Jared Zimbardi Takes Home Record $15,000 Cash as Patriot Sprint Tour Champion

Patriot Sprint Tour Logo


By Rich Vleck

ROCHESTER, NY, (October 18, 2014)- Jared Zimbardi had known for months now that he had secured both 2014 Patriot Sprint Tour Titles, but on Saturday he and his team were able to appropriately celebrate his amazing season.

Patriot Sprint Tour Logo

Zimbardi, 27, who resides in Bradford, PA, collected $15,000 at the 2014 Patriot Sprint Tour Awards Banquet Saturday Night at the Barnard Exempt Party House in Rochester, NY.  After winning the PST America Championship in 2013 for the second time, “The Juice” had his best season this year dominating both the PST America and PST Canada Series to secure each title and earn a $5,000 bonus for becoming the first driver to win both.


“I love being a dirt sprint car driver,” declared Zimbardi upon accepting his big check, championship trophy, jackets and prize pack.  “For me, it is not about the destination but the journey.  What a journey our team has been on.”


Zimbardi scored seven wins on the Patriot Sprint Tour in 2014, including winning four of the five PST Canada events.  He completed every regular season lap and never finished a race outside of the top 10.  Tony DiFonzo, Zimbardi’s Crew Chief, was a big reason for this consistency and was named Mechanic of the Year for the second straight season.


A host of other drivers were honored on the night as over $32,000 cash was distributed. Teenager Dane Lorenc was crowned the Insinger Performance Fuels Rookie of the Year.  With his win at McKean County in August, Lorenc becomes the first PST Rookie of the Year to win a feature race with the series in his first season of competition.


Former Rookie of the Year Steve Collins also had a great season, placing second in PST America Points, a career-best.  Not only did Collins receive a healthy chunk of the point fund, he also was the lucky recipient of a new set of Brodix Cylinder Heads.


Dave Just placed third in the standings in his sophomore season and was also crowned the Evingham Site Excavation Four Laps of Fame Dash Series Champion.  Just behind Just in both standings was Brad Knab, who completed a solid season in fourth.  2013 Rookie of the Year Scott Just completed the top five in the standings and joined his dad Dave in receiving the honor of the Patriots of the year.


2012 series champion Scott Kreutter picked up the Hard Charger of the Season Award, while Derek Jonathan was recognized for his sportsmanship and best appearing car.  Parker Evans was named the outstanding newcomer while Tyler Graves, the driver who won that award last year, was declared as the hard luck recipient.


To conclude the evening, PST Director Mike Emhof looked ahead to what should be a thrilling 2015 season.  Emhof declared that the PST America Champion will once again be vying for at least a $5,000 cash payout and that many of the track of 2014 will return.


For more information, visit www.PatriotSprintTour.com.


Patriot Sprint Tour America Series Top 11 (Special Awards in Parentheses)

  1. Jared Zimbardi ($15,000)
  2. Steve Collins
  3. Dave Just (Dash Series Champion, Patriots of the Year)
  4. Brad Knab
  5. Scott Just (Patriots of the Year)
  6. Scott Kreutter (Hard Charger of the Season)
  7. Dane Lorenc (Insinger Rookie of the Year)
  8. Derek Jonathan (Sportsmanship, Best Appearing Car)
  9. Tyler Graves (Hard Luck)
  10. Bryan Howland
  11. Parker Evans (Outstanding Newcomer)


Other Special Awards

– Mechanic of the Year: Tony DiFonzo

– Dedication to Motors: Jeff Dudden