USCS Sprint Speedweek 2014 kicks off on Saturday, May 24th with 6 races in 8 days

uscs united sprint car series logo tease 2014

By Pete Walton


Atlanta, GA – May 7, 2014 – The United Sprint Car Series 18th Anniversary Outlaw Thunder Tour  presented by K&N Filters kicks off its 9th Annual USCS Sprint Speedweek (2014) on Saturday, May 24th at the famed Jackson Motor Speedway in Byrum, Misssissippi. Over just eight days the USCS Speedweek mini-series will visit six different speedways in four states while keeping travel to a minimum for the fans and race teams.

uscs united sprint car series logo tease 2014

After the Speedweek opener at Jackson Motor Speedway, the high-speed entourage then travels north just two hours for Speedweek Round Two at Greenville Speedway in Greenville, Mississippi on Sunday May 25th. Then after two nights on ¼ mile racing surfaces, on Monday, May 26th the mini-series moves further north and across state lines to the red clay 1/3 mile racing surface at Clayhill Motorsports in Atwood, Tennessee for Round Three on the Memorial Day Monday Holiday.


The traveling show then takes only two days off for repairs before returning to action on Thursday, May 29th at famed Talladega short Track in Eastaboga, Alabama. The series recently re-scheduled the Friday, May 30th event to happen at popular Magnolia Motor speedway in Columbus, Mississippi. The Speedweek’s Grand Finale is set for the third year in a row to happen on Saturday, May 31st at the Historic Riverside International Speedway in West Memphis, Arkansas for some “Thrills, Chills and Spills” at the country’s oldest operating dirt oval.
Approximately $70,000 in total prize money is guaranteed with one driver able to win over $14,000 including bonuses for the week’s action. Five of the events pay $2000 to win with a minimum of $250 to start the A-Main. The Finale at Riverside International Speedway will pay $2500 to the winner of they ran the entire Speedweek 2014.  Any driver who starts all six A-Main events is guaranteed to go home with a minimum of $1500 for the week. There is a Speedweek mini-series point’s fund that pays back 10 places with $1000 to the Champion.  Additionally each night’s Speedweek event awards USCS National points as well as USCS Mid-South Thunder Tour and/or USCS Southern Thunder our regional Championship points.


During the course of the six nights of intense competition, many of the top ranked drivers in the Nation are expected to compete. Those include ten-time USCS Champion, Terry Gray from Bartlett, Tennessee who currently leads the National point standings after nine events. Tim Crawley who was the 2002 NSCHOF 360 Sprint Car Driver of the Year and the 2012 USCS Outlaw Thunder National Champion and as well as a three-time USCS Mid South regional series Champion is expected to compete as well as the 2013 USCS National Champion, Derek Hagar from Marion, Arkansas.


Derek Hagar had 10 USCS Feature wins during his Championship run in 2013 while Crawley captured 5 wins. Also entered is five-time USCS feature winner and female sprint car racer 21 year-old Morgan Turpen from Cordova, Tennessee who has one feature win already in 2014.


Over 50 different drivers from 7-8 states are expected to compete in the six USCS Sprint Speedweek 2014 events. For further USCS info including updated schedules and rules, etc please visit the series official website at or call the USCS office at 770-865-6097.