This is what Willis was talkin’ about; it’s time for the WTF Cup

placerville speedway

From Bill Sullivan, Handy Racing Promotions Media Relations

PLACERVILLE, CA – It’s finally here, one of the most anticipated special events of the season at Placerville Speedway. It’s time for the return of Wild Winged Wednesday to the El Dorado County Fairgrounds this week for the first ever “Who’s the Fastest Cup” featuring winged 360 sprint cars.

In the past, this weeknight affair has been a rain make up race for either a Civil War Campaign or a Golden State Challenge event that was lost earlier in the year. This season, however, such a date was not required but the fans love this race so much that Handy Racing Promotions recently announced the birth of the first ever “Who’s the Fastest Cup.” This event will be a non-points race for 360 sprint cars and will pay a healthy $3000 to the winner courtesy of added funds from track sponsor Riebes Auto Parts. Each driver who simply starts the feature event will earn $300 for their efforts.

In 2009 Wild Winged Wednesday was one that race fans and drivers will long never forget . Race fans witnessed California’s top talent belowa lightning storm that eventually brought a climactic downpour to the end of the night. The checkered flag dropped just five laps short of the scheduled 30-lap distance as the rain began to fall and hundreds of spectators remained standing in the pouring rain cheering in delight as Auburn’s Andy Forsberg celebrated on the front stretch.

This Wednesday night, look for Forsberg to return and defend his Wild Winged Wednesday title. For Forsberg the return of the weeknight affair will be more than just an open competition where he can give it his all; it will be another chance at a first hometown victory.

In his career Forsberg has been known as one of the winningest drivers in the region, often recognized for his win it or wear it style behind the wheel. This year, victory has eluded Forsberg at his home track. However, he has been a consistent top finished and now leads the point standings in the weekly Red Hawk Casino Championship at Placerville as well as the traveling Civil War Series.

“I’m hoping this will be the night we can get the monkey off our back at Placerville,” said Forsberg. “We’ve been so close so many nights and just can’t get it done. The competition at this place is unreal and this Wednesday night expect it to be even tougher. We’ve heard of a lot of different people coming trying to get that three grand. The Wednesday night races are a great deal, it’s different and it’s exciting for the fans.”

Forsberg is correct, the special weeknight events draw different faces to Placerville Speedway as the event does not conflict with other events. In previous Wild Winged Wednesday events nationally recognized drivers like Shane Stewart have been known to log entries.

While the “Who’s the Fastest Cup” does not required a pre-entry, several inquiries from teams located in as far away as Arizona and the Pacific Northwest have inquired about the format and payout of the event and one popular driver from North Carolina is expected to announce his return to the famed bullring shortly.

Sean Becker is expected to be the driver to beat Wednesday night. Becker has won the last two Mark Forni Classic races here worth $5000 each, he is a former winner of the Tribute to Al Hinds that pays $3000, the annual Pacific Sprint Cup in Chico that also pays $3000 and he had two consecutive Civil War Championships to his name.

Sacramento’s Mike Henry, a top runner in the Placerville Red Hawk Series and a former Placerville and Civil War Series champion is expected along with the likes of Mason Moore of Princeton, James Sweeney, Jimmy Trulli, Scott Russell, CJ Humphreys and Andy Gregg of Placerville are all expected with Justin Johnson of Shingle Springs. Fair Oaks lady racer Nicole Miller is a likely contender as well as opening Civil War race winner Herman Klein of Sacramento.

Further likely entrants will include Jeremy Phillips of Arboga, Sacramento’s Billy Butler, Trevor Canales of Roseville, Craig Swim of Orangevale, Billy Strange and Troy Machado of Elk Grove, Cody Lamar of Rio Linda, Stephen Tiner of Visalia and Chico’s Stephen Allard. and many more.

Wednesday’s event will utilize similar format and payout structure as the traveling Civil War Series. Each driver will qualify and heat races will be 10-laps in distance, the final feature event of the night will be 30-laps. The pit gate will open at 2 p.m. on Wednesday. Grandstands will open at the regular start time of 5 p.m. Qualifying will begin at 6:30 followed by racing at 7 p.m. Adult tickets are $15, Juniors $10, Children $5 and under six will be admitted for free. Watch for further information on this event in the coming days. For more information visit