Keith Rauch Scores His 61st Career Win on Hall of Fame Night!


By Don Holbrook

Ft. Morgan, CO (August 16, 2014) – The RMMRA made their third stop at Butch Speicher’s I-76 Speedway of the season and the night was owned by Keith Rauch!

Heat race action started of with Rauch taking the win in heat one followed by Randy Oerter and rookie Collin Reinhart making his first appearance in a midget. Heat race two showed a tight battle between Chris Sheil and Bob Harr on the fast 1/4 mile surface. The heat was won by Sheil followed closely by Bob Harr and Ryan Oerter.

During the night, the 2014 Colorado Motorsports Hall of Fame Inductees were announced mid-track. This was a very big night for the RMMRA as they have four members going into the HoF. Past champion Mike Gregg, Gene Pastor, and current points leader/past champion Keith Rauch were announced to the crowd Saturday night. In addition, Mark Matejka was announced as the “Jerry Van Dyke” award recipient for his contribution to motorsports.

After the intermission, the track was reworked and did not disappoint. The surface held moisture and was extremely fast. The field took the green and had tight battles throughout the field. Keith Rauch and Bob Harr took off to commanding leads from the remaining field and battled closely the entire feature. At the checkers, it was Rauch showing why he is deserving of Hall of Fame honors as he captured his 61st career midget win.

The RMMRA would like to thank Butch Speicher for a fast track and an incredible audience as the night featured “Fan Appreciation” night activities during intermission. A special thank you as well to an anonymous sponsor, in addition to Glen Tilton from Napa Auto Parts of Cheyenne, who together boosted the purse by $1,500!!!

The next race is August 23rd at El Paso County Speedway in Calhan, CO. See you all there!!

Complete Results are as follows:

Heat One (8 Laps) – Keith Rauch, Randy Oerter, Collin Reinhart (Rookie), Doug Bensenberg (DNF), Scott Fennell (DNS), Greg Schaefer (DNS)

Heat Two (8 Laps) – Chris Sheil, Bob Harr, Ryan Oerter, Brad Tilton, Mark Chisholm (DNF), Bill Rousch (DNS)

“A” Feature (20 Laps) – Keith Rauch, Bob Harr, Chris Sheil, Mark Chisholm, Greg Schaefer, Randy Oerter, Brad Tilton, Ryan Oerter, Collin Rinehart, Bill Rousch, Doug Bensenberg, Scott Fennell