Blake Hahn Masterful in Gulf South Victory

2014 ascs gulf south region tease american sprint car series

From Bryan Hulbert


Golliad, TX —  (May 24, 2014) — In the Griffith Truck and Equipment ASCS Gulf South Region’s first visit to the Shady Oaks Speedway, Blake Hahn raced to his third career win with the Gulf South arm of the ASCS Nation.


Gridding third, Hahn gave chase to Matt Covington the first half of the night’s 25 lap A-Feature. Working to slower traffic, a bobble on the part of Covington was all that was needed for Hahn to slip to the race lead on Lap 13.


Travis Rilat climbed to second in the closing laps with Aaron Reutzel charging from tenth to grab the final podium step. Fighting a stumble in the engine, Matt Covington settled for fourth with Kolt Walker completing the top five.


Johnny Herrera from eighteenth crossed sixth with Brandon Berryman seventh from fifteenth. Klint Angelette, Tommy Bryant, and Ray Allen Kulhanek made up the top ten.


The Griffith Truck and Equipment Gulf South Region returns to action on Sunday, May 25 at the Golden Triangle Raceway Park in Beaumont, Texas. For news and updates on the American Sprint Car Series, log onto


Griffith Truck and Equipment Gulf South Region
Shady Oaks Speedway – Goliad, Texas
Saturday, May 24, 2014


Car Count: 26


Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 19-Klint Angelette; 2. 39C-Travis Rilat; 3. 4J-John James; 4. 17T-Matt Ward; 5. (DNF) 66-J.J. Simmons; 6. (DNF) 31-Brandon Berryman; 7. (DNF) 45X-Johnny Herrera


Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 28-Tommy Bryant; 2. 95-Matt Covington; 3. 93-Chris Sweeney; 4. 36-John Pate; 5. 17W-Harli White; 6. 5X-Tyson Hall; DNS 12-Scott Smith


Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr; 2. 87-Aaron Reutzel; 3. 12M-Kolt Walker; 4. 24-Brandie Jass; 5. 29-Mike Walling; 6. 7A-Paul Solomon


Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 15T-Travis Elliott; 2. 17-Blake Hahn; 3. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek; 4. 29X-Brandon Hahn; 5. 11-Channin Tankersley; DNS 7-Wyatt Rector


B Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. 31-Brandon Berryman[8]; 2. 17T-Matt Ward[3]; 3. 24-Brandie Jass[2]; 4. 45X-Johnny Herrera[11]; 5. 7A-Paul Solomon[9]; 6. 11-Channin Tankersley[6]; 7. 5X-Tyson Hall[10]; 8. 29-Mike Walling[4]; 9. 7-Wyatt Rector[7]; 10. (DNF) 17W-Harli White[5]; 11. (DNF) 66-J.J. Simmons[1]; DNS 12-Scott Smith


A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 17-Blake Hahn[3]; 2. 39C-Travis Rilat[4]; 3. 87-Aaron Reutzel[10]; 4. 95-Matt Covington[2]; 5. 12M-Kolt Walker[6]; 6. 45X-Johnny Herrera[18]; 7. 31-Brandon Berryman[15]; 8. 19-Klint Angelette[7]; 9. 28-Tommy Bryant[5]; 10. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek[14]; 11. 93-Chris Sweeney[11]; 12. 4J-John James[1]; 13. 36-John Pate[12]; 14. 17T-Matt Ward[16]; 15. 7A-Paul Solomon[19]; 16. (DNF) 24-Brandie Jass[17]; 17. (DNF) 29X-Brandon Hahn[13]; 18. (DNF) 11-Channin Tankersley[20]; 19. (DNF) 15T-Travis Elliott[8]; 20. (DNF) 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr[9]


Lap Leader(s): Matt Covington 1-12; Blake Hahn 13-15