ASCS Warriors Set for Lake Ozark Speedway Nationals!

American Sprint Car Series ASCS Warrior Region Logo 2011

By Lonnie Wheatley

TULSA, Okla. (August 29, 2011) – The Speedway Motors ASCS Warrior Region is set for two nights of action at the lake with this weekend’s Ninth Annual Lake Ozark Speedway Nationals near Eldon, MO.

The ASCS Warriors will take to the semi-banked, 1/3-mile Lake Ozark Speedway clay oval for two full nights of competition with Saturday night’s winner taking $2,000 and then Sunday night’s LOS Nationals champion pocketing $4,000.

With only three nights of competition remaining on the Warrior schedule after this weekend, Midget grad and Sprint Car rookie contender Brad Loyet of Sunset Hills, MO, is closing in on the Speedway Motors ASCS Warrior title.

With a dozen top-tens in as many Warrior feature events including a pair of wins, Loyet has opened up a 138-point advantage over four-time Warrior champion Randy Martin of California, MO.

Nixa’s Kyle Bellm is third, with Sedalia’s Jonathan Cornell and Farmington’s Mark Shirshekan rounding out the current top five. The balance of the current top ten in Warrior points includes Cody Baker (Lone Jack), Josh Stephens (Buckner), Tyler Blank (California), Austin Alumbaugh (Higginsville) and Chad Corken (Highlands Ranch, CO).

With $6,000 possible for a weekend sweep, the Warriors will face a host of invading forces over both nights of action.

Both nights of racing action at Lake Ozark Speedway are set to go green at 7:00 p.m.

Lake Ozark Speedway is located south of Eldon, MO, on US 54 to SR 52, then 0.1 mile east on SR 52, then 0.5 mile north on Twiggy Lane (Frontage road). For more information, contact the track at 573-392-5452.

The Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest Region is slated for 22 nights of competition at a seven throughout Nebraska and the surrounding areas of Missouri, South Dakota, Iowa and Minnesota.

The inaugural season of Speedway Motors Warrior Region action under the ASCS banner currently consists of 17 nights of competition at nine different tracks throughout Missouri and into Kansas.

The 2011 season marks the 20th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, with approximately 200 nights of competition at tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at