2010 Little 500
2010 Little 500

From Anderson Speedway

ANDERSON, Ind. (May 22, 2012) – Five former champions and a talented list of challengers are set for the largest purse ever in the 64th Pay Less Little 500 at Anderson Speedway on Saturday Night, May 26. Over $123,000 will be up for grabs in the richest asphalt Sprint Car race in the country with the winning team earning a minimum of $25,000.

The former winners of the prestigious Pay Less Little 500 that are returning this year are led by nine-time winner Eric Gordon, who most recently earned the prestigious victory in 2010. Other previous champions that have filed entries include Shane Cottle (2008) Brian Tyler (2007), 1999 winner Chet Fillip and three-time Pay Less Little 500 champion Jeff Bloom (1972, 77, 91).

The talented list of challengers includes two-time pole winner Aaron Pierce, who has been runner-up twice to Gordon in 2004 and 2007. Canada’s Ryan Litt has produced four consecutive top 10-finishes with a best of fourth in 2008. Jacob Wilson has notched multiple top-five finishes becoming a race contender. Donnie Adams Jr. finished in third position in 2009 and captured his first pole position in 2007.

Warsaw’s Tony Elliott will compete in his 19th Little 500. Elliott has notched six top-five finishes with a best finish of second. 12-time starter Denny England has posted two top-five finishes and nine top 10s.

Tony Hunt, of Lincoln, Calif., a five-time champion in the USAC returns this year for his 10th Little 500 appearance. He has produced four top-five performances with a best showing of second in 2004. Ohio’s Jimmy McCune has collected two top-10 Little 500 finishes, California native Shauna Hogg makes a return after placing 10th two years ago, fellow Golden State competitor Jo Jo Helberg hopes to best a sixth in 2009.

Additional drivers to watch include Indiana’s Billy Wease, last year’s third-place finisher Shane Hollingsworth, former H.O.S.S. Champion Jason Cox and Florida’s Brian Gingrass, who turned in an impressive performance in the 12th Annual Glen Niebel Classic. Many other talented drivers will be part of the 64th Pay less Little 500 activities this weekend.

Pay Less Little 500 week kicks off on Wednesday, May 23 with the TRUFUEL Must See Racing Xtreme Sprint Series presented by Biobased.US (MSRXSS) featured in the Must See Racing 60 presented by Sam Pierce Chevrolet. The Mel Kenyon Midgets will also be part of the racing program.

First round qualifications for the 64th Pay Less Little 500 will take place on Thursday, May 24, beginning at 1:30 p.m. with the 33-car field set during second round of qualifications on Friday afternoon. On Friday Night, The Ohio Express concert will be showcased at 7:30 pm. The 64th Pay Less Little 500 goes green approximately at 8 p.m. on Saturday night.

Tickets are available for the historic 64th Pay Less Little 500 at $28 for reserved seating. For more information, contact the Anderson Speedway Ticket Office at (765) 642-0206.