5th Annual Running For The Oklahoma State Championship Takes Place Saturday!

From John Lemon

Tulsa, OK — (September 13, 2011) — In what has evolved into an event that Champ Sprint teams circle on their racing calendar as a race they wish to conquer, the fifth annual running of the “Oklahoma State Championship” sanctioned by the Tulsa based Oil Capital Racing Series takes place at the Oklahoma Sports Park this Saturday night in Ada, Oklahoma.

The best teams in the region will bring their A-Game to George Welch’s facility for a shot at sprint car glory in the crown jewel of the OCRS schedule. “Working with George Welch in hosting the “Oklahoma State Championship” at OSP has been great for all parties,” said OCRS president Barry Grable. “ To work with a promoter that is open to ideas and suggestions is the wish of any racing organization. George is as good as they come. For the past several years, we have had a working relationship that has been very beneficial to each party and with George’s blessing, OCRS looks to continue to provide great sprint car racing action to Ada and the surrounding market.”

While the track and sanctioning body are pleased with working together, when the sprint cars convoy their way in, it’s the race fan that comes out the big winners. “When OCRS comes to OSP, we are often complimented by the fans on the racing action they come to see,” Grabel said. “When they approach myself or one of my staff members to say how excited they are that we are here, or to tell us that they enjoy the show, you just can’t help but to be flattered. From fan, to driver, to crew member, to track safety crew, no matter what our position is, we are all in this to be entertained,” said Grabel.

The last event OCRS held at OSP was last July and that feature finish was one for the storytellers. In that race, Whit “The Gasman” Gastineau of Moore Oklahoma took the white flag for the last lap with Pauls Valley resident Gary Owens in hot pursuit. Gastineau missed his mark in turns one and two where Owens would take the lead. Not one to quit, Gastineau gave chase and in the final corner coming to the checkers, Owens slipped on some moisture that had been left by another car and slid off the topside of the racetrack only to have Gastineau go back by for the win! Will Saturday provide the same thrilling action?

Gastineau’s nemesis this year has been current OCRS point leader Sean McClelland of Tulsa. Thanks in part to recent problems by the Gastineau team, McClelland has pulled out to a 118 point advantage. McClelland’s results at the two prior stops OCRS have made at OSP this year have not been to his standards. The first race at OSP resulted in a failure to make the A feature. The next race saw the driver of the #1 “Black Widow” finish in the 14th position. Should McClelland stumble again, Gastineau could be in position to close the gap tighter and with only five races left in 2011, every point is going to matter to win the larger portion of the OCRS year end points fund thanks to the Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co.

What: 5th Annual “Oklahoma State Championship” for sprint cars

Where: Oklahoma Sports Park / Ada, Oklahoma

When: Saturday, September 17th, 2011

Oklahoma Sports Park is home to a 4/10 mile clay, oval track and is located just 10 miles northwest of Ada, Oklahoma on state highway 3W.

Track Phone: 580-332-5535 / Promoters Phone: 580-332-5383

Track website: www.oklahomasportspark.com

Gates open at 5pm / Hot laps start at 7pm / Racing action fires off at 7:30pm

Former OCRS winners at Oklahoma Sports Park

5.19.07: Mike Goodman

7.14.07: Chris Burns

9.22.07: Mike Goodman*

5.31.08: Mike Goodman

9.20.08: Danny Smith*

5.30.09: Frank Dittman

9.19.09: Andy Shouse*

6.12.10: Mike Goodman

7.10.10: Jamie Passmore

9.18.10: Whit Gastineau*

5.14.11: Whit Gastineau

7.09.11: Whit Gastineau

*Denotes date of Oklahoma State Championship event

For additional info on the OCRS series, visit the website at: www.ocrsracing.com