lincoln speedway

From Lincoln Speedway

ABBOTTSTOWN, PA — (March 10th, 2012) — He’s known as “the Edge,” and four-time defending track champ Brian Montieth lived up to his nickname in claiming his first win of the year in the 25-lap “410” sprint car feature at Lincoln Speedway Saturday afternoon.

“It’s been a while since we had a curb like this,” said Montieth upon exiting his Auto Locator/Premier Auto Works #21 in victory lane, “I miss them! I like the rough tracks. They’re a little bit more demanding. I’ve gotta take my hat off to the guys in the shop. They put another car together this week. I destroyed that one last week, and that was my fault. They ain’t mad at me, they just built me another one.”

Montieth used all racing grooves to move through the field in his qualifying event (fourth to first), and then took to the top side for the feature, coming from seventh starting spot to grab the lead from race-long leader Nick Schlauch, Jr. exiting turn two of the 11th lap.

By lap 16, Montieth had pulled away to a 4.4-second lead over Daryn Pittman, who came from 11th starting spot to grab second from Schlauch on lap 13 . But that’s when Montieth hit lapped traffic, and his lead dwindled to less than two seconds by the time the last caution came out for Brent Marks and Cory Haas (who tangled exiting turn four) on lap 24.

With a lapped car in between, Montieth then pulled away on the restart, and crossed 1.29 seconds ahead of Pittman for the $3,200 win, the 27th of Montieth’s career in the Pigeon Hills.

Third through fifth were eighth-starting Danny Dietrich, 12th-starting Fred Rahmer, and 13th-starting Alan Krimes.

Sixth through tenth were 14th-starting Ryan Bohlke, Schlauch, 16th starting Aaron Ott, 20th-starting Johnny Mackison, Jr., and Jim Siegel.

Heats for the 31 “410” Sprints were won by Rahmer, Derek Sell, and Montieth, with Logan Schuchart winning the consolation.

Defending track champ Jeff Rohrbaugh matched his 2011 win total by claiming the season opener for the Keizer Aluminum Wheels “358” sprint cars. Rohrbaugh started third, moved to the front row after an opening lap red flag which followed a caution that resulted in polesitter Cris Eash going to the pits for repairs. Eash was able to return on an ensuing complete restart, but dropped into the infield at the start.

Rohrbaugh’s nephew Tim Wagaman started on the pole for the restart, and Rohrbaugh followed him for the first 17 laps before making his race-winning pass at the line to complete lap 18. From there, he drove away to a 1.47-second win over Wagaman for his seventh career Lincoln “358” sprint car win.

Crossing third was Logan Wagner, with 17th-starting Glenndon Forsythe and Adrian Shaffer completing the top five. Sixth through tenth were 14th-starting Todd Rittenhouse, Jr., Nathan Berwager, 18th-starting Tim Berkheimer, Mike Bittinger (who came from the back after starting fourth and spinning on the opening lap), and Kyle Moody.

Heats for the 30 “358” Sprints were won by Moody, Brie Hershey, and Bittinger, with Eric Tomecek winning the consolation.

Next Saturday, March 17th, Lincoln Speedway will switch over to its first night show of the 2012 racing season featuring the Lawrence Chevrolet 410 Sprinters and the Thundercars in their season-opening “Spring Thaw 20”, $500-to-win event. Race time will be 6PM. Gates will open at 4 PM.

To get all the latest news, results, schedule changes and rule changes, visit Lincoln Speedway’s website at to stay up-to-date on all the action or pending weather conditions at Central Pennsylvania’s “Premier” Saturday night race track – The Fabulous Lincoln Speedway.

Sat., March 10, 2012
Abbottstown, PA
Feature (25-Laps) – 1. 21-Brian Montieth ($3,200); 2. 27-Daryn Pittman; 3. 48-Danny Dietrich; 4. 51-Fred Rahmer; 5. 87-Alan Krimes; 6. 2-Ryan Bohlke; 7. 38N-Nick Schlauch, Jr.; 8. 77-Aaron Ott; 9. 65-Johnny Mackison, Jr.; 10. 59-Jim Siegel; 11. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 12. 17-Brian Leppo; 13. 71X-Bill Stine; 14. 20S-Derek Sell; 15. 14-Kevin Nouse; 16. 84C-Chad Criswell; 17. 11C-Cory Haas (DNF); 18. 19M-Brent Marks (DNF); 19. 15-Adam Wilt (DNF); 20. 50-Austin Reed (DNF); 21. 92-JJ Grasso (DNF); 22. 0-Rick Lafferty (DNF); 23. 39-Greg Hodnett (DNF); 24. 1S-Logan Schuchart (DNF). No Time

Lap Leaders – Nick Schlauch, Jr. (1-10), Brian Montieth (11-25)

1st Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 51-Fred Rahmer; 2. 84-Chad Criswell; 3. 19M-Brent Marks; 4. 59-Jim Siegel; 5. 87-Alan Krimes; 6. 77-Aaron Ott; 7. 71X-Bill Stine; 8. 65-Johnny Mackison, Jr.; 9. 6-Brad McClelland; 10. 95-Hunter Mackison; 11. 8-Billy Dietrich (DNF). Time – 2:26.340

2nd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 20S-Derek Sell; 2. 48-Danny Dietrich; 3. 30N-Nick Schlauch, Jr.; 4. 15-Adam Wilt; 5. 2-Ryan Bohlke; 6. 17-Daryn Pittman; 7. 50-Austin Reed; 8. 21K-Kyle Pruitt; 9. 39-Greg Hodnett; 10. 3W-Eddie Rice. Time – 2:34.817

3rd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 21-Brian Montieth; 2. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 3. 92-JJ Grasso; 4. 27-Daryn Pittman; 5. 14-Kevin Nouse; 6. 11C-Cory Haas; 7. 1S-Logan Schuchart; 8. 0-Rick Lafferty; 9. 4-John Rudisill; 10. 175-Jeff Geiges. Time – 2:34.817

Consolation (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 1s-Logan Schuchart; 2. 65-Johnny Mackison, Jr.; 3. 0-Rick Lafferty; 4. 71X-Bill Stine; 5. 39-Greg Hodnett; 6. 50-Austin Reed; 7. 6-Brad McClelland; 8. 21K-Kyle Pruitt; 9. 175-Jeff Geiges; 10. 3W-Eddie Rice; 11. 95-Hunter Mackison; 12. 4-John Rudisill (DNF); 13. 8-Billy Dietrich (DNF).

Feature (20-Laps) – 1. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 2. 1*-Tim Wagaman; 3. 6R-Logan Wagner; 4. 5T-Glenndon Forsythe; 5. 91-Adrian Shaffer; 6. 23-Todd Rittenhouse, Jr.; 7. 85-nathan Berwager; 8. 50-Tim Berkheimer; 9. 12-Mike Bittinger; 10. 99M-Kyle Moody; 11. 52-Austin Hogue; 12. 5-Tyler Ross; 13. 29-Ryan Wilson; 14. 1A-Jacob Allen; 15. 94-Ted Thomas, Jr.; 16. 99-Joe Trone, Jr.; 17. 17G-George Streaker, Jr. (Alt.); 18. 97-Brie Hershey (DNF); 19. 94V-Matt Mountz (DNF); 20. 1W-Eric Tomecek (DNF); 21. 7C=JB Cunningham (DNF); 22. 17E-Cris Eash (DNF); 23. 66-dale Hammaker (DNF); 24. 65-Niki Young (DNF); DNS – 67-Jason Cherry. No Time

Lap Leaders – Tim Wagaman (1-17), Jeff Rohrbaugh (18-20)

1st Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 99M-Kyle Moody; 2. 91-Adrian Shaffer; 3. 5-Tyler Ross; 4. 17E-Cris Eash; 5. 66-Dale Hammaker; 6. 94-Ted Thomas, Jr.; 7. 1W-Eric Tomecek; 8. 99-Jan Luckenbaugh; 9. 29-Ryan Wilson; 10. 21-Scott Fisher (DNF). Time – 2:25.75

2nd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 97-Brie Hershey; 2. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 3. 1*-Tim Wagaman; 4. 94V-Matt Mountz; 5. 23-Todd Rittenhouse, Jr.; 6. 5T-Glenndon Forsythe; 7. 7C-JB Cunningham; 8. 52-Austin Hogue (DNF); 59T-Tim Stallings (DNF); DNS – 67-Jason Cherry. No Time

3rd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 12-Mike Bittinger; 2. 65-Niki Young; 3. 6R-Logan Wagner; 4. 85-Nathan Berwager; 5. 99-Joe Trone, Jr.; 6. 50-Tim Berkheimer; 7. 1A-Jacob Allen; 8. 69-Shane Hoff; 9. 17G-George Streaker, Jr.; DNS – 6S-Bill Sherman. Time – 2:34.09

Consolation (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 1W-Eric Tomecek; 2. 29-Ryan Wilson; 3. 7C-Chad Trout; 4. 1A-Jacob Allen; 5. 52-Austin Hogue; 6. 67-Jason Cherry; 7. 6-Brad McClelland; 8. 21K-Kyle Moody; 9. 175-Jeff Geiges; 10. 3W-Eddie Rice; 11. 95-Hunter Mackison; 12. 4-John Rudisill (DNF); 13. 8-Billy Dietrich (DNF). No Time