Bacon Bags First Lucas Oil ASCS National Win in Steve King Memorial Prelim!

Lonnie Wheatley

JETMORE, Kan. (May 29, 2010) – Brady Bacon bagged that elusive first career Lucas Oil ASCS presented by K&N Filters National feature win by wiring the field in Saturday night’s 30-lap preliminary main event at the Second Annual Boot Hill Casino Steve King Memorial atop the 3/8-mile Jetmore Motorplex dirt oval.

The 20-year-old “Broken Arrow Bandit” locked himself into Sunday night’s 35-lap Steve King Memorial championship feature event along with runner-up Tim Crawley, third-finishing rookie contender Kyle Hirst and a resurgent Gary Wright in fourth, while also taking over the series points lead by a narrow margin over fellow Oklahoma shoe Shane Stewart, who finished eighth.

Starting from the pole position, Bacon outgunned fellow front row starter Dean Drake (in his ASCS debut) after the initial start was negated when Travis Rilat got upside down in turn four before reaching the green flag.

Weathering several cautions over the initial ten laps, Bacon slipped away from the field over the final two-thirds of uninterrupted distance before ultimately taking the checkered flag with nearly a straightaway advantage aboard Mike and Megan Eubanks’ Wesmar-powered Tel-Star Communications No. 99 Triple-X.

“I really couldn’t tell if anyone was close or not,” Bacon commented. “I tried the high side down there in three and four a time or two just to see if there was maybe something more there, but the bottom just seemed better for us.”

The triumph by Bacon made him the fourth different winner in as many Lucas Oil ASCS National feature events this season and the second first-time National winner of the year in just his 14th career National feature start.

Working through lapped traffic adeptly over the last half of the race, Bacon took the checkered flag comfortably ahead of Crawley, who worked forward from eighth and took the runner-up position away from Hirst in the final rounds.

“We’re locked in for tomorrow night, so we’re happy,” Crawley commented of the finish aboard Mike Ward’s McCarver-powered Boater Sports No. 88 Maxim.

Following up on third and fourth place finishes the previous two nights in ASCS Midwest action, California’s Kyle Hirst continued a strong week by taking the show position and claiming a slim lead in the Brodix Rookie of the Year chase aboard Gary Perkins’ Shark-powered GP Development No. 6 A.R.T.

After using up three provisionals in the initial three events of the season, Wright started Saturday’s feature eleventh and ultimately battled past Johnny Herrera for the fourth and final lock-in position in the final rounds aboard Scott Brown’s ASI-powered Lubbock Wrecker Service No. 9x Maxim.

The third-runner in the early stages behind Bacon and Hirst, Herrera rounded out the top five with Jason Johnson rallying from 18th to claim sixth.

Defending Steve King Memorial champion Jack Dover was seventh, with reigning series champion Shane Stewart moving from 14th to eighth.

Garry Lee Maier was ninth, with Matt Covington the second Brodix Rookie of the Year contender (along with Hirst) among the top ten by completing the top ten. Justyn Cox was the third Rookie contender to make the feature cut, claiming 14th.

Event promoter and series title contender Tony Bruce, Jr., utilized his first provisional of the year and raced from 23rd to eleventh.

After running third on the opening pair of laps before slipping off the top of turns three and four, Darren Long salvaged a 13th place finish. Sean McClelland moved to third after Long’s miscue, but was forced pitside moments later with a cut left rear tire.

Bacon, Crawley, Maier, Long, Taylor Milton and Dover topped heat race action for Saturday night’s 47-car field, with Jeremy Campbell and Jason Johnson winning the twin 15-lap “B” Mains.

Dylan Peterson jumped a tire and flipped in turn two in heat race action, with Colt Treharn and Logan Walker both flipping as well in “B” Main action. There were no injuries.

Austen Wheatley and Matt Sherrell both held the third and final transfer position at one point during the second “B” Main, only to slip off the top of the track in turns three and four.

The Second Annual Boot Hill Casino Steve King Memorial at the Jetmore Motorplex concludes on Sunday night, with racing action set to go green at 7:30 p.m.

Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Cars presented by K&N Filters
Second Annual Boot Hill Casino Steve King Memorial Preliminary
Jetmore Motorplex Results:

Heat Races (Top 16 in Passing Points to “A” Main; Balance to 2 “B” Mains):

Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 99-Brady Bacon, 2. 9x-Gary Wright, 3. 81-Jon Freeman, 4. 94-Danny Wood, 5. 35-Matt Sherrell, 6. 74x-Joshua Hodges, 7. 36-Jason Martin, 8. 87ax-Strike Hill.

Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 88-Tim Crawley, 2. 95-Matt Covington, 3. 51-Mike Peters, 4. 44w-Austen Wheatley, 5. 71-Channin Tankersley, 6. 29-Travis Rilat, 7. 0w-Michael Woodruff, 8. 12m-Jerry Graves, Jr.

Heat Three (8 Laps): 1. 1x-Garry Lee Maier, 2. 6-Kyle Hirst, 3. 57-Shane Stewart, 4. 45-C.J. Johnson, 5. 41-Jason Johnson, 6. 7-Don Young, 7. 38-Logan Walker, 8. 25-Dylan Peterson.

Heat Four (8 Laps): 1. 3g-Darren Long, 2. 81au-Gavin Punch, 3. E85-Jeremy Campbell, 4. 20-Luke Cranston, 5. 10a-Ricky Logan, 6. 4-Kirby Hagans, 7. 87a-Andrew Marshala, 8. 33-Kris Miller.

Heat Five (8 Laps): 1. 91x-Taylor Milton, 2. 5h-Justyn Cox, 3. 77x-Dean Drake, 4. 21-Taylor Velasquez, 5. 19-Patrick Stasa, 6. 91-Jeff Stasa, 7. 93-Dustin Morgan, 8. 44-Doug Lovegrove.

Heat Six (8 Laps): 1. 53-Jack Dover, 2. 45x-Johnny Herrera, 3. 1-Sean McClelland, 4. 0-Jake Martens, 5. 18-Tony Bruce, Jr., 6. 50z-Zach Chappell. DNS: 77-Colt Treharn.

“B” Mains (Top 3 From Each Advance to “A” Main):

First “B” Feature (15 Laps): 1. E85-Jeremy Campbell, 2. 29-Travis Rilat, 3. 51-Mike Peters, 4. 74x-Joshua Hodges, 5. 71-Channin Tankersley, 6. 7-Don Young, 7. 12m-Jerry Graves, Jr., 8. 19-Patrick Stasa, 9. 81-Jon Freeman, 10. 21-Taylor Velasquez, 11. 38-Logan Walker, 12. 10a-Ricky Logan, 13. 44-Doug Lovegrove, 14. 87a-Andrew Marshala, 15. 77-Colt Treharn. DNS: 50z-Zach Chappell.

Second “B” Feature (15 Laps): 1. 41-Jason Johnson, 2. 94-Danny Wood, 3. 45-C.J. Johnson, 4. 18-Tony Bruce, Jr., 5. 93-Dustin Morgan, 6. 44w-Austen Wheatley, 7. 0w-Michael Woodruff, 8. 4-Kirby Hagans, 9. 35-Matt Sherrell, 10. 91-Jeff Stasa, 11. 25-Dylan Peterson, 12. 33-Kris Miller, 13. 36-Jason Martin, 14. 0-Jake Martens, 15. 87ax-Strike Hill.

Jetmore Motorplex – Steve King Memorial Preliminary “A” Main Event:

“A” Feature (30 Laps): 1. 99-Brady Bacon, 2. 88-Tim Crawley, 3. 6-Kyle Hirst, 4. 9x-Gary Wright, 5. 45x-Johnny Herrera, 6. 41-Jason Johnson, 7. 53-Jack Dover, 8. 57-Shane Stewart, 9. 1x-Garry Lee Maier, 10. 95-Matt Covington, 11. 18-Tony Bruce, Jr., 12. 94-Danny Wood, 13. 3g-Darren Long, 14. 5h-Justyn Cox, 15. 45-C.J. Johnson, 16. 20-Luke Cranston, 17. 51-Mike Peters, 18. E85-Jeremy Campbell, 19. 81au-Gavin Punch, 20. 77x-Dean Drake, 21. 10a-Ricky Logan, 22. 91x-Taylor Milton, 23. 1-Sean McClelland, 24. 29-Travis Rilat.

Lap Leaders: Brady Bacon 1-30.

Note: Tony Bruce, Jr., and Ricky Logan both utilized provisionals based on 2009 owner’s points to start the “A” Main.

Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Cars presented by K&N Filters Points (Top 20): 1. Brady Bacon 492, 2. Shane Stewart 489, 3. Tony Bruce, Jr. 468, 4. Jason Johnson 462, 5. Tim Crawley 443, 6. Jack Dover 428, 7. Kyle Hirst 425, 8. Danny Wood 424, 9. Matt Covington 423, 10. Zach Chappell 393, 11. Johnny Herrera 388, 12. Gary Wright 379, 13. (tie) Travis Rilat and Ricky Logan 372, 15. Jesse Hockett 370, 16. Sean McClelland 341, 17. Darren Long 338, 18. Sammy Swindell 331, 19. Dustin Morgan 317, 20. Channin Tankersley 309.