By Bob Baker

KNOXVILLE, IOWA (June 4, 2011) – Champion drivers Danny Lasoski of Missouri and Jimmy Boyd of California, mechanic Bruce Bromme, Jr., of California and photographer Gene Marderness of Florida took center stage Saturday afternoon, June 4, as they were officially inducted into the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame (NSCHoF) in Knoxville. Emcee Toby Kruse, and a crowd of nearly 250 guests, enjoyed the three-hour ceremony, which honored the exceptional careers of thirteen inductees. Also inducted today, but not present due to circumstances beyond their control, were Gary Wright and Anthony “Andy” Granatelli, whose awards were accepted by friends Lanny Edwards and Bobby Unser, respectively.

The families of deceased inductees Bob Burman, Leonard Kerbs, Joe Sostilio and Della Rice were on-hand to accept their relatives’ honors. In addition, Bob Mays accepted on behalf of the Wally Campbell family, Lynn Paxton accepted on behalf of the Emmett Shelley family, and Jim Gerber accepted on behalf of the W.W. Bowen family.

National Sprint Car Hall of Famers who were present today were Allan Brown, Ralph Capitani, Shane Carson, Lanny Edwards, Ray Lee Goodwin, Harold Leep, Jim McElreath, Jimmy Oskie, Lynn Paxton, Bob Trostle, Bobby Unser and Bill Utz. Also in attendance in the Dyer-Hudson Hall on the Marion County Fairgrounds were NSCHoF inductee family members Bruce Bromme, Jr. (Bruce Bromme, Sr.), Shane Carson (Bud Carson), Jim Gerber (John Gerber), and Harriet Wagner (Earl Wagner).

The program was dedicated to the memory of past National Sprint Car Hall of Fame inductee and National Induction Committee member Jack Miller.

National Sprint Car Hall of Fame & Museum Foundation board president Andy Clark presented the 2011 President’s Award to hard-working museum volunteer John Nelson of Illinois. This year’s twenty-second NSCHoF induction banquet again featured dual large screens showing photo and film footage organized by videographer Kris Krohn.

Next year’s twenty-third NSCHoF induction weekend is tentatively scheduled for June 1-2-3, 2012.