Owings Wins at Trail-Way

trail-way speedway trail way logo

trail-way speedwayFrom Trail-Way Speedway

HANOVER, PA , 6/8/12 – Early season winner Steve Owings got the monkey off his back Friday night, claiming his second win of the year in the 358 sprint car feature at Trail-Way Speedway Friday night.

“We’ve been running so bad here lately that we started on the front row,” said Owings upon exiting his Valentine Motorsports/Westminster Transmission #35 in victory lane, “But it was nice to start up front. Starting position was everything.”

Owings started second when Rick Horn dropped into the infield while cars were lining up for the feature, took the lead from polesitter Jordan Givler at the start, and led every lap. Givler, who ran the race of his life, ran second the entire way, holding off defending champ and seventh-starting Jeff Rohrbaugh over the final ten laps.

“You’re always racing with somebody here, and that’s why I love it!” continued Owings, “They work hard to make the track racey for everyone, and that’s why I love racing here.”

Joe Trone, Jr. and Mike Bittinger waged a battle of their own over the second half of the race, and finished fourth and fifth.

Sixth through tenth were Austin Hogue, Kyle Moody, Keith Prutzman, Ryan Wilson, and Randy Whisler.

Heats for the 23 “358” Sprints were won by Givler, Owings, and Wilson.

RACE RESULTS Fri., June 8, 2012 TRAIL-WAY SPEEDWAY Hanover, PA 358 SPRINTS Feature (25-Laps) – 1. 35-Steve Owings; 2. 90-Jordon Givler; 3. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 4. 99-Joe Trone, Jr.; 5. 12-Mike Bittinger; 6. 52-Austin Hogue; 7. 99M-Kyle Moody; 8. 28-Keith Prutzman; 9. 29-Ryan Wilson; 10. 64-Randy Whisler; 11. 11D-Mike Duncan, Jr.; 12. 9-Wes Irwin; 13. 89-Ashley Cappetta; 14. 20-Trevor Little; 15. 69-Shane Hoff (DNF); 16. 66B-Cory Brockman (DNF); 17. 10-Zach Euculano (DNF); 18. 55-Matthew Krause (DNF); 19. 1*-Tim Wagaman (DNF); 20. 19Z-Isaac Sneeringer (DNF);21. 83-Alex Spalding (DNF); DNS – 01-Rick Horn, 7C-JB Cunningham. No Time

Lap Leaders – Steve Owings (1-25)

1st Heat (10 Laps/All to qualify) – 1. 90-Jodon Givler; 2. 99-Joe Trone, Jr.; 3. 28-Keith Prutzman; 4. 1*-Tim Wagaman; 5. 11D-Mike Duncan, Jr.; 6. 9-Wes Irwin; 7. 55-Matthew Krause; DNS – 20-Trevor Little. Time – 2:22.73

2nd Heat (10 Laps/All to qualify) – 1. 35-Steve Owings; 2. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 3. 69-Shane Hoff; 4. 52-Austin Hogue; 5. 19Z-Isaac Sneeringer; 6. 66B-Cory Brockman; 7. 89-Ashley Cappetta; 8. 10-Zach Euculano (DNF). No Time

3rd Heat (10 Laps/All to qualify) – 1. 29-Ryan Wilson; 2. 01-Rick Horn; 3. 12-Mike Bittinger; 4. 99M-Kyle Moody; 5. 64-Randy Whisler; 6. 83-Alex Spalding; 7. 7C-JB Cunningham (DNF). Time – 2:22.92