Big money on the line when All Stars invade Fremont for two-day Jim Ford Classic

By Brian Liskai

FREMONT, Ohio – There will be a lot of money on the line on Friday and Saturday, Sept. 16 and 17 at Fremont Speedway when the All Star Circuit of Champions invade “The Track That Action Built” for the final time in 2011.

Friday’s All Star 30-lap feature on All Pro Aluminum Cylinder Heads Night will pay the winner $4,000. And, to reward the drivers and teams in the Fremont Federal Credit Union 305 Sprint division, the 12th Annual 305 Sprint Invitational will be held, paying the feature winner $2,500! The Fremont Fence Dirt Trucks will also be in competition.

Saturday’s All Star 50-lap feature on Ludwig Propane Night will pay the winner $10,000! The dirt trucks will compete for $1,000 to win while the 305 sprints will compete in a regular show.

Fremont has hosted the All Stars 97 times in its 60 year history. In the 2011 season, three-time All Star champion Dale Blaney and 2010 World of Outlaw champion Jason Meyers took early All Star victories at Fremont, with two-time and defending series’ champion Tim Shaffer taking the $10,000-to-win Ohio Sprint Speedweek finale. Shaffer took three of four All Star wins at Fremont in 2010, with local driver Bryan Sebetto earning the other series’ victory.

Shaffer comes into the big double-header weekend leading the All Star’s $20,000-to-win Ohio Region points as well as the National points. He has scored 9 All Star wins in 2011. However, Blaney, who sits second in the series’ Ohio Region and National points, has 7 All Star wins in 2011.

All Star driver David Gravel has caught fire recently, posting several top three runs while sitting third in the series’ Ohio Region and National points. Young hot shoe Danny Holtgraver has also posted top five runs of late, while 2010 All Star Rookie of the Year Cap Henry has also shown improvement. And, you can never count out two-time All Star champion Greg Wilson, who recorded a win a Fremont this season.

The All Star invaders will have their hands full with the likes of current Fremont point leader Bryan Sebetto. Sebetto has three wins at Fremont in 2011 and recently wrapped up the $10,000-to-win Kistler Racing Products Fremont Attica Sprint Title (FAST) Championship Series title.

Three-time Fremont champion Byron Reed has scored three wins at Fremont this season as well, and Dean Jacobs has been a consistent top five finisher at “The Track That Action Built.” Don’t underestimate 2010 Fremont champion Craig Mintz who has put together consistent top five finishes as of late. Throw in two-time track champion Mike Linder who has a win in 2011 and Phil Gressman and rookie Brad Haudenschild who also have victories in 2011 at the speedway. And don’t forget Brandon Martin’s charge from 24th to second at the 2010 Jim Ford Classic!

Admission for Friday’s event is just $20 for adults, $18 for senio citizens and $15 for teens with kids 10 and under getting in free. Saturday’s admission prices are $25 for adults; $20 for seniors; and $15 for teens with kids 10 and under getting in free. Pit passes for each night are $30.

Gates will open at 4 p.m. with racing getting underway at 7 p.m. each night.