Crockett Sweeps ASCS Northwest Opening Weekend at The Grove!

From ASCS Northwest Media

COTTAGE GROVE, Ore. (May 14, 2011) – Leading all thirty laps of the feature race during the Saturday night portion of the ASCS Northwest Mike Burdett Memorial Grove Classic, Roger Crockett and his Omlid & Swinney Fire Protection & Security-SKS Racing-Rocket Designs-Brian Crockett Motorsports-Ostrich Engine-KPC Chassis-#11 team went on to grab their second win of the ASCS Northwest’s double feature season opener.

Henry Van Dam finished second due to a patient advancement through the field climbing from sixteenth to the runner up position earning him the night’s Travis Rutz Hard Charger Award. Although Crockett commanded all thirty laps, Van Dam made a valiant charge near the end of the race tapping Crockett’s tail tank and nearly getting past him.

Snohomish, WA’s Seth Bergman maintained his third place starting position with Friday night’s hard charger Chadd Noland racing his way to fourth. Eugene, OR’s Nate Morelock rounds out the top five.

ASCS Northwest’s 2010 Champion Jason Solwold was storming toward the front until he and pole starter Josh DeWitt made contact on lap fifteen sending both racers to the back. Solwold’s efforts for a comeback earned him an eighth place finish with Princeton, CA’s Mason Moore in sixth and Tacoma, WA’s Mitch Olson right behind him in seventh. Oregon’s Chad Groves and Kyle Miller complete the top ten.

ASCS Northwest Results from Cottage Grove Speedway:

Heat One (10 laps): 1. 38-Rick Fauver, 2. 10-Kyle Miller, 3. 11-Roger Crockett, 4. 23b-Colin Baker, 5. 39c-Jason Solwold, 6. 98m-Mitch Olson, 7. 41-Dale Smith, 8. 9r-Reece Goetz, 9. 8rc-Jason Cocking

Heat Two (10 laps): 1. 5d-Josh DeWitt, 2. 13-Chadd Noland, 3. 33-Nate Morelock, 4. 23-Seth Bergman, 5. 55-Trey Starks, 6. 88-Brent Hoover, 7. 33v-Henry Van Dam, 8. 65-Brendan Boyce

Heat Three (10 laps): 1. 22-Garen Linder, 2. 5h-Mason Moore, 3. 77-Stephen Allard, 4. 10j-Jake Waddell, 5. 25c-Chad Groves, 6. 15-Brad Groves, 7. 26f-Shane Forte, 8. 68-Rob Held

“B” Feature (12 laps): 1. 33v-Henry Van Dam, 2. 65-Brendan Boyce, 3. 55-Trey Starks, 4. 68-Rob Held, 5. 9r-Reece Goetz, 6. 26f-Shane Forte, 7. 15-Brad Groves, 8. 8rc-Jason Cocking, 9. 88-Brent Hoover, 10. 41-Dale Smith(DQ).

Last Chance Qualifier (8 laps): 1. 9r-Reece Goetz, 2. 26f-Shane Forte, 3. 15-Brad Groves, 4. 88-Brent Hoover, 5. 8rc-Jason Cocking, 6. 41-Dale Smith

“A” Feature (30 laps): 1. 11-Roger Crockett, 2. 33v-Henry Van Dam, 3. 23-Seth Bergman, 4. 13-Chadd Noland, 5. 33-Nate Morelock, 6. 5h-Mason Moore, 7. 98m-Mitch Olson, 8. 39c-Jason Solwold, 9. 25c-Chad Groves, 10. 10-Kyle Miller, 11. 23b-Colin Baker, 12. 22-Garen Linder, 13. 68-Rob Held, 14. 10j-Jake Waddell, 15. 5d-Josh DeWitt, 16. 55-Trey Starks, 17. 38-Rick Fauver, 18. 77-Stephen Allard, 19. 9r-Reece Goetz, 20. 65-Brendan Boyce

ASCS Northwest Points (Top Ten): 1. Roger Crockett 300, 2. Seth Bergman 270, 3. Jason Solwold 258, 4. Henry Van Dam 250, 5. Chadd Noland 246, 6. Mason Moore 244, 7. Chad Groves 238, 8. Josh DeWitt 230, 9. Nate Morelock 227, 10. Colin Baker 218.

Photo Gallery