Four Drivers In Contention for Lernerville Track Championship

lernervilleFrom Lernerville Speedway



Sarver, PA — (August 28, 2013) — Over four months and at least a dozen races are in the books, but two divisions of Fab Four Racing remain unresolved as the Budweiser Track Championships are still up for grabs in both the Peoples TWP DIRTcar Sprints and the Millerstown Pic-A-Part DIRTcar Sportsman divisions.  An astounding four drivers remain in contention for the coveted Sprint Car crown, while the youngsters Corey McPherson and AJ Flick are both eying the Pic-A-Part Sportsman title.

The list of Lernerville Speedway Sprint Car Track Champions reads like a Who’s Who of regional sprint car racing; Lou Blaney, Brad Doty, Ralph Quarterson, Johnny Beaber, Ted Wise, Jerry Matus, Ed Lynch Jr., Mark Cassella, Jimmy Hawley, Craig Rankin, Rod George, Dale Blaney, Tim Shaffer, Bob Felmlee and Kevin Schaeffer.  More recently, rising stars Danny Holtgraver and Carl Bowser have added their names to the annals.  Brandon Spithaler, Brandon Matus and Eric Williams are all trying to add their name to this historic list, while 2011 Champion Carl Bowser looks to join the even more elite list of multiple-time Sprint Champions.  Brandon Spithaler leads the points by just six points over Brandon Matus.  Spithaler will be looking to achieve what his cousin and long time fan favorite Ralph Spithaler was never able to accomplish, while Brandon Matus looks to become the first grandson of a Track Champion to do the same.  Carl Bowser knows what it takes to win the title, but has some work to do as he is 17 points behind Spithaler and 11 behind Matus.  Eric Williams is a long shot/dark horse to win the title, but just being in contention on Championship Night is quite an achievement in and of itself!

Even a step beyond Brandon Matus’s potential historical achievement, AJ Flick could become the first third generation Track Champion as grandfather Pee Wee and father Mark Flick are both former Track Champions.  But after some bad luck in last Friday’s feature, AJ enters Championship Night with a six point deficit to Defending Track Champion Corey McPherson.  McPherson has six feature wins on the season, while Flick has two.  But, despite the fact that they have accounted for more than half of all feature wins this season, veterans Mike Miller and Joe Kelley have split the past two features.

Alex Ferree and Mat Williamson secured their positions at the head table of next year’s banquet by locking up the Track Championships last Friday Night in the Precise Late Models and Diehl Mods respectively.  Ferree has been white hot the second half of the season; winning three of the past five features and finishing second in the other two.  Meanwhile, Williamson compounded his early season dominance with amazing consistency down the stretch; finishing in the top four in every feature this season.

All Time Division wins leaders Brian Swartzlander and Joe Kelley continued to pad their Hall of Fame resumes last Friday night with feature wins #81 and #45 respectively.  At the other end of the spectrum, several drivers are still seeking their first career feature win and what better way to end the season for guys like Garrett Krummert, Jason Rider, Brad Rapp, Steve Feder and Brett McDonald than to roll into Sheetz Victory Lane for the very first time?

After this final Fast Friday of Fab Four Racing, the action will switch to Saturday Nights for the first three Saturdays in September starting with Autumn-Motive Fest 2013 on September 7 featuring the Sportsman/Stock Spectacular and Enduro 100.  The “Back to School” Bus and Kids Bike Races follow of Saturday, September 14 along with the Sr. Series, Figure 8s and Demolition Derby.  We cap the month off by hosting the Greatest Show on Dirt as the World of Outlaws STP Sprint Cars return to the Action Track for the $10,000-to-win Commonwealth Clash on Saturday, September 21.  Then, after a month off, the season will come to a dramatic end with the three-night DIRTcar Round Up Steel City Stampede on Thursday-Friday-Saturday, September 24-25-26 featuring ten divisions of racing across three nights!