Kevin Ramey dominates Lone Star/Sooner Showdown at Kennedale

Kevin Ramey Don Cook photo
Kevin Ramey Don Cook photo
Kevin Ramey
Don Cook photo

From Bryan Hulbert

Kennedale, TX — (September 14, 2013) — Kevin Ramey posted his second victory of 2013 Saturday night at the Kennedale Speedway Park against the Smiley’s Racing Products Lone Star and American Bank of Oklahoma Sooner Regions with a dominating performance that saw the Print Place No. 7m lapping to seventh place in the 25 lap A-Feature.

Drawing the pole for the night’s feature, Ramey jumped to the lead and never relinquished that spot. Johnny Herrera grabbed the runner up spot from fourteenth with Matt Covington charging from eighth to complete the podium to secure his second American Bank of Oklahoma Sooner Region title.

Patrick Stasa crossed fourth from tenth with Blake Hahn completing the top five. New York’s Bobby Breen grabbed sixth with Channin Tankersley the final car on the lead lap in seventh. Joe Bob Lee, Mike Goodman, and Ryan Beechler completed the top ten.

With the American Bank of Oklahoma Sooner Region 2013 season coming to a close, the Smiley’s Racing Products Lone Star Region continues to the Texas Motor Speedway Dirt Track with the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV American Real on Saturday, September 21. Tickets are on sale at

Smiley’s Racing Products Lone Star Region
American Bank of Oklahoma Sooner Region
Kennedale Speedway Park – Kennedale, Texas
Saturday, September 14, 2013

Car Count: 34

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 12M-Kolt Walker[1]; 2. 74-D.J. Estes[2]; 3. 2K-John Kelly[4]; 4. 4AM-Mike Goodman[6]; 5. 21-Michele Melton[3]; 6. 97-Kevin Cummings[7]; 7. 22-Koby Barksdale[5]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 71-Channin Tankersley[2]; 2. 11-Justin Melton[1]; 3. 79-Ryan Hall[4]; 4. 72-Chris Tarrant[3]; 5. 45-Martin Edwards[6]; 6. 12W-Dale Wester[5]; DNF 51-Matt Ward[7]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 95-Matt Covington[1]; 2. 6-Ryan Beechler[3]; 3. 5-Joe Bob Lee[4]; 4. 8S-Alex Sewell[5]; 5. 66-J.J. Simmons[7]; 6. 22X-Marvin Lough[6]; DNF 4X-Shawn Petersen[2]

Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 9-Bobby Breen[2]; 2. 7M-Kevin Ramey[3]; 3. 17B-Josh Baughman[1]; 4. 23-Seth Bergman[5]; 5. 14-Michael Lang[4]; 6. 74E-Claud Estes III[6]; 7. 69-Larry Howery[7]

Heat 5 (8 Laps): 1. 17-Blake Hahn[3]; 2. 19-Patrick Stasa[1]; 3. 45X-Johnny Herrera[4]; 4. 4J-John James[5]; 5. 3X-Scott Peterson[6]; DNF 69X-John Ricketts[2]

B Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. 23-Seth Bergman[1]; 2. 51-Matt Ward[8]; 3. 12W-Dale Wester[7]; 4. 97-Kevin Cummings[5]; 5. 22-Koby Barksdale[9]; 6. 3X-Scott Peterson[4]; 7. 22X-Marvin Lough[6]; DNF 17B-Josh Baughman[2]; DNF 72-Chris Tarrant[3]

B Feature 2 (12 Laps): 1. 66-J.J. Simmons[2]; 2. 21-Michele Melton[5]; 3. 45-Martin Edwards[3]; 4. 74E-Claud Estes III[6]; 5. 69-Larry Howery[8]; DNF 69X-John Ricketts[7]; DNF 14-Michael Lang[4]; DNF 4J-John James[1]; DNS 4X-Shawn Petersen

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 7M-Kevin Ramey[1]; 2. 45X-Johnny Herrera[14]; 3. 95-Matt Covington[8]; 4. 19-Patrick Stasa[10]; 5. 17-Blake Hahn[4]; 6. 9-Bobby Breen[6]; 7. 71-Channin Tankersley[7]; 8. 5-Joe Bob Lee[13]; 9. 4AM-Mike Goodman[15]; 10. 6-Ryan Beechler[3]; 11. 11-Justin Melton[9]; 12. 23-Seth Bergman[17]; 13. 21-Michele Melton[20]; 14. 8S-Alex Sewell[16]; 15. 66-J.J. Simmons[18]; 16. 45-Martin Edwards[22]; 17. 74E-Claud Estes III[24]; 18. 79-Ryan Hall[12]; 19. 97-Kevin Cummings[23]; 20. 12W-Dale Wester[21]; DNF 74-D.J. Estes[2]; DNF 2K-John Kelly[11]; DNF 12M-Kolt Walker[5]; DNF 51-Matt Ward[19]

Lap Leader(s): Kevin Ramey (1-25)