J.R. Stewart Snares ASCS SOD Win at Waynesfield

2010 ascs American Sprint Car Series

Bob Buffenbarger

WAYNESFIELD, Ohio (May 29, 2010) – J.R. Stewart made the most of Tim Allison’s bad luck on lap twelve of the Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP main event and picked up the checkers at Waynesfield Raceway Park Saturday night with a win in the “Memorial Classic”.

At the drop of the green, pole sitter Allison was a rocket around the top of the track and quickly jumped out front with JR Stewart, Dustin Daggett, Mike Dunlap, Butch Schroeder and Ron Blair all in tow and not letting Allison out of sight. On the 6th circuit the 22D of Dennis Yokam spun in turn two with Robert Huisken unable to avoid him and both cars tumbled and brought out the red. Neither driver was injured.

By lap ten Stewart was closing on the leader Allison, but on the 12th lap coming out of turn four, a lapped car nearly spun in front of Allison and he was unable to avoid contact ending his race as the leader and now JR Stewart was in command. Allison did re-start at the tail.

On lap 16, it was Stewart, Daggett inching closer, Mike Dunlap with a strong run, Butch Schroeder, Ron Blair and Hud Horton. But on the 20th lap Dunlap and Blair tangled in turn two and brought out the final caution. When the green came back out Daggett almost pulled a slide job on Stewart but lost some momentum allowing Stewart to extend his lead. Butch Schroeder got around Daggett to take the runner up position with Daggett, Horton and Horstman rounding out the top five.

Heats for the 33 cars on hand were won by Dennis Yokam, Dain Naida, Hud Horton and Luke Hall. The B mains went to Ryan Grubaugh and Ben Rutan.

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP Results
May 29, 2010
Waynesfield Raceway Park – Waynesfield, Oh

Heat Races (Top 4 Finishers Transfer to the “A” Feature)

Engler Machine and Tool Heat Race #1 (8 Laps):
1.22d-Dennis Yokam; 2.B20-Butch Schroeder; 3. 2m-Dustin Daggett; 4.46-Robert Huisken; 5. 24-Jeremy Keegan; 6. 24b-Mike Burkin; 7. 10-Pete Ischi; 8.32m-Derek Hastings; 9. 47-Eric Riggins

Lane Automotive/Comp Cams Heat Race #2 (8 Laps):
1.6n-Dain Naida; 2.2H-Dallas Hewitt; 3. 57-Mike Dunlap; 4. 17-Jared Horstman; 5. 00-Ryan Grubaugh; 6. 27r-Ryan Ruhl; 7. 22s-Aaron Shaffer; 8. 187- Gavin Hunyady

Butlerbuilt Heat Race #3 (8 Laps):
1. 28H-Hud Horton; 2. 1W-Kent Wolters; 3. 6S-JR Stewart; 4. 18 -Todd Heuerman; 5. 23-Ben Rutan; 6. 21-Travis Hery; 7. 4B-Andrew Bowsher; 8. 49T-Gregg Dalman

Hoosier Racing Tire Heat Race #4 (8 Laps):
1.34-Luke Hall; 2. 35-Ron Blair; 3. 11-Tim Allison; 4. 6-Mike Dussel; 5. 10J-Jarrod Delong; 6. 7C-Tim Hunter; 7. 48-Tommy Kerce; 8. 5W-Jeff Williams

Engine Pro “B” Feature (Top 2 Finishers Transfer to the “A” Feature):
“B Main #1” Feature (10Laps):
1.00-Ryan Grubaugh; 2. 24-Jeremy Keegan; 3. 24B-Mike Burkin; 4. 10-Pete Ischi; 5. 22S-Aaron Shaffer; 6. 47-Eric Riggins; 7. 32m-Derek Hastings; 8.187-Gavin Hunyady; 9. 27R Ryan Ruhl/DNS
“B Main #2” Feature (10Laps):
1.23-Ben Rutan; 2. 7c-Tim Hunter; 3. 5W-Jeff Williams; 4. 4B-Andrew Bowsher; 5. 21- Travis Hery; 6. 48-Tommy Kerce; 7. 10J-Jarrod Delong; 8. 49T-Gregg Dalman/DNS

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by Victor Reinz “A” Main Event
“A” Feature (25 Laps):
1. 6S-JR Stewart [2]; 2. B20-Butch Schroeder[8]; 3.2M-Dustin Daggett [4]; 4. 28H-Hud Horton [10]; 5. 17-Jared Horstman [14]; 6. 6-Mike Dussel [16]; 7. 34-Luke Hall [9]; 8.1W-Kent Wolters [6]; 9. 7C-Tim Hunter [20]; 10. 6N-Dain Naida [11]; 11. 11-Tim Allison [1]; 12.35-Ron Blair [5]; 13. 18-Todd Heuerman[15]; 14. 00-Ryan Grubaugh [17]; 15. 24-Jeremy Keegan [19]; 16. 57-Mike Dunlap [3]; 17.2H-Dallas Hewitt [7]; 18. 23-Ben Rutan [18]; 19. 22D-Dennis Yokam [12]; 20. 46-Robert Huisken

Lap Leaders: 1-12 Allison, 13-25 Stewart

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP Point Standings (Top Ten): 1. Dain Naida 388, 2. Ben Rutan 387, 3. Ryan Grubaugh 357, 4. Robert Huisken 340, 5. Gavin Hunyady 335, 6. (tie) Gregg Dalman and Ryan Ruhl 317, 8. Dustin Daggett 300, 9. Aaron Shaffer 230, 10. Darren Long 142.