Berlin Raceway

by Linda Bloom

Marne, MI (5/21/10) The Auto Value Bumper to Bumper Super Sprint series made their first appearance of the 2010 racing season Saturday night at Berlin Raceway. The night started off with Derek Snyder setting quick time of 13.079 seconds, at an average speed of 120.560 mph around the 7/16 mile paved oval.

44-year sprint car veteran Jeff Bloom took the first heat win over a charging Kevin Feeney and Snyder, while David Price took the checkered first in the 2nd heat, but was penalized 2 positions for jumping the start, handing the win to Bill Tyler. Chad Goff finished 2nd and Price was relegated to a 3rd place finish.

The sprint car feature was the final race of the night, and followed a 60 lap modified main that put a lot of rubber with a different combination from the sprints down, and this made the track pretty slick for most of our drivers. Geoff Kaiser took the Stickney/Carman sprinter to the lead from the outside pole, and never looked back, scoring his first AVBBSS win over Feeney, Goff, 2nd fastest qualifier Jim Swain, Florida’s Troy DeCaire, Price, Snyder, Bloom, John Boy Hotchkiss and Teddy Alberts.

The Auto Value Bumper to Bumper Super Sprints will make their next appearance at Toledo Speedway on Friday, June 11, sharing the top billing with the ISMA Supermods.