USAC National Sprint Car Series logo 2012 united states auto club

By Dick Jordan

Chris Windom of Canton, Ill. and Damion Gardner of Concord, Calif. celebrated in victory lane Saturday night at Tri-State Speedway at the conclusion of the 2011 AMSOIL USAC Indiana Sprint Week championship. Windom claimed the seven-race series title with a 10th-place finish in the 30-lap finale, while Gardner sped to victory in the feature event, passing Tracy Hines on lap five and leading the rest of the way in his Pace Lighting Eagle/Shaver.

Windom’s Baldwin Brothers team also claimed the $3,500 Bridgeport Rocker from John Youngs as the car owner champions. Windom’s point tally was 29 better than Bryan Clauson’s as Clauson claimed second in the standings after his seventh-place finish in the finale. Daron Clayton took second in the final feature ahead of fast qualifier Jon Stanbrough, Casey Riggs and Brady Short. AMSOIL National point leader Levi Jones was sixth

Hunter Schuerenberg of Sikeston, Mo. claimed round 6 of the 2011 AMSOIL USAC Indiana Sprint Week Friday night at Bloomington Speedway, leading the final 20 laps of the 30-lap race in his Fatheadz Eyewear/R & B Truckers Spike/Foxco. He took the lead from Wes McIntyre on lap 11 and led the rest of the way to beat fast qualifier Dave Darland, who caught Danny Holtsclaw at the line on the final lap for second. Clauson and Jerry Coons Jr. rounded out the “top-five” at the checkered flag.

Casey Riggs of Shelbyville, Ind. scored his first career AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car feature victory Thursday night in round five of the 2011 “Indiana Sprint Week” at Brownstown Speedway. He trailed pole starter Chad Boespflug for the first 16 laps, then took over on lap 17 and led the rest of the way, rim-riding in his Indiana Underground Construction Maxim/Chevy. Fast qualifier Levi Jones took second by inches over Short, while Tracy Hines and Bobby East rounded out the “top-five” at the checkered flag.

Windom won Wednesday night’s 30-lap 41st Annual First Financial Bank “Tony Hulman/Don Smith Classic” at the Terre Haute Action Track. He started seventh and grabbed the lead from pole starter Dustin Morgan on lap two. He relinquished the lead to a hard-charging Keith Bloom Jr. on lap 15 but regained it three laps later and held off repeated challenges from Bloom to post the win in his Fox Paving/Claxton Engines Maxim/Mopar. Stanbrough took third ahead of Robert Ballou and Shane Cottle.


1-Levi Jones-823; 2-Chris Windom-785; 3-Jon Stanbrough-768; 4-Bryan Clauson-742; 5-Robert Ballou-717; 6-Hunter Schuerenberg-702; 7-Damion Gardner-673; 8-Dave Darland-660; 9-Bobby East-577; 10-Tracy Hines-563.


1-Chris Windom-371; 2-Bryan Clauson-342; 3-Dave Darland-302; 4-Jon Stanbrough-301; 5-Jerry Coons Jr.-299; 6-Robert Ballou-266; 7-Levi Jones-253; 8-Mike Spencer-251; 9-Chad Boespflug-249; 10-Hunter Schuerenberg-244.