lincoln speedway

From Bill Meyer


Abbottstown, PA — (October 12, 2013) — How good was “the Edge” at Lincoln Speedway Saturday night?


So good that his final margin of victory was more than nine seconds and only eight cars finished on the lead lap.


Brian Montieth came from eighth starting spot to become the fourth different leader on the 14th lap, and drove away to his sixth Lincoln win of the year and 40th of his Lincoln career in the 40-lap Kenny Weld Memorial Saturday evening.


“Kenny Weld changed the face of racing as we know it,” said Montieth upon exiting his Jerry Parrish-owned Premier Auto Works/Auto Locator #21 in victory lane, “And I’m proud to win a race in his honor. But another racer who made us all better was Fred Rahmer, and I’m so happy for him with last week’s National Open win. Racing won’t be the same without him.”


For his part, Rahmer’s third place finish was good enough to claim the season-long 2013 Speedway Motors/Champion Racing Oil Central Pennsylvania Point Series title.


Time trials and an inversion draw of six placed Montieth eighth for the start. As outside front row starter Tim Glatfelter was leading the first eight laps, Montieth entered the top five by lap three, caught 2013 track champ Fred Rahmer for fourth on lap six, faded back to fifth in a five-car battle for the lead on lap ten.


Polesitter Steve Owings took the lead from Glatfelter on lap eight and held it until Dewease grabbed the top spot on lap 13. But his lead lasted only one lap.


Montieth moved past Glatfelter into fourth on lap 11, then caught Steve Owings for third on lap 13.


He then passed both Rahmer and leader Lance Dewease to grab the race lead during a wild lap 14. From there, he drove away from the field in non-stop racing to the end, crossing 9.28 seconds ahead of Dewease, with Williams Grove National Open winner Rahmer finishing third. The win was worth $5,000 plus lap money for the former four-time track champ.


Brent Marks and 12th-starting Brian Leppo (in his only Lincoln race of the year in the Zemco #1Z) completed the top five. Sixth through tenth were Cory Haas, Greg Hodnett, hard charger Danny Dietrich (who started 20th), Alan Krimes, and 19th-starting Logan Schuchart.


Sprint heats were won by Owings, Haas, Montieth, and Aaron Ott, with Gerard McIntyre, Jr. winning the B-Main.

Fast time in time trials over the 32-car field was set by Dewease with one-lap time of 13.193-seconds (102.335 MPH).


Gettysburg’s Brian Walls all but secured his first-ever track championship by winning the next-to-last 20-lap thundercar feature.


Starting 10th, Walls blew around the outside of everyone at the drop of the green and miraculously grabbed the lead from polesitter Roy Warehime, Jr. exiting the fourth turn to complete the second lap. In the process though Walls had sustained right rear quarter panel damage with his right rear tire coming very close to being cut.


But Walls was able to steer clear of any other trouble and took the checkered for his eighth win of the year and the 18th of his career over fourth-starting Todd Miller, Mikey Guise, 12th-starting Will Walls and Wayne Dutterer.


Lincoln Speedway will conclude the 2013 racing season next weekend, Saturday, Oct. 19th at 6 PM. All three regular point divisions will be on hand, the 410 sprints, 358 sprints & thunders, with the thundercars ending their season-long point battle in the finale. The season finale will also honor retiring 11-time champion Fred Rahmer with a night billed the “Last Call”, with a special presentation. Time trials for the 410 sprints will start at 6:00 p.m., with gates opening at 4:00 p.m.


To get all the latest news, results, schedule changes and rule changes, visit Lincoln Speedway’s website at to stay up-to-date on all the action or pending weather conditions at Central Pennsylvania’s “Premier” Saturday night race track – The Fabulous Lincoln Speedway.


Saturday, October 12, 2013


Abbottstown, PA



Feature (40 Laps) – 1. 21-Brian Montieth ($5,000); 2. 27-Lance Dewease; 3. 20S-Fred Rahmer; 4.19M-Brent Marks; 5. 1-Brian Leppo; 6. 11C-Cory Haas; 7. 39-Greg Hodnett; 8. 48-Danny Dietrich; 9. 87-Alan Krimes; 10. 1S-Logan Schuchart; 11. 35-Steve Owings; 12. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 13. 69-Tim Glatfelter; 14. 92-Tyler Ross; 15. 2W-Glenndon Forsythe; 16. 4-John Rudisill; 17. 95-Hunter Mackison (DNF); 18. 25-Aaron Ott (DNF); 19. 1A-Jacob Allen (DNF); 20. 8-Billy Dietrich (DNF); 21. 22T-Matt Boland (DNF); 22. 15-Adam Wilt (DNF); 23. 59-Jim Siegel (DNF); 24. 3Z-Brock Zearfoss (DNF). No Time


Lap Leaders – Tim Glatfelter (1-7); Steve Owings (8-12); Lance Dewease (13); Brian Montieth (14-40)


1st Heat (10 Laps/5 to qualify) – 1. 35-Steve Owings; 2. 69-Tim Glatfelter; 3. 27-Lance Dewease; 4. 1S-Logan Schuchart; 5. 22T-Matt Boland; 6. 59-Jim Siegel; 7. 4-John Rudisill; 8. 23-Todd Rittenhouse, Jr. Time – 2:19.364


2nd Heat (10 Laps/5 to qualify) – 1. 11C-Cory Haas; 2. 39-Greg Hodnett; 3. 3Z-Brock Zearfoss; 4. 48-Danny Dietrich; 5. 8-Billy Dietrich; 6. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 7. 99M-Kyle Moody; 8. 2W-Glenndon Forsythe. Time – 2:22.034


3rd Heat (10 Laps/5 to qualify) – 1. 21-Brian Montieth; 2. 20S-Fred Rahmer; 3. 15-Adam Wilt; 4. 1A-Jacob Allen; 5. 1-Brian Leppo; 6. 56-Tim Wagaman; 7. 75-Nicole Bower; 8. 21T-Scott Fisher (DNF). Time – 2:21.774


4th Heat (10 Laps/5 to qualify) – 1. 25-Aaron Ott; 2. 92-Tyler Ross; 3. 19M-Brent Marks; 4. 87-Alan Krimes; 5. 55K-Robbie Kendall; 6. 0-Rick Lafferty; 7. 95-Hunter Mackison; 8. 1080-Jordon Mackison. Time – 2:26.349


B-Main (12 Laps/4 to qualify) – 1. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 2. 59-Jim Siegel; 3. 95-Hunter Mackison; 4. 4-John Rudisill; 5. 2W-Glenndon Forsythe; 6. 75-Nicole Bower; 7. 56-Tim Wagaman; 8. 99M-Kyle Moody; 9. 23-Todd Rittenhouse, Jr.; 10. 1080-Jordon Mackison; 11. 21T-Scott Fisher (DNF); DNS – 0-Rick Lafferty. Time – 2:56.277


Time Trials – 1. 27-Lance Dewease, 13.192 seconds (102.335 MPH); 2. 39-Greg Hodnett, 13.234; 3. 20S-Fred Rahmer, 13.286; 4. 19M-Brent Marks, 13.316; 5. 69-Tim Glatfelter, 13.371; 6. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr., 13.414; 7. 1-Brian Leppo, 13.429; 8. 87-Alan Krimes, 13.452; 9. 35-Steve Owings, 13.482; 10. 11C-Cory Haas, 13.485; 11. 21-Brian Montieth, 13.507; 12. 25-Aaron Ott, 13.514; 13. 22T-Matt Boland, 13.548; 14. 3Z-Brock Zearfoss, 13.554; 15. 15-Adam Wilt, 13.566; 16. 92-Tyler Ross, 13.578; 17. 59-Jim Siegel, 13.587; 18. 8-Billy Dietrich, 13.589; 19. 75-Nicole Bower, 13.600; 20. 0-Rick Lafferty, 13.612; 21. 1S-Logan Schuchart, 13.622; 22. 48-Danny Dietrich, 13.640; 23. 56-Tim Wagaman, 13.726; 24. 55K-Robbie Kendall, 13.730; 25. 4-John Rudisill, 13.740; 26. 99M-Kyle Moody, 13.745; 27. 1A-Jacob Allen, 13.797; 28. 95-Hunter Mackison, 13.861; 29. 23-Todd Rittenhouse, Jr., 13.926; 30. 2W-Glenndon Forsythe, 13.938; 31. 21T-Scott Fisher, 13.947; 32. 1080-Jordon Mackison, 14.008.




Feature (20 laps) – 1. 2W-Brian Walls; 2. 3-Todd Miller; 3. 83-Mikey Guise; 4. 1-Will Walls; 5. 39-Wayne Dutterer; 6. 54J-Jimmy Combs; 7. 72-Jason Townsend; 8. 54W-Roy Warehime; 9. 11S-John Stoll, Jr.; 10. 60R-Aaron Beard; 11. 33-Kenny Kluge; 12. 00-Calvin Redding; 13. 60-Danny Beard (DNF); 14. 81J-Jamie Zentmyer (DNF).


Lap Leaders –Roy Warehime (1); Brian Walls (2-20)