 and 23.

For the latest news, results, and race status, visit or follow us on Twitter and Facebook. The speedway office can also be reached at 570-374-2999.

Purse for 2013 Firecracker 30 for 358 Sprint Cars (June 29): 1) $2,000 2) $1,100 3) $800 4) $650 5) $500 6) $450 7) $425 8) $400 9) $375 10) $325 11) $300 12) $290 13) $280 14) $270 15) 260 16) $250 17) $240 18) $230 19-25) $225

Admission for June 29: Adults: $15; Students (12-17): $12; Kids 11 & Under: Free; Pit Passes: $25