By Scott Daloisio

(AUGUST 24, 2010, PERRIS, CA) The Amsoil USAC/CRA Sprint Cars will return as part of a quadruple header program that will also include the Christian Stover Memorial for the California Lightning Sprint Cars, USAC Ford Focus Midgets and the USAC Western Dirt Young Gun this Saturday night, August 28th, at Perris Auto Speedway. Spectator gates will open at 5:00 PM and the first race will be at 7:00. Saturday is a military night at The PAS and any current military member with proper id will be admitted for $5.00.

Most eyes in the grandstands and the pits will be on Temecula’s Mike Spencer and Riverside’s David Cardey on Saturday. As the 2010 season is about to enter the homestretch, Spencer, who will celebrate his 29th birthday next Wednesday, is trying to lengthen his advantage as he seeks his third consecutive USAC/CRA championship. Heading into Saturday’s race at The PAS, the Cal Poly Pomona engineering graduate holds an 80-point advantage over Santa Maria’s “Showtime” Danny Sheridan in the 2010 championship point’s race. Spencer was fourth at the series’ last race at Santa Maria Speedway two weeks ago and Sheridan was ninth.

Cardey, who is confining most of his racing to The PAS in 2010, is seeking to set The PAS USAC/CRA and the all-time USAC/CRA record for consecutive wins on Saturday. Tony Jones, who resides in Orange, set the current PAS record of four in a row in 2008. Cardey tied that record on July 31st. In addition to The PAS/CRA record, Cardey, Jones and Concord native Damion Gardner are tied for the all-time series record of four in a row. In 2005, Gardner knocked off four successive wins from April 30th through May 21st at The PAS (2), Ventura and the now defunct Manzanita Speedway in Phoenix.

Yorba Linda’s Blake Miller, the 2006 USAC/CRA Rookie of the Year, won the Santa Maria race over Ojai’s Troy Rutherford and three-time Budweiser Oval Nationals Champion Bud Kaeding of Campbell. After a slow start to the 2010 season, Miller has fought and clawed his way up to fourth in the Amsoil USAC/CRA standings and is only 13-points behind Ventura’s Cory Kruseman. The Santa Maria win was Miller’s second of the year with the first coming at Tulare in May. The 23-year-old’s last win at The PAS came on May 23rd, 2009 in the annual Salute to Indy.

The California Lightning Sprint Cars will contest the 1st Annual Christian Stover Memorial on Saturday night. Stover won a Lightning Sprint Car main event at The PAS when he was just 14-years-old. He went on to race in the USAC/CRA Series, VRA Sprint Cars and winged cars in Northern California. Stover was 16 when he lost his life in an ATV crash on April 1st, 2009.

Nick Carlson and Casey Martinez, who won their respective main events in the USAC Ford Focus Midgets and Western Dirt Young Guns Series the last time they appeared at The PAS on July 31st, are both expected to be back in action this Saturday on the track’s inner quarter-mile.

You can keep up with all of the latest news from Perris Auto Speedway on Twitter at:

For more information call The PAS at: (951) 940-0134.

Perris Auto Speedway is located on the Lake Perris Fairgrounds (home of October’s Southern California Fair), approximately one hour east of Los Angeles and one hour North of San Diego. To get to the track, take the 215 freeway, exit on the Ramona Expressway and go three miles east to the fairgrounds.

Video and DVD productions of all racing events at Perris Auto Speedway are available from Jeff Kristensen’s Raceway Video. For more information on these productions you can call: (818) 618-9764 or visit the web site at:

Perris Auto Speedway is on the Lake Perris Fairgrounds (home of the Southern California Fair), approximately one hour east of Los Angeles and one hour North of San Diego. To get to the track, take the 215 freeway, exit on the Ramona Expressway and go two miles east to the fairgrounds. is the only authorized Internet address to issue official media news released from The Perris Auto Speedway or Oval Entertainment


1. Mike Spencer – Temecula, CA – 729
2. Danny Sheridan – Santa Maria, CA – 649
3. Cory Kruseman – Ventura, CA – 572
4. Blake Miller – Yorba Linda, CA – 559
5. Matt Mitchell – Yorba Linda, CA – 489
6. Greg Bragg – Visalia, CA – 409
7. Jimmy Crawford – Newbury Park, CA – 385
8. David Cardey – Riverside, CA – 375
9. Tony Jones – Orange, CA – 359
10. Cody Williams – Yorba Linda, CA – 343


David Cardey … 4

Mike Spencer … 2

Damion Gardner … 2

Blake Miller … 2

Cory Kruseman … 1

Greg Bragg … 1

Levi Jones … 1