“Chargin” Charles Davis Jr. – 2nd in USAC SouthWest Point Standings. Photo by Patrick Shaw / Backed-In Photography.
“Chargin” Charles Davis Jr. – 2nd in USAC SouthWest Point Standings. Photo by Patrick Shaw / Backed-In Photography.
“Chargin” Charles Davis Jr. – 2nd in USAC SouthWest Point Standings. Photo by Patrick Shaw / Backed-In Photography.

From Lance Jennings

Peoria, AZ — (August 5, 2014) — After rain washed away the “Rick Stewart Memorial” at Prescott Valley, the popular USAC SouthWest Sprint Car Series will travel to the heartland for the “2nd Annual Freedom Tour.” With each night paying $2,500-to-win, the non-point four-race mini-series will kickoff on Wednesday, August 13th, in Lawton, Oklahoma. Creek County Speedway in Sapulpa, Oklahoma will host the following night’s action as the tour will continue to Wichita and Dodge City, Kansas.

Last year, Rick Ziehl raced Gary Williams’ #41W Diamond Mechanical Maxim to victory at Wichita’s 81 Speedway and the “Freedom Tour” finale at Dodge City Raceway Park. Veteran Danny Smith claimed the opener at Creek County behind the wheel of his #5$ Same Day Auto Repair XXX and “Chargin” Charles Davis Jr. added Dodge City to his win list in the Massey Motorsports #50 RSS Industries car.

The USAC SouthWest Sprints will make their debut at Lawton Speedway on Wednesday, August 13th. Located at 3501 South Sheridan Road in Lawton, Oklahoma, the semi-banked 1/4-mile oval regularly hosts Champ Sprints and is a featured stop for the ASCS Sooner Region Sprints. The Limited Modifieds will share the spotlight and for more details, visit www.lawtonspeedway.com or call 580.355.6417.

The following night, August 14th, the “Freedom Tour” will return to Creek County Speedway in Sapulpa, Oklahoma. Located on the historic Route 66 at 18450 West Highway 66, the semi-banked 1/4-mile oval is also home to Champ Sprints, Micro Sprints, and special events with the ASCS Sooner Region. The Non-Winged Micro Sprints and Restricted Micro Sprints will join the action packed card. For more information, visit www.creekcountyspeedway.co or call 918.693.7223 (RACE).

On Friday, August 15th, 81 Speedway in Wichita, Kansas will host the third night of the “Freedom Tour.” Located at 100 West 77th Street North, the 3/8-mile clay oval regularly features NCRA 360 Sprints, local 360 Sprints, and 305 Sprints. The Wix Filters / Bumper to Bumper Auto Parts “Harold Leep Memorial” will also showcase the Kansas Antique Racers. For more details, visit www.81speedway.org or call 316.755.1781.

For the second year in a row, Dodge City Raceway Park in Dodge City, Kansas will showcase the finale of the “Freedom Tour” on Saturday, August 16th. Located at 11322 110 Road, the large 3/8-mile oval hosts URSS, NCRA, ASCS Sooner, and World of Outlaw Sprint Cars. The finale will also feature IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sport Mods, IMCA Stock Cars, and Thunder Cars. For more information, visit www.dodgecityraceway.com or call 620.225.3277.

With five wins in the campaign, defending champion R.J. Johnson leads the point chase over a talented roster of drivers. “Chargin” Charles Davis Jr., Josh Pelkey, Shon Deskins, Matt Rossi, “The Magic Man” Mike Martin, Tye Mihocko, Andy Reinbold, Mike Colegrove, and “The Radio Flyer” Bruce St. James round out the top-10 drivers. Davis, Pelkey, and Dave Darland are tied with three victories, while Brady Bacon, Colby Copeland, Deskins, Austin Liggett, and Richard Vander Weerd have claimed one feature win.

The USAC SouthWest Sprint Car Series would like to thank Sunoco Race Fuels, Hoosier Tire, Hose Advantage Store, and the Racers Advantage Store for their support. For more information on the series, visit www.southwestsprintcars.com, www.usacracing.com, or follow the series on Facebook (www.facebook.com/SouthwestSprintCars).
2-Rick Ziehl, 1-Charles Davis Jr., 1-Danny Smith.

16-R.J. Johnson, 9-Charles Davis Jr., 6-Bryan Clauson, 4-Josh Pelkey, 3-Dave Darland, 3-Rick Ziehl, 2-Mike Spencer, 1-Brady Bacon, 1-Colby Copeland, 1-Shon Deskins, 1-Austin Liggett, 1-Mike Martin, 1-Matt Rossi, 1-Danny Smith, 1-Richard Vander Weerd.

1. R.J. Johnson-739, 2. Charles Davis Jr.-695, 3. Josh Pelkey-680, 4. Shon Deskins-607, 5. Matt Rossi-575, 6. Mike Martin-564, 7. Tye Mihocko-517, 8. Andy Reinbold-459, 9. Mike Colegrove-442, 10. Bruce St. James-434, 11. Nick Aiuto-418, 12. Michael Curtis-403, 13. Josh Shipley-385, 14. Brian Hosford-337, –. Tom Ogle-337, 16. Stevie Sussex-271, 17. Mark Morin-245, 18. Mike Bonneau-242, 19. Chris Bonneau-225, 20. Dennis Gile-187.

August 13: Lawton Speedway – Lawton, OK (Freedom Tour / $2,500-to-Win / Non-Points)
August 14: Creek County Speedway – Sapulpa, OK (Freedom Tour / $2,500-to-Win / Non-Points)
August 15: 81 Speedway – Wichita, KS (Freedom Tour / $2,500-to-Win / Non-Points)
August 16: Dodge City Raceway Park – Dodge City, KS (Freedom Tour / $2,500-to-Win / Non-Points)
August 29: **El Paso Speedway Park – El Paso, TX (Border Tour)
August 30: **Southern New Mexico Speedway – Las Cruces, NM (Border Tour)
August 31: **Tularosa Speedway – Tularosa, NM (Border Tour)
September 6: Arizona Speedway – Queen Creek, AZ
September 20: Central Arizona Raceway – Casa Grande, AZ
September 27: *Canyon Speedway Park – Peoria, AZ (Brawl For It All / $2,500-to-Win / Grudge Series)
October 11: Prescott Valley Speedway – Prescott Valley, AZ
October 18: Canyon Speedway Park – Peoria, AZ (Southwest Championships)
November 1: Arizona Speedway – Queen Creek, AZ
November 6: *Perris Auto Speedway – Perris, CA (Oval Nationals / $2,500-to-Win / Grudge Series / Non-Points)
November 20: *Canyon Speedway Park – Peoria, AZ (Western World Championships)
November 21: *Canyon Speedway Park – Peoria, AZ (Western World Championships)
November 22: *Canyon Speedway Park – Peoria, AZ (Western World Championships / $7,500-to-Win)
* = Co-Sanctioned Event with USAC West Coast Sprints.
** = Co-Sanctioned Event with NMMRA Sprints.
This schedule is subject to change.