UNOH All Stars ready to Thunder Through the Plains

By Brian Liskai

CAMARGO, IL (July 16, 2012) – The teams of the University
of Northwestern Ohio All Star Circuit of Champions got a little time off
after the 30th Annual Ohio Sprint Speedweek. But they will go full throttle
soon as the series gets ready for its annual “Thunder Through the Plains.”

The UNOH All Stars will “get back to work” with two shows in the Eastern
Region points battle – Wednesday, July 18 at Brewerton Speedway in
Brewerton, N.Y. and Thursday, July 19 at Fonda Speedway in Fonda, N.Y.

Daryn Pittman leads the UNOH All Stars’ Eastern Region points over three
time and defending national UNOH All Star Champion Tim Shaffer, with Greg
Hodnett in third, David Gravel fourth and three time national UNOH All Star
champion Dale Blaney fifth. The Eastern Region champion will earn $20,000
at year’s end.

Shaffer and Blaney are tied atop the UNOH All Star’s national point
standing with Paul McMahan third, Cap Henry fourth and David Gravel fifth.

Brewerton Speedway ( is known as “The D-Shaped
Dirt Demon.” The one-third mile clay track has never hosted an All Star
sanctioned event. Racing with the UNOH All Stars will be the SUNY Canton
Sportsman division. Racing is scheduled to begin at 7:30 p.m. Adult general
admission tickets are $25 and students aged 10 -16 are $10 with those 9 and
under getting in free.

Last year at Fonda Speedway, Shaffer charged from his 11th starting spot to
pass Fred Rahmer on the last lap to take the victory. In 2010, Pittman
claimed the UNOH All Star win at Fonda over Tyler Walker and Jessica

Three-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Champion Tony Stewart, who scored his first
UNOH All Star win earlier this year, is expected to compete at Fonda.

Earlier this year Zemken scored an Empire Super Sprints victory at Fonda

Pit gates will open Thursday, July 19 at Fonda at 4 p.m. with front gates
opening at 5 p.m. General admission is $30 with kids five and under free
and those ages 6-11 at $3.

>From New York, the UNOH All Stars will then head west for the traditional
Thunder Through the Plains, which features at least nine races and carries
its own $10,000-to-win point fund for the Great Plains Region.

It kicks off Saturday, July 21 at Wilmot Raceway in Wilmot, Wisconsin, in
the Kenosha County Fairgrounds ( The track is a
semi-banked 3/8-mile oval

The UNOH All Star event at Wilmot is co-sanctioned with the Bumper to
Bumper IRA Outlaw Sprint Series. Tickets are $25 for adults with kids ages
8-11 $5 and those 7 and under getting in free.

The IRA sprints have raced at Wilmot three times in 2012 with multi-time
series champion Billy Balog scoring two wins and Tommy Sexton taking the

The UNOH All Stars then head to Hibbing Raceway in Hibbing, Minnesota
( for a Tuesday, July 24 event. There is a rain date
of July 25 for this event. Motter Equipment is the night’s sponsor.

This is another new track for the UNOH All Stars. The track is a 3/8 mile
semi-banked clay oval.

Tickets are $30 for those 12 and older; $5 for ages 6-12; and kids five and
under get in free. Hot laps are at 6:30 p.m. with racing underway at 7 p.m.

The UNOH All Stars then make a return appearance to the Red River Co-Op
Speedway in Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada on Thursday, July 26
( The high-banked 4/10 mile dirt oval hosted the All
Stars in 2011 with Shaffer snagging the victory over Blaney and Greg

Racing is scheduled to begin at Red River at 7:30 p.m.

On Friday, July 27, the UNOH All Stars head to Jackson Speedway in Jackson,
Minnesota ( The event will also feature the JSTS
Sprints and 305 sprints. Hot laps are scheduled for 6:30 p.m. with tickets
$20 for adults; $15 for students ages 13-17 with kids 12 and under getting
in free.

The UNOH All Stars will next visit the Red River Valley Speedway in Fargo,
North Dakota ( on Saturday, July 28. Last
year, Shaffer passed four-time World of Outlaws champion Donny Schatz and
went on to score the All Star victory. The previous year, Schatz passed
Shaffer late for the series’ win.

Earlier this year Sammy Swindell won the World of Outlaws event at Red
River Valley.

Husets Speedway in Brandon, South Dakota, will be next up for the UNOH All
Stars on Sunday, July 29. It is the first of two shows for the UNOH All
Stars during Thunder Through the Plains at Husets, the other coming Sunday,
August 12. Gates will open for both shows at 5 p.m. with racing at 7 p.m.
Go to for more information.

Husets boasts some very strong weekly competition. Terry “TMAC” McCarl
leads the track’s point standings with three feature wins and is the
track’s all-time winningest driver. Last year at Husets, McCarl passed
race-long leader Cap Henry on the last lap to score the UNOH All Star

Mark Dobmeier, who sits second on Huset’s all-time win list, sits second in
the track’s 2012 points with one victory, that coming against the World of
Outlaws. He scored his first career All Star win last season a Husets,
holding off Shaffer and Blaney.

Gregg Bakker sits third in the track’s points and has one feature win. Jody
Rosenboom, who is sixth in the points at Husets, has a pair of feature
wins. Justin Henderson also has a win at Husets in 2012.

Following the first Huset’s show, the UNOH All Stars will once again be a
part of the 17th Annual Musco Lighting Front Row Challenge at Southern Iowa
Speedway in Oskaloosa, Iowa. The event is a big crowd hit with a party
atmosphere in the big infield. If the driver scheduled to start on the pole
of the feature takes the challenge and goes to the tail and comes back to
win, he will take home $50,000!

Last year Sammy Swindell scored his third straight Front Row Challenge
victory in 2011 over Brad Sweet and Shane Stewart.

Following the running of the Knoxville Nationals, the UNOH All Stars travel
back to Husets on Sunday, Aug. 12.

The Thunder Through the Plains wraps up on Wednesday, Aug. 15 at Red River
Valley Speedway in Fargo, North Dakota. There is a rain date of Thursday,
Aug. 16.

Last season, Donny Schatz, coming off the Knoxville Nationals victory, took
the victory over Brad Sweet and David Gravel.

While the Thunder Through the Plains is wrapped up, the UNOH All Star
Circuit of Champions will continue to battle, as they travel back east to
the Butler Motor Speedway in Quincy, Michigan for an Ohio Region points
race on Saturday, Aug. 18.

For more information go to