Lance Dewease gets Port 93rd, Logan Wagner continues area domination of 305s

Lance Dewease
Lance Dewease

By Shawn Brouse

Port Royal – Port Royal – Fayetteville’s Lance Dewease won the 93rd sprint car feature of his career at Port Royal Speedway Saturday night, besting Tyler Walker in a 410 sprint feature that saw no less than three leaders.

In the 20-lap late model main, Gary Beward of Thompsontown made it two in a row aboard his Ed Powell-owned No. 19 machine while Logan Wagner of Harrisonville continued his domination of the 305 sprint circuit in the area this season.

Todd Shaffer started the 25-lap Aumiller’s Insurance 410 sprint main on the pole and threatened to lead the first lap but instead it was Curt Stroup who took control.

The event was red flagged with three down for a hard crash in the second corner involving Keith Kauffman and Doug Esh. No injuries were reported.

Stroup surprised many when he pulled away from Shaffer when action resumed while third starter Tyler Walker stayed within striking distance.

And as the leaders entered hectic traffic at the rear of the field, Walker began eyeing the lead and soon took it with a high-flying, two-car pass of both Shaffer and leader Stroup in the fourth corner with 15 laps to go while the pair tried to negotiate the backmarkers.

Walker’s pace aboard the Keen No. 17 was slowed with seven laps to go for a final caution that found seventh starter Dewease lining up second for the restart, a position that he took from Shaffer on the 15th tour.

Aboard the No. 30C, Dewease didn’t muster a challenge at the new green but moments later with four laps to go it was a different story as he ducked low under Walker in the first corner to take control and begin pulling away while Walker tried turning up the wick to stay out front.

Walker tried to remain with the leader but to no avail, instead settling for second followed by 15th starter Justin Henderson, Chad Layton and 19th starter Ryan Taylor.

Sixth through 10th went to Shaffer, 20th starter Davey Sammons, Mike Wagner, Rick Lafferty and Steve Buckwalter.

Heats for the 28-car field went to Esh, Wagner and Layton with Taylor taking the consolation.

Second starter Scott Haus led from the start of the AB Auto Glass late model main but by the halfway point Beward was up to second from his fourth starting position.

Going for two in a row at the track, Beward powered around Haus on an 11th lap restart to take control.

Haus was not done however as a restart with five to go found the defending track champion racing door to door with Beward for the victory.

After a lap of side-by-side action, Beward was able to pull back out to a comfortable advantage at the finish.

Haus was second followed by Mitch Hack, Eric Zembower and Waylon Wagner.

Sixth through 10th went to Scott Flickinger, Terry Naugle, Mike Romig, Jason Miller and Garrett Gray.

Heats for the 23-car field went to Beward, Haus and Bob Dunn.

Having won all three 305 sprint features run in the area to date this season, commercial airline pilot Logan Wagner started second in the 20 lap 305 main at Port Royal and immediately took the lead.

Having vowed to stop his brother’s domination earlier in the night, Mike Wagner II., motored up to second with two laps completed to challenge his leading brother.

But there was no challenge until lapped traffic played a factor midway through the event.

As leader Logan worked on putting cars inside the top 10 a lap down, Michael was able to show him a nose.

But the move only ended up strengthening Logan Wagner’s resolve as he kicked the car into another gear to finish well ahead of brother Mike at the finish.

Third went to Randy Kaylor who was followed by Scott Kerschner and Joey Hershey.

Completing the top 10 was Tyler Bear, Jason Bergstresser, Ryan Lynn, Brent Comp and Joe Zap.

Heats for the 28 305s in action went to Logan Wagner, Kaylor and Bear.

Port Royal Speedway returns to action Thursday night May 26 at 7 PM with the 5th annual Keystone Cup for sprint cars along with pro stocks.

The speedway then comes back on Saturday, May 28 with A Salute To The Military, honoring members of the armed services both past and present.

Adult General Admission for the night has been lowered to $14.00 with a $2.00 discount being afforded to any past or present members of the military who provide military identification or who come to the races in uniform.

On tap May 28 will be the second appearance of the season by the 358 sprints along with AB Auto Glass late models, 305 sprints and an enduro dash PLUS A MAKEUP ENDURO DASH HELD OVER FROM MAY 21. Pat Cannon won the first show of the year for 358 sprints in March.

May 21, 2011 Feature Finishes:

410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Lance Dewease, 2. Tyler Walker, 3. Justin Henderson, 4. Chad Layton, 5. Ryan Taylor, 6. Todd Shaffer, 7. Davey Sammons, 8. Mike Wagner, 9. Rick Lafferty, 10. Steve Buckwalter, 11. Curt Stroup, 12. Nicole Bower, 13. Joey Hershey, 14. Robbie Stillwaggon, 15. Jim Campbell Jr., 16. Bill Jones, 17. Cliff Brian, 18. Dave Hahn, 19. Mike Erdley, 20. Scott Lutz, 21. Bobby Howard, 22. Daryl, Stimeling, 23. Keith Kauffman, 24. Doug Esh

Late models, 20 laps: 1. Gary Beward, 2. Scott Haus, 3. Mitch Hack, 4. Eric Zembower, 5. Waylon Wagner, 6. Scott Flickinger, 7. Terry Naugle, 8. Mike Romig, 9. Jason Miller, 10. Garrett Gray, 11. Mike Lupfer, 12. Sam Schaffer, 13. Patrick Bryner, 14. Tim Wilson, 15. Tim Gray, 16. Bryan Sipe, 17. Tim Fedder, 18. Chris Shuey, 19. Bob Dunn, 20. Chris Casner, 21. Derrick Casner, 22. Mike Mort, 23. Terry Goshorn
305 sprints, 20 laps: 1. Logan Wagner, 2. Mike Wagner II., 3. Randy Kaylor, 4. Scott Kerschner, 5. Joey Hershey, 6. Tyler Bear, 7. Jason Bergstresser, 8. Ryan Lynn, 9. Brent Comp, 10. Joe Zap, 11. Reed Thompson, 12. George Riden, 13. Matt Mountz, 14. Tom Worrick, 15. Kody Lehman, 16. Ian Detweiler, 17. Erin Statler, 18. Brian Walker, 19. Mark Watkins, 20. Jason Brandt, 21. Jim Kennedy, 22. Nathan Gramley, 23. Justin Zap, 24. Jake Waters, 25. Ron Aurand