lincoln speedway

From Lincoln Speedway

ABBOTTSTOWN, PA , 3/26/11 – Brent Marks loves cold weather!

The young Myerstown racer was glad Lincoln Speedway braved the elements Saturday night as he drove away from the field to capture his third career 25-lap 410 Sprint car feature win.

Marks, who started fourth in the feature lineup, took control from Gerard McIntyre, Jr. on the 10th lap, then cruised to the victory to become the seventh different winner in as many 410 Sprint car features run thus far during the 2011 season in Central PA.

“I’m sure glad Lincoln raced tonight-I love cold weather,” stated Marks after earning the $3,200 payday aboard the TJ’s Body Shop, BAPS Auto Paints and Supply, Triple X Chassis No. 19M. “It’s nice to see so many people come out and support the track tonight. I guess if you don’t like it, you don’t have to come out.”

McIntyre grabbed the early race lead off the front row as Marks took the runner-up spot on the fourth lap from Chad Criswell. Marks then closed on McIntyre and tried to make a pass for several laps before pulling a successful pass in turn two to lead lap 10.

The event’s lone yellow flag appeared right after Marks took the lead when last week’s winner Danny Dietrich spun out in turn four.

While Marks checked out over the final 15 laps, the battles throughout the top 10 were torrid as Jim Siegel and Greg Hodnett moved into second and third at the halfway point.

Fred Rahmer and Brian Leppo both moved through the field to battle for a top five spot on the 15th lap. Leppo would eventually get Rahmer for fourth place with 20 laps complete.

“We’ve had our share of problems this year but we brought out a brand new car tonight and it worked anywhere I put it,” Marks said. “The guys on this team work for free and I can’t thank them and my Dad enough for giving me this opportunity. It’s nice to get a win early in the season instead of working so hard to get one later on.” Marks had two wins at Lincoln in 2010, both wins coming during the latter portion of the season.

Siegel, of New Oxford finished in the runner-up spot with Hodnett, of Thomasville finishing third. New Oxford’s Leppo started ninth and finished fourth ahead of 10th starting Rahmer, of Salfordville.

Completing the top 10 finishers were Alan Krimes, Aaron Ott, McIntyre, three-time defending track champ Brian Montieth and Tyler Walker.

Heats for the 24 “410” Sprints were won by Aaron Ott, Alan Krimes and Brian Leppo.

Dale Hammaker used being lapped in a feature the previous week at another speedway has incentive as the 2009 Lincoln track champion turned in an impressive run to win the 20-lap 358 Sprint car feature.

The race was red flagged on the first lap for a seven-car pileup in turn two. Jeff Rohrbaugh was the lone casualty from the melee.

Hammaker, of Grantville started third and raced behind leader Michael Ruttcamp for the first seven laps before driving under Ruttcamp off the fourth turn to lead lap eight.

Hammaker lost a big lead on the 15th lap when Jason Willow spun in turn four but that caution didn’t seem to bother the veteran driver as he drove off from the field over the final five laps to give new car owner Trip Finkenbinder his first 358 Sprint car win.

Billy Dietrich came from 10th to finish in the runner-up spot followed by Ruttcamp, Cris Eash, Nathan Berwager, Brook Weibley, defending track champion Logan Schuchart (who started 19th), Ted Thomas, Niki Young and Adrian Shaffer.

Heats for the 29 “358” Sprints were won by Michael Ruttcamp, Mike Duncan, Jr. and Niki Young with Adrian Shaffer winning the consolation.

Veteran Duane Watson took control on lap eight of the 20-lap thundercar feature and held off a determined Mike Slaybaugh to score the win.

Watson started ninth in the field and worked his way to the front to become the division’s third different winner in as many races this season.

Slaybaugh was second ahead of Sam Gallagher, Brian Walls, Kyle Martin, Danny Beard, Jimmy Combs, Mikey Guise, Todd Miller and Larry Neiderer.

Heats for the 18 thundercars were won by Jamie Zentmyer and Mike Slaybaugh.

Next Saturday, April 2nd, Lincoln Speedway will be back in action featuring the Lawrence Chevrolet 410 Sprinters, 358 Late Models and Super Sportsman. Race time will be 6PM.

To get all the latest news, results, schedule changes and rule changes, visit Lincoln Speedway’s website at to stay up-to-date on all the action or pending weather conditions at Central Pennsylvania’s “Premier” Saturday night race track – The Fabulous Lincoln Speedway.


Sat., March 26, 2011


Abbottstown, PA


Feature (25-Laps) – 1. 19M-Brent Marks; 2. 59-Jim Siegel; 3. 39-Greg Hodnett; 4. 71-Brian Leppo; 5. 51-Fred Rahmer; 6. 87-Alan Krimes; 7. 77-Aaron Ott; 8. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 9. 21-Brian Montieth; 10. 17-Tyler Walker; 11. 15-Adam Wilt; 12. 30C-Lance Dewease; 13. 30-Doug Esh; 14. 11C-Cory Haas; 15. 48-Danny Dietrich; 16. 92-Justin Collett; 17. 6- Brad McClelland; 18. 14-Doug Dodson; 19. 4-John Rudisill; 20. 20S-Derek Sell; 21. 84C-Chad Criswell (DNF); 22. 12-Mike Bittinger (DNF); 23. 44-Frank Cozze (DNF); 24. 85-Shawn Weaver (DNS). No Time

Lap Leaders – Gerard McIntyre (1-9); Brent Marks (10-25)

1st Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 77-Aaron Ott; 2. 59-Jim Siegel; 3. 84C-Chad Criswell; 4. 51-Fred Rahmer; 5. 30-Doug Esh; 6. 11C-Cory Haas; 7. 20S-Derek Sell; 8. 14-Doug Dodson. Time 2:25.09

2nd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 87-Alan Krimes; 2. 15-Adam Wilt; 3. 48-Danny Dietrich; 4. 39-Greg Hodnett; 5. 17-Tyler Walker; 6. 44-Frank Cozze; 7. 4-John Rudisill (DNF); 8. 85-Shawn Weaver (DNF). Time 2:22.36

3rd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 71-Brian Leppo; 2. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 3. 19M-Brent Marks; 4. 21-Brian Montieth; 5. 6-Brad McClelland; 6. 30C-Lance Dewease; 7. 92-Justin Collett; 8. 12-Mike Bittinger (DNF). Time 2:27.76


Feature (20-Laps) – 1. 66-Dale Hammaker; 2. 8-Billy Dietrich; 3. 8R-Michael Ruttcamp; 4. 10W-Cris Eash; 5. 85-Nathan Berwager; 6. B52-Brook Weibley; 7. 1S-Logan Schuchart; 8. 94-Ted Thomas; 9. 65-Niki Young; 10. 91-Adrian Shaffer; 11. 7C-Chad Trout; 12. 35-Steve Owings; 13. 0-Steve Storrie; 14. 5T-Glenndon Forsythe; 15. 11D-Mike Duncan; 16. 23B -Billy Pauch, Jr.; 17. 71-Jessica Anderson; 18. 27-Jay Galloway; 19. 99M-Kyle Moody; 20. 67-Jason Cherry; 21. 69-Travis Willow; 22. 45T-Tim Wagaman (DNF); 23. 66H-Doug Hammaker (DNF); 24. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh (DNF). No Time

Lap Leaders – Michael Ruttcamp (1-7); Dale Hammaker (8-20)

1st Heat (10 Laps/6 qualify) – 1. 8R-Michael Ruttcamp; 2. 45T-Tim Wagaman; 3. 85-Nathan Berwager; 4. 8-Billy Dietrich; 5. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 6. 67-Jason Cherry; 7. 27-Jay Galloway; 8. 23-Chris Arnold (DNF); 9. 21-Scott Fisher (DNF); 10. 71-Jessica Anderson (DNF). No Time

2nd Heat (10 Laps/6 qualify)- 1.11D-Mike Duncan, Jr.; 2. 10W-Cris Eash; 3. B52-Brook Weibley; 4. 66H-Doug Hammaker; 5. 99M-Kyle Moody; 6. 23B-Billy Pauch, Jr.; 7. 69-Travis Willow; 8. 91-Adrian Shaffer (DNF); 9. 74-Dwayne Morris (DNF); 10. 0-Steve Storrie (DNF). Time 2:29.15

3rd Heat (10 Laps/6 qualify) – 1. 65-Niki Young; 2. 5T-Glenndon Forsythe; 3. 66-Dale Hammaker; 4. 94-Ted Thomas; 5. 7-JB Cunningham (Scratched from feature); 6. 35-Steve Owings (DNF); 7. 97-Brie Hershey (DNF); 8. 7C-Chad Trout (DNS); 9. 1S-Logan Schuchart (DNS). No Time

Consolation (10 Laps/7 qualify) – 1. 91-Adrian Shaffer; 2. 1S-Logan Schuchart; 3. 7C-Chad Trout; 4. 27-Jay Galloway; 5. 71-Jessica Anderson; 6. 0-Steve Storrie; 7. 69-Travis Willow; 8. 74-Dwayne Morris (DNF); 9. 21-Scott Fisher (DNF); 10. 97-Brie Hershey (DNS); 11. 23-Chris Arnold (DNS). No Time