Robbie Stanley Memorial This Weekend

USAC Point .25 midgets


USAC Mopar .25 Midget Series drivers will be part of history this weekend, as they take to the track at the Mini Indy Speedway in Indianapolis, Ind., to honor three-time USAC National Sprint Car Series Champion Robbie Stanley, as well as to help kick-off the Inaugural USAC Hall of Fame Weekend.

Stanley, who was inducted into the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame in 2000, won his first National Championship in a Quarter Midget in 1980, at Waterford Speedway, in Michigan. He quickly rose to prominence by winning his first Sprint Car race at the legendary Winchester Speedway in Indiana. He won the All Star Circuit of Champions title in 1989. Stanley’s USAC National Sprint Car Series championships came in 1991, 1992, and 1993. Since 1996, Mini Indy, located on the grounds of the Indiana State Fairgrounds, has hosted the Robbie Stanley Memorial for Quarter Midget drivers.

Veteran open wheel driver, Ed Carpenter, who earned his first INDYCar victory in 2011 at Kentucky Speedway, won the first Robbie Stanley Memorial in 1996. USAC drivers that have also hoisted the coveted Robbie Stanley Title include: Shane Hollingsworth (1997), Billy Wease (1998), Tyler Nuckles (2003), Andy Nock (2004), and Canadian Cayden Lapcevich (2011).

“It’s very special, after all of these years, to keep our son Robbie’s memory alive,” said Rita Stanley. “We are amazed that people are so willing to remember him and his accomplishments. It’s truly an honor that we feel each and every time the Mini Indy Club holds the Robbie Stanley Memorial. We have met so many families and have celebrated the wins honoring our son. These winning drivers have become part of our racing family.”

The Heavy ‘AA event has long celebrated the accomplishments of Robbie Stanley as that was his favorite Quarter Midget class. Winners have celebrated with the Stanley family: Ron, Rita, Ronda, Ryan and Sherri and grandchildren Leah, Katlyn, Karly and C.J.

The Robbie Stanley Memorial helps open the Inaugural Hall of Fame Weekend for the United States Auto Club. Debuting this year, 8 honorees were selected by a committee of respected motorsports professionals with extensive USAC history. Four honorees were chosen through an online vote conducted via social media channels. Maintaining the integrity of USAC’s rich history and honoring the founding members and guiding lights of the organization, the inaugural class will be inducted during ceremonies scheduled May 20, at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Two very notable names – Foyt and Andretti – may be most familiar to Quarter Midget families.

A.J. Foyt owns more USAC national feature victories than anyone in history – 154 – spanning a variety of disciplines. Foyt is recognized as one of the best, if not the best, driver in American motor racing history. The Texan’s accomplishments in some 40 years of competition are legendary, and he holds the record for winning 11 USAC championships.

Mario Andretti won the 1978 Formula One World title, four Indy Car crowns (three under USAC sanction) and an IROC title. He is a member of the International Motorsports Hall of Fame, the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame and the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America.

“We are excited to be part of the Inaugural Hall of Fame Weekend with the USAC Family,” said James Spink, Developmental Director. Every Quarter Midget driver who experiences this event will remember it for years to come.”

Trailer Parking begins Thursday, May 17 at 3 p.m. Sign-in opens at 2 p.m. on Friday, May 18 with practice for all divisions from 5–8 p.m. This event also serves as the First Round of the Mid-West Thunder 2012 Series. Saturday heats and main events will run for the Honda and Rookie classes only. The Robbie Stanley Memorial – Heavy ‘AA Class will run on Sunday along with Briggs and other Deco classes.

Quarter Midget drivers and their families are invited to the 100-lap “Hall of Fame” Classic for the Traxxas Silver Crown Series at Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis, on Saturday night. All registered drivers will be admitted Free of Charge.

For more information visit or call James Spink (317) 248-5575.

Debi Supan – (303) 434-0182