ASCS Sprints on Dirt Release 2010 Schedule

By Lonnie Wheatley, MudclodBob photo

TULSA, Okla. (January 25, 2010) – Gearing up for another year of premier Sprint Car racing in the Great Lakes area, the Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP has set its slate for 2010.

The 31st year of SOD racing action is currently composed of 27 nights of competition at 15 different tracks throughout Michigan, Ohio, Indiana and the Canadian province of Ontario.

The ASCS Sprints on Dirt will kick off the 2010 racing season on Saturday night, May 1, at Crystal Motor Speedway in Crystal, MI, the first of 17 events within the state of Michigan with other tracks set to host the series including Hartford Motor Speedway, Butler Motor Speedway (Quincy), Cherry Speedway (Fife Lake), I-96 Speedway (Lake Odessa), Owendale Speedway, Winston Motor Speedway (Rothbury) and the Ionia Fair Speedway.

The SOD shoes will also take on the NRA forces with the annual Ohio swing with stops at Limaland, Waynesfield and Eldora over the Memorial Day weekend.

The series will also venture into Hoosier territory on a pair of occasions with events at Gas City on May 21 and then Kokomo Speedway on August 8.

The ASCS Sprints on Dirt will tangle with the Lucas Oil ASCS Patriots at Ohsweken Speedway on July 2 before returning to the Ohsweken oval for the Canadian Sprint Car Nationals in September. Another pair of appearances across the border are set for South Buxton International Raceway in Merlin, ONT.

Goshen, Indiana’s Brett Mann will be gunning for a three-peat after snaring back-to-back Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP titles in 2008 and 2009. Mann emerged atop a hotly-contested 2009 points battle by a narrow 18-point margin over Gregg Dalman, with Tim Norman and Dustin Daggett within another ten points.

After racking up eleven ASCS SOD wins in 2009 to run his career series total to 65, Daggett is just six wins shy of matching Hank Lower’s all-time series record of 71 career wins.

In its 19th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing, the American Sprint Car Series brings the best of Sprint Car racing to approximately 100 different tracks throughout 30 states and Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of a dozen different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at

2010 Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP Schedule:

May 1 – Crystal Motor Speedway (Crystal, MI)
May 21 – Gas City I-69 Speedway (Gas City, IN)
May 28 – Limaland Motorsports Park (Lima, OH)
May 29 – Waynesfield Motorsports Park (Waynesfield, OH)
May 30 – Eldora Speedway (Rossburg, OH)
June 11 – Hartford Motor Speedway (Hartford, MI)
June 12 – Butler Motor Speedway (Quincy, MI)
June 18 – Cherry Raceway (Fife Lake, MI)
June 19 – I-96 Speedway (Lake Odessa, MI)
July 2 – Ohsweken Speedway (Ohsweken, ONT) – vs. ASCS Patriots
July 3 – South Buxton International Raceway (Merlin, ONT)
July 10 – Owendale Speedway (Owendale, MI)
July 16 – Winston Motor Speedway (Rothbury, MI)
July 17 – Crystal Motor Speedway (Crystal, MI)
July 23 – Ionia Fair Speedway (Ionia, MI)
August 6 – Cherry Raceway (Fife Lake, MI)
August 7 – I-96 Speedway (Lake Odessa, MI)
August 8 – Kokomo Speedway (Kokomo, IN)
August 14 – Butler Motor Speedway (Quincy, MI)
August 21 – South Buxton International Raceway (Merlin, ONT)
August 28 – Owendale Speedway (Owendale, MI)
September 3 – Winston Motor Speedway (Rothbury, MI)
September 4 – Crystal Motor Speedway (Crystal, MI)
September 10 – Hartford Motor Speedway (Hartford, MI)
September 17 – Ohsweken Speedway (Ohsweken, ONT)
September 18 – Ohsweken Speedway (Ohsweken, ONT)
September 25 – I-96 Speedway (Lake Odessa, MI)