Brian Brown Best in ASCS Knoxville Nationals Opener!

2010 ascs American Sprint Car Series

Lonnie Wheatley

KNOXVILLE, Iowa (August 5, 2010) – Brian Brown diminished a lingering bad memory from a year ago by racing to victory lane in Thursday night’s 20th Annual ASCS Knoxville Nationals preliminary feature event at the Knoxville Raceway.

The Grain Valley, MO, shoe slid past Zach Chappell for the lead on the second lap and led the rest of the 20-lap distance aboard the FVP No. 21 Maxim for his fifth career Lucas Oil ASCS presented by K&N Filters National triumph and first of this year.

The victory was also Brown’s first in ASCS Knoxville Nationals competition after falling just inches short in last year’s preliminary action.

“Last year I let Terry McCarl get by in the last corner, so it feels great to get this one tonight,” Brown commented in victory lane.

While Brown gridded the feature field inside the second row, it was front row starter Zach Chappell outgunning Aussie Jamie Veal for the lead at the drop of the green.

Oklahoma’s Chappell paced the opening circuit before Brown slid into the top spot in turns one and two on the second round. Chappell tried to battle back in turns three and four, but Brown held strong for the lead with Chappell eventually surrendering second to fourth-starter Tim Kaeding on the sixth round.

With Brown approaching the tail of the field, the man on the move at the race’s midway point was Dustin Selvage, who charged past both Chappell and then Kaeding within a pair of laps to take over second by the tenth circuit.

Brown’s paced was soon interrupted for the first time on the 13th lap when Chappell stopped with rear end woes and then again two laps later when Kaeding cut a tire and came to a stop.

With two of the top four runners eliminated from contention in short order, Brown held off Selvage on the final restart and navigated the final handful of circuits around the ½-mile oval flawlessly to take the checkered flag with a full 2.00-second advantage over Selvage.

Selvage took the runner-up position, holding off a late rush from Nebraska’s Chad Humston, who gained five positions over the final half of the race to claim the show position.

Current Lucas Oil ASCS National points leader Jason Johnson of Eunice, LA, raced from tenth to fourth, with Veal rounding out the top five.

Bronson Maeschen was sixth, with Lee Grosz in seventh. Brodix Rookie of the Year contender Matt Covington crossed the stripe eighth, with Lucas Oil title contenders Brady Bacon and Tony Bruce, Jr. completing the top ten.

After Humston opened the night with a quick time of 15.875 seconds in qualifying, Eric Baldaccini, Brown, Danny Jennings, Billy Alley and Selvage topped heat race action for the 49-car field.

Dave Hall won the 8-lap “C” Main, while Bruce, Jr., made his way around Scott Winters on the seventh circuit en route to winning the 12-lap “B” Main.

Eric Crocker flipped wildly entering turn one on the opening circuit of the night’s third heat race. Crocker walked away uninjured.

Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Cars presented by K&N Filters
20th Annual ASCS Knoxville Nationals Thursday Night Preliminary Results


1. 1m-Chad Humston (Giltner, NE) 15.875, 2. 1-Bronson Maeschen (Pleasantville, IA) 15.925, 3. 7a-Johnny Anderson (Indianola, IA) 16.013, 4. 95-Matt Covington (Glenpool, OK) 16.062, 5. 7s-Dustin Selvage (Indianola, IA) 16.063, 6. 23w-Scott Winters (Butterfield, MN) 16.084, 7. 18-Tony Bruce, Jr. (Liberal, KS) 16.116, 8. 2m-Matt Moro (Des Moines, IA) 16.123, 9. 6x-Danny Heskin (St. Michael, MN) 16.131, 10. 51-Lee Sowell (Nesbit, MS) 16.150, 11. 83-Tim Kaeding (San Jose, CA) 16.161, 12. 21-Brian Brown (Grain Valley, MO) 16.167, 13. 50z-Zach Chappell (Talala, OK) 16.168, 14. 35au-Jamie Veal (Warnambool, AUS) 16.180, 15. 54-Bryan Dobesh (Sioux Falls, SD) 16.192, 16. 41-Jason Johnson (Eunice, LA) 16.198, 17. 99-Brady Bacon (Broken Arrow, OK) 16.211, 18. 98-Erin Crocker (Wilbraham, MA) 16.224, 19. 0-Jake Martens (Fairview, OK) 16.232, 20. 4j-Lee Grosz (Harwood, ND) 16.259, 21. 28-Jonathan Cornell (Sedalia, MO) 16.271, 22. 44-Kelly Miller (Sterling, ALB) 16.278, 23. 1j-Danny Jennings (Norman, OK) 16.278, 24. 22-Billy Alley (Lincoln, NE) 16.279, 25. 45k-Kolt Walker (Graham, TX) 16.288, 26. 4b-Eric Baldaccini (Keller, TX) 16.306, 27. 71x-R.J. Johnson (Tampa, FL) 16.310, 28. 6-Kyle Hirst (Loomis, CA) 16.368, 29. 14-Randy Martin (California, MO) 16.370, 30. 21b-D.J. Brink (Sturgis, SD) 16.372, 31. 22x-Matt Heinzerling (Sturgis, SD) 16.382, 32. 53x-Joe Beaver (Knoxville, IA) 16.389, 33. 5h-Justyn Cox (Clarksburg, CA) 16.409, 34. 10a-Ricky Logan (Little Rock, AR) 16.420, 35. 86-Don Droud, Jr. (Lincoln, NE) 16.452, 36. 71-Channin Tankersley (Highlands, TX) 16.460, 37. 19L-Rob Kubli (Milo, IA) 16.462, 38. 3d-Donovan Peterson (Brookings, SD) 16.482, 39. 3-Nate Van Haaften (Otley, IA) 16.512, 40. 14e-Todd Evans (Georgetown, TX) 16.566, 41. 51-Dave Hall (Des Moines, IA) 16.584, 42. 20-Casey Friedrichsen (Arthur, IA) 16.699, 43. 8w-Jordan Whitehead (Wichita, KS) 16.746, 44. 33-Alan Zoutte (Knoxville, IA) 16.826, 45. A12-Doc Sloan (Imperial, MO) 16.872, 46. 27-Jody Rosenboom (Rock Rapids, IA) 16.938, 47. 13jm-Jordan Martens (Brandon, SD) 16.991, 48. 20k-Thomas Kennedy (Winnipeg, MAN) 17.722, 49. 38-Logan Walker (Andover, KS) 18.010.

Heat Races (Top 4 Advance to “A” Main; Positions 5-8 to “B” Main; 9-10 to “C” Main:

Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 4b-Eric Baldaccini, 2. 1m-Chad Humston, 3. 41-Jason Johnson, 4. 83-Tim Kaeding, 5. 28-Jonathan Cornell, 6. 23w-Scott Winters, 7. 71-Channin Tankersley, 8. 22x-Matt Heinzerling, 9. 51-Dave Hall, 10. 27-Jody Rosenboom.

Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 21-Brian Brown, 2. 71x-R.J. Johnson, 3. 99-Brady Bacon, 4. 1-Bronson Maeschen, 5. 18-Tony Bruce, Jr., 6. 53x-Joe Beaver, 7. 44-Kelly Miller, 8. 19L-Rob Kubli, 9. 13jm-Jordan Martens, 10. 20-Casey Friedrichsen.

Heat Three (8 Laps): 1. 1j-Danny Jennings, 2. 50z-Zach Chappell, 3. 6-Kyle Hirst, 4. 5h-Justyn Cox, 5. 2m-Matt Moro, 6. 7a-Johnny Anderson, 7. 3d-Donovan Peterson, 8. 8w-Jordan Whitehead, 9. 98-Erin Crocker, 10. 20k-Thomas Kennedy (DNS).

Heat Four (8 Laps): 1. 22-Billy Alley, 2. 14-Randy Martin, 3. 95-Matt Covington, 4. 35au-Jamie Veal, 5. 6x-Danny Heskin, 6. 10a-Ricky Logan, 7. 0-Jake Martens, 8. 3-Nate Van Haaften, 9. 33-Alan Zoutte, 10. 38-Logan Walker.

Heat Five (8 Laps): 1. 7s-Dustin Selvage, 2. 21b-D.J. Brink, 3. 54-Bryan Dobesh, 4. 4j-Lee Grosz, 5. 45k-Kolt Walker, 6. 86-Don Droud, Jr., 7. 51s-Lee Sowell, 8. 14e-Todd Evans, 9. A12-Doc Sloan.

“C” Main – Top 2 Advance to “B” Main:

“C” Feature (8 Laps): 1. 51-Dave Hall, 2. 20-Casey Friedrichsen, 3. 13jm-Jordan Martens, 4. 27-Jody Rosenboom, 5. 33-Alan Zoutte, 6. A12-Doc Sloan, 7. 38-Logan Walker, 8. 20k-Thomas Kennedy. DNS: 98-Erin Crocker.

“B” Main – Top 4 Advance to “A” Main:

“B” Feature (12 Laps): 1. 18-Tony Bruce, Jr., 2. 23w-Scott Winters, 3. 2m-Matt Moro, 4. 7a-Johnny Anderson, 5. 28-Jonathan Cornell, 6. 6x-Danny Heskin, 7. 10a-Ricky Logan, 8. 0-Jake Martens, 9. 45k-Kolt Walker, 10. 71-Channin Tankersley, 11. 3-Nate Van Haaften, 12. 44-Kelly Miller, 13. 53x-Joe Beaver, 14. 20-Casey Friedrichsen, 15. 22x-Matt Heinzerling, 16. 19L-Rob Kubli, 17. 14e-Todd Evans, 18. 8w-Jordan Whitehead, 19. 3d-Donovan Peterson, 20. 51-Dave Hall. DNS: 51s-Lee Sowell, 86-Don Droud, Jr.

20th Annual ASCS Knoxville Nationals Thursday Preliminary Feature Event:

“A” Feature (20 Laps): 1. 21-Brian Brown, 2. 7s-Dustin Selvage, 3. 1m-Chad Humston, 4. 41-Jason Johnson, 5. 35au-Jamie Veal, 6. 1-Bronson Maeschen, 7. 4j-Lee Grosz, 8. 95-Matt Covington, 9. 99-Brady Bacon, 10. 18-Tony Bruce, Jr., 11. 23w-Scott Winters, 12. 1j-Danny Jennings, 13. 54-Bryan Dobesh, 14. 4b-Eric Baldaccini, 15. 7a-Johnny Anderson, 16. 83-Tim Kaeding, 17. 2m-Matt Moro, 18. 71x-R.J. Johnson, 19. 14-Randy Martin, 20. 22-Billy Alley, 21. 6-Kyle Hirst, 22. 5h-Justyn Cox, 23. 21b-D.J. Brink, 24. 50z-Zach Chappell.

Lap Leaders: Zach Chappell 1, Brian Brown 2-20.