Kendrick Holds Off Stewart for WA Sprintcar Championship

Jason Kendrick. - Peter Roebuck Photography

Jason Kendrick. - Peter Roebuck Photography
From Perth Motorplex

Perth, AU — (March 24, 2012) — Jason Kendrick survived a dog fight with American Shane Stewart in the last lap to win the 50th WA Sprintcar Championship at the Perth Motorplex.

Kendrick snatched the lead on the last lap to win from Jamie Maiolo and Cameron Gessner in a sensational 30-lap final while Stewart finished fourth after he put in a slide job to grab the lead on the last lap but then lost momentum to slip back.

jason kendrick

On a mission: Jason Kendrick is the new WA Sprintcar Champion after winning it tonight from Jamie Maiolo and Cameron Gessner.

Only 1.7 seconds separated the top four at the finish.

Kendrick put it all on the line in the latter stages to snatch the popular win on the high line in front of a supportive crowd.

Stewart led for much of the race but then did a completely 360 in the dying stages and stayed on the gas to keep rolling around.

Kendrick said he wasn’t lifting and knew Stewart would come back at him.

“I wasn’t lifting,” the elated winner said.

“I knew I was in third and I just drove past Stewart and thought I guess I am the winner.”

Maiolo was good in traffic.

“We come from 12th to end up second, we are pretty happy,” Maiolo said.

Gessner, who now lives in WA, came from 17th for his podium finish.

“I love racing this place,” he said.

“We had to come from really deep…our car was unreal…the boys gave me a really good car.”

Carl Dowling, who started from seventh, finished fifth and was followed by Lee Nash, Trent Pigdon, Bradley Maiolo, David Priolo and Kaley Gharst to round out the top 10.

Stewart put in a driving clinic in the early stages, leading from David Priolo and Shaun Bradford who spun five laps in and was collected by Darryl Clayden, putting both of them out.

With four laps remaining Priolo showed some blistering speed and slid up in front of Stewart but it was negated as Sheldon Brady crashed in pits bend, forcing a restart.

Priolo was unable to fire a shot in the latter stages.

While the dog fight for the lead was happening on the last lap Mark Wells rolled in pits bend.

Qualifying: Bradley Maiolo 14.203, Jason Kendrick 14.222, Daryl Clayden 14.231, Robert Watson junior 14.233, Callum Williamson 14.261, Kaley Gharst 14.324, Ian Madsen 14.332, Lee Nash 14.370, Carl Dowling 14.393, Todd Wanless 14.403, Trent Pigdon 14.440, Shaun Bradford 14.560, Jason Boland 14.687, David Priolo 14.711, Sheldon Brady 14.720, Daniel Harding 14.777, Kye Scroop 14.807, Shane Stewart 14.808, Jamie Maiolo 14.912, Ryan Farrell 14.913, Mark Wells 14.947, Cameron Gessner 15.101, Troy Beckingham 15.135, Adyme Harvey 15.138, Ben Ellement 15.233, Jake Beard-Miller 15.260, Ben Dickson 15.404, Darren Mewett 15.458, Trevor Harding 15.843, Rod Howe 17.000, Nathan Brad 19.288.

Heat 1: 1st Jamie Maiolo, 2nd Cameron Gessner, 3rd Jason Boland, 4th Todd Wanless, 5th Ben Ellement, 6th Ian Madsen, 7th Bradley Maiolo, 8th Robert Watson junior, 9th Daniel Harding, 10th Darren Mewett.

Heat 2: 1st Ryan Farrell, 2nd David Priolo, 3rd Troy Beckingham, 4th Jason Kendrick, 5th Kye Scroop, 6th Trent Pigdon, 7th Lee Nash, 8th Callum Williamson, 9th Jake Beard-Miller and Trevor Harding.
Heat 3: 1st Shane Stewart, 2nd Mark Wells, 3rd Shaun Bradford, 4th Adyme Harvey , 5th Sheldon Brady, 6th Carl Dowling, 7th Kaley Gharst, 8th Nathan Brady, 9th Daryl Clayden, 10th Ben Dickson, 11th Rod Howe.

Heat 4: 1st Jamie Maiolo, 2nd David Priolo, 3rd Jason Kendrick, 4th Lee Nash, 5th Jason Boland, 6th Ian Madsen, 7th Ben Ellement, 8th Bradley Maiolo. DNF: Jake Beard-Miller and Ryan Farrell.

Heat 5: 1st Cameron Gessner, 2nd Mark Wells, 3rd Carl Dowling, 4th Daniel Harding, 5th Daryl Clayden, 6th Sheldon Brady, 7th Todd Wanless, 8th Robert Watson, 9th Ben Dickson. DNF: Darren Mewett.
Heat 6: 1st Shane Stewart, 2nd Shaun Bradford, 3rd Trent Pigdon, 4th Troy Beckingham, 5th Kaley Gharst, 6th Callum Williamson, 7th Kye Scroop, 8th Trevor Harding, 9th Nathan Brady, 10th Adyme Harvey, 11th Rod Howe.

Pole Shootout 1: 1st David Priolo 13.773, Shane Stewart 13.806, Carl Dowling 14.085, Ian Madsen 14.126, Kaley Gharst 14.318 and Lee Nash 14.774.

Pole Shootout 2: Shane Stewart 13.739, David Priolo 14.095, Shaun Bradford 14.210, Jason Kendrick 14.245, Bradley Maiolo 14.447 and Darryl Clayden 14.995.

B Main: 1st Ryan Farrell, 2nd Ben Ellement, 3rd Ben Dickson, 4th Troy Beckingham, 5th Adyme Harvey, 6th Kye Scroop, 7th Nathan Brady, 8th Trevor Harding, 9th Rod Howe. DNF: Jake Beard-Miller.

A Main: 1st Jason Kendrick, 2nd Jamie Maiolo, 3rd Cameron Gessner, 4th Shane Stewart, 5th Carl Dowling, 6th Lee Nash, 7th Trent Pigdon, 8th Bradley Maiolo, 9th David Priolo, 10th Kaley Gharst, 11th Ryan Farrell, 12th Robert Watson junior, 13th Ben Dickson, 14th Daniel Harding, 15th Jason Boland, 16th Troy Beckingham, 17th Todd Wanless, 18th Adyme Harvey, 19th Callum Williamson. DNF: Mark Wells, Ian Madsen, Sheldon Brady, Shaun Bradford, Daryl Clayden, Trevor Harding, Nathan Brady, Jake Beard-Miller, Darren Mewett, Kye Scroop, Rod Howe and Ben Ellement.

A THIRD, a win and a second was enough to get Scott Glazebrook over the

line in the Combined Smash Repairs Speedcars triple challenge.

He won from David Ellement and Dayne Kingshott.

“That was pretty demanding up there on the fence tonight,” Glazebrook said.

“I have got to say well done to Dayne (in the final)…thanks to everyone for coming here and putting bums on seats.”

Ellement said they had done a whole of lot of research and development on the car before heading off on his east-coast campaign.

Kingshott was stoked to win the final race.

“Maybe the points one will work in our favour one day,” Kingshott said.

“I am just happy to get a feature win.”

He said the result proved that when things go well they would be hard to beat.

Race 1: 1st Rick Geneve, 2nd David Ellement, 3rd Scott Glazebrook, 4th Alfonso Guadagnino, 5th Vaughan Manders, 6th Dayne Kingshott, 7th Neville Lance, 8th Paul Robinson, 9th Jason Roser, 10th Lee Redmond, 11th Steven Henderson. DNF: Ross Heywood, Rob Golding, Brian Kappler, Tom Watson and Bryn Lake.

Race 2: 1st Scott Glazebrook, 2nd Dayne Kingshott, 3rd David Ellement, 4th Rick Geneve, 5th Bryn Lake, 6th Neville Lance, 7th Ross Heywood, 8th Alfonso Guadagnino, 9th Jason Roser, 10th Brian Kappler, 11th Steven Henderson, 12th Rob Golding. DNF: Lee Redmond, Vaughan Manders. DNS: Tom Watson and Paul Robinson.

Race 3: 1st Dayne Kingshott, 2nd Scott Glazebrook, 3rd David Ellement, 4th Neville Lance, 5th Bryn Lake, 6th Rick Geneve, 7th Alfonso Guadagnino, 8th Ross Heywood, 9th Steven Henderson, 10th Jason Roser. DNF: Lee Redmond, Brian Kappler, Rob Golding, Vaughan Manders. DNS: Tom Watson and Paul Robinson.

Points: Scott Glazebrook 297, David Ellement 295, Dayne Kingshott 294, Rick Geneve 292, Neville Lance 286, Alfonso Guadagnino 284, Jason Roser 275, Steven Henderson 272, Bryn Lake 271, Ross Heywood 266, Vaughan Manders 254, Paul Robinson 251, Brian Kappler 249, Lee Redmond 249, Rob Golding 247 and Tom Watson 237.


Race 1: 1st Todd Davis, 2nd Dean Terry, 3rd Aldo De Paoli, 4th Sarah Zemunik, 5th Chris Dicker, 6th Ron Wilson. DNF: Glen Oliver, Gavin Davis.

Race 2: 1st Dean Terry, 2nd Aldo De Paiolo, 3rd Sarah Zemunik, 4th Todd Davis, 5th Chris Dicker, 6th Ron Wilson. DNF: Glen Oliver. DNS: Gavin Davis.

Race 3: 1st Todd Davis, 2nd Sarah Zemunik, 3rd Dean Terry, 4th Aldo De Paiolo,5th Chris Dicker, 6th Glen Oliver. DNF: Ron Wilson and Gavin Davis.

Points: Todd Davis 297, Dean Terry 297, Sarah Zemunik 294, Aldo De Paioli 294, Chris Dicker 288, Ron Wilson 269, Glen Oliver 253 and Gavin Davis.