Straight Line Into Speedway City Victory Lane

From Phil Michell

Richmond, AU — (October 25, 2015) — Last night Mount Gambier’s Steven Lines collected his third A-Main victory of the season and the second in a row as he dominated the opening round of the Revolution Racegear Speedway City Sprintcar Track Championship. After starting from the pole Lines led the entire 20 lap journey to win by over a half a lap over Steven Caruso and Daniel Pestka. In fact Lines was one of many A-main winners who had travelled from all corners of the State to compete with drivers from Mount Gambier, Penola, Renmark and Whyalla all claiming victories in their respective classes.

Due to the late addition of the 410ci Sprintcars to the program a field of 11 cars fronted but unfortunately only 9 drivers were able to take the green flag in the final after both Brendan Guerin and Jamie Cobby encountered engine dramas.

After winning a heat, and finishing third in the other, Lines qualified on pole ahead of Mark Caruso, Pestka, Steven Caruso, Ryan Jones and Jake Tranter. On the initial start the field was quickly reduced to seven as Mark Caruso spun in front of the entire field with Justin Sloan being the unlucky driver to collect the spinning #33 with Sloan rolling over in turn two.

On the restart Lines led away from Steven Caruso and Pestka with the top three staying that way for the entire distance. The real battle was for fourth with Tranter getting past Jones just prior to mid race for fourth with both drivers remaining locked together with Tranter getting the best of the Murray Bridge racer. Sixth place went to 410ci rookie Sam Putland with Luke Bowey rounding out the field one lap down on the leader.

Along with Lines the heat winners were Pestka and Mark Caruso.

The 360ci Sprintcars were also on the program with Renmark driver Dan Evans defeating Darryl Guerin, Michael Lovegrove, Tregan Gates and Penola based rookie Jack Gartner, who was making his Sprintcar debut after moving up from Junior Sedans. Guerin and Evans secured a heat win each.

In the Wingless Sprints Jake Ashworth defeated Matthew Kennedy to claim his second career Speedway City A-Main victory with the remaining feature event winners being Steve Letts (AMCA Nationals), Darren Flatman (Street Stocks), Whyalla speedster Angelo Karoussis (Formula 500’s) and Nathan Thorne (Junior Sedans). In the Junior Sedan feature event young Zac Walters walked away from a nasty barrel roll in turn two after contact with Jake Richter sent the #14 Daihatsu over in spectacular fashion.

The next event on the Speedway City calendar will be the 30th Anniversary edition of the Oxford Insurance Brokers Australian Sprintcar Masters on November 7, 2015.