Farr, Wanless Win Memorial Races In Brisbane

From JAK

Brisbane, AU — Robbie Farr and Todd Wanless extended their Brisbane win tallies for the season with victory in the Crispy Memorial and Danny Davidson Memorial races respectively at Titan Garages Brisbane International Speedway on Saturday night May 7. The victories marked Farr’s fifth Sprintcar win and Wanless’ ninth Midget win of the 2010/11 season with Wanless also wrapping up the inaugural Polar Ice Qld Midget Car Series with one Round remaining.

Farr once again showed Qld fans the speed and form that carried him to the World Series Sprintcars Championship this season, chasing down race leader Danny Reidy in lapped traffic following a lap six red light stoppage for David Murcott to take over the point and then using the lapped cars as a buffer between himself and his own set of chasers in Reidy, Wanless, Peter Lack, Cameron Gessner and Andrew Scheuerle.

While Reidy and Wanless battled for the minors, the race for fourth through sixth between Lack, Gessner and Scheuerle was also an entertaining one but it all came undone when Gessner hooked a rut in turn four at two thirds race distance and flipped the #68 into the path of Lack and Scheuerle who came to a stop together against the wall. Only Scheuerle would restart, the KRE Race Engines Track Championship point leader keeping his hopes of a Series Title alive with an eventual ninth place finish, one spot ahead of defending Series Champion Pete Thorley. The red light also enabled Murcott’s crew to change the top wing on the #83, the Tasmanian racer having run fifteen laps or so with the damage after being able to restart following his earlier flip in turn one.

Following the red another good battle raged between Steven White and Melissa Boyes who raced each other hard over the final ten laps for top five spots, the battle eventually going the way of White. Brett Thomas brought out the final red of the race when he flipped the #69 in turn four after the leaders had taken the chequers, the Stewards declaring the event as the leaders had completed the distance and the remainder of the field was on their final lap when the incident occurred.

In the Midget Feature, Wanless raced his way to the front on the opening lap of the twenty-five lapper and from there his lead was never heavily threatened. Brock Dean, the Dash winner and Wanless’ closest rival in Series points, jumped the cushion in one and two on the opening lap and pulled to the infield with a flat right rear tyre at the end of the lap, his race and chances of winning the Championship over.

Jeremy Hassell moved from fifth to second before he bounced his way through turn four and into the wall with the right rear of the #78 on lap six, pulling infield soon after. Darren Vine and Steve Swingler had a great race going for the minors before Swingler flipped in turn four on lap twenty one and brought out the reds. Matt Greenwood moved into a podium position and passed Vine for second on the final lap, the result a career best for the former Karter who continues to improve with every drive.

In other racing, Brodie Fraser-McGee had a comfortable win over Natalie Peacock, Jordan Ferguson, Lee McKinnell and Jack Kay in the fifteen lap BIS ASCF Junior Sedan Track Championship Feature. Complete results of this meeting are available via MyLaps at http://www.mylaps.com/results/showevent.jsp?id=651340

Racing continues at Titan Garages Brisbane International Speedway next Saturday night May 14 with Round 13 of the KRE Race Engines Sprintcar Track Championship, AMCA Nationals, Lightning Sprints, Stockcars, Sigmas and Open Sedans on the programme.