CGS Hosts Another Wonderful Night Of Action

Cottage Grove Speedway

Cottage Grove SpeedwayFrom Ben Deatherage

Cottage Grove, OR — (June 8, 2013) — The Cottage Grove Speedway had another wonderful installment to the 2013 season on Saturday June 8th. The Northwest Wingless Tour returned to the ¼-mile clay oval for the third time this year at CGS. Also in competition were Late Models, Dwarf Cars, and Hornets.

Kyle Miller of Eugene picked up from where he left off the last time he was in a Non-Wing Sprint Car. Grabbing the lead on lap five Miller would dominate the Northwest Wingless feature to earn his second win of the year with the series and his eight career victory with the NWWT when they have visited “The Grove”. It marked just the second time that he has hopped into the Gary’s Subaru Service/Oregon West RV/Finest Detail #10 XXX machine during the current campaign.

Ariel, Washington’s Pat Canfield would finish second in the Van Raden Industries #25 XXX followed by the Racing Engines #7K XXX of Kyle Mehner from Clackamas. The rest of the top five finishers would consist of Wilsonville driver Rob Lindsey in his Maxline Cases/Competition Suspensions Inc. #23 XXX in fourth and the Fuel Injection Enterprises #89 XXX of Albany’s Sterling Kane in fifth.

Kyle Miller was fast time of the night with at time of 12.657 seconds. Heat race winners were Miller, the 4 His Glory Racing/1st Choice Construction #4E Rocket of Nathan Ellertson of Fall Creek, and La Pine native Vern Scevers in the #15R Maxim. Kyle Mehner would win the trophy dash.

Collen Winebarger made the trip down to Cottage Grove from his hometown of Corbett to look for his third straight Late Model win at the venue. Cottage Grove’s Mike Peters was the early leader in his Send Transportation/Interstate Cargo #88 Swartz but would lose the lead shortly after a restart to the Redwood Northwest/Coleen’s One Stop Bird Shop #422 GRT of Chuck Christian from Eugene. Christian would lead for a few laps before he too would be overtaken after a restart.

That driver would be Winebarger taking the lead in his crate-engine powered Discount Car Parts/All In Property Investments #1 MasterSbilt. He would go on to lead the rest of the distance without any troubles to earn his third straight win at the bullring clay oval.

Shaun Mayea of Bend would earn the runner-up position in his Cold Springs Resort/R.G. Remanufacturing #36 Rocket followed by Chuck Christian in third. Finishing the evening in fourth was the Financial/Sharc Aquatic Center of Sun River #4E Victory Circle of Trent Elliott from La Pine while the X-Factor Race Cars/All Pro Steel #42 X-Factor of Springfield’s Paul Culp was fifth. Trent Elliott was quickest in qualifying at 12.975 seconds, Winebarger would the heat race, and Elliott was the victor in trophy dash action.

Robert O’Neil of Waldport would dominate the Dwarf Car ranks. O’Neil, in the Hicks Family Racing/Lynch Brothers Proformence Products #14, would have no issues in the main event as it was more about the race for second place than for the lead. O’Neil would become the second different Dwarf Car winner in as many races.

The Wright Shop/Cindy Sew-It #78 of Kevin Hicks from Creswell was second in the end while third place went to the #48 of Neal Hopwood from Gresham. Hicks would win the heat race while victorious in the trophy dash was Hopwood.

After a couple of different leaders in the first ten laps or so of the Hornet main event Veneta’s Joe Maricle made his move to the front. Maricle, in the Ram Jack Foundation Repair #11, set a rapid pace in the main event once he got to the front and led the rest of the distance to return to victory lane. It would mark the third time he has hoisted a main event trophy this year which makes him the most triumphant Hornet driver so far in 2013.

Josh Corley of Veneta in the #7C would end the night second while finishing third was Cottage Grove’s James Deatherage in his D&D Automotive/Harris Machine and Design #7D. Kolby Clay of Junction City was fourth in the West End Performance/Team S.D.M.F. #8 followed by the Small Town Treasures/Nichol’s Napa Auto Parts #89 of Jim Simmons from Cottage Grove in fifth. Taunton Swaim of Dexter, in the Randy Kuhl owned Big Dog Recycling/A-1 Auto Supply #17, would win the trophy dash while earning heat race victories were Corley and Clay.

The Cottage Grove Speedway will be back in action next Friday June 14th for the Kage Karts and Saturday the 15th for Relay For Life Night. Classes in action on the 15th will consist of the Northwest Extreme Sprints, Street Stocks, and the Pro-4’s while both 360 Sprints and Late Models have been added to the schedule. Also Wednesday the 19th the Wild Wild Modified Shootout will return to CGS. A high car count is expected for this race and it is a chance for the local IMCA Modified stars to shine again completion from all over the Pacific Northwest. For more information log on to

Race Summary
Saturday June 8th, 2013
Cottage Grove Speedway
Cottage Grove, Oregon

Northwest Wingless Tour
20 Entries
Fast Time: Kyle Miller, 12.657
Trophy Dash Winner: Kyle Mehner
Heat Race Winners: Kyle Miller (1), Nathan Ellertson (2), Vern Scevers (3)
A-Feature: 1. Kyle Miller, 2. Pat Canfield, 3. Kyle Mehner, 4. Rob Lindsey, 5. Sterling Kane, 6. Tim Alberding, 7. Andrew Reitman, 8. Nathan Ellertson, 9. Bill Winsley, 10. Mark Herz, 11. Mike Griffith, 12. Jesse Thistle, 13. Dusty Redmond, 14. Darren Rothe, 15. Kady Adelman, 16. Brad Rhodes, 17. Vern Scevers, 18. Garret Johnson, 19. Guy Weedman, 20. Joe Bosso Jr.

Late Models
8 Entries
Fast Time: Trent Elliott, 12.975
Trophy Dash Winner: Trent Elliott
Heat Race Winner: Collen Winebarger (1)
A-Feature: 1. Collen Winebarger, 2. Shaun Mayea, 3. Chuck Christian, 4. Trent Elliott, 5. Paul Culp, 6. Mike Peters, 7. Skeet Phillips, 8. Kreg Britton

Dwarf Cars
4 Entries
Trophy Dash Winner: Neal Hopwood
Heat Race Winner: Kevin Hicks (1)
A-Feature: 1. Robert O’Neil, 2. Kevin Hicks, 3. Neal Hopwood, DNS Brian Hicks

Trophy Dash Winner: Taunton Swaim
Heat Race Winners: Josh Corley (1), Kolby Clay (2)
A-Feature: 1. Joe Maricle, 2. Josh Corley, 3. James Deatherage, 4. Kolby Clay, 5. Jim Simmons, 6. Evan Britton, 7. James Donaldson, 8. Mike Simmons, 9. James Simmons, 10. Kayla Simmons, 11. Mike Swaim, 12. Dan Maricle, 13. Taunton Swaim, 14. Chris Pierce