Eldora speedway

By Larry Boos

ROSSBURG, OH (January 9) – Competition and participation are the influential factors towards determining the cumulative points championships at Eldora Speedway; and those dynamics will be carried into the Awards Celebration on January 28, 2012 in the Eldora Ballroom in exciting fashion.

In addition to the championship hardware for Eldora’s Late Model, Modified and Stock Car divisions, Bert Transmission and Aaron’s Rents have donated items that will personify the annual points chase.

The Bert aluminum transmission will be awarded through a reverse-drawing competition, where all of the Late Model drivers in attendance at the Awards Celebration will be brought to the stage and have their names placed into a bucket. One by one the names will be drawn, with the last driver standing to be awarded the valuable transmission.

Participation throughout the season will be recognized via the Aaron’s donation. Drivers that competed in 100% of the scheduled events for the three divisions will be introduced and a random drawing among them will result in the presentation of a 32” JVC flat screen LCD television to the winning driver.

Brian Ruhlman and Jon Henry will share the Late Model championship honors as their points race ended in a tie, while Jerry Bowersock will claim the Modified title and Rob Trent will headline the Stock Car division. Track owner Tony Stewart, who recently was honored for his third NASCAR Sprint Cup title, has on his busy schedule plans to be in attendance to bestow the honors.

In addition to the championship awards, hardware and point fund awards will be distributed to the top fifteen drivers in each division, along with the top 20 drivers in the Sunoco sponsored American Late Model Series.

Tickets for the affair, priced at $23 per person, are available by contacting the Eldora office at (937) 338-3815.