Mount Gambier stars sweep Ross Memorial

From Phil Michell

Murray Bridge, AU — (March 28, 2015) — Mount Gambier racers Steven Lines and Rory Button swept the Sprintcar feature events at the Murray Machining and Sheds Murray Bridge Speedway on Saturday night as they won their respective events on a night that honoured the life of former racer and respected Club Member Ross Wright. For the first time in the events history the 410ci Sprintcars were the main attraction of the Ross Wright Memorial with Lines going into the record books as the first open Sprintcar driver to claim the event.

After starting from position 2 in the 30 lap final Lines held off a spirited charge from former race winner Daniel Pestka and Matt Egel to claim a well-deserved win on what was a beautifully prepared race track. Fourth across the line was Luke Dillon, who was making his debut in the Matt Muir owned #53. Dillon’s fourth placing maintained his healthy points lead in the QSS SA Sprintcar Shootout Series going into the final round at Speedway City on April 18. Rounding out the top five was Dillon’s nearest Championship rival Mark Caruso, while Brendan Guerin, Keke Falland, Steven Caruso, Ryan Jones and Luke Bowey completed the top 10.

On a night that celebrated the life of Ross Wright local racer Ryan Jones, who is supported by the Wright Family through their Murray Machining and Sheds business, competed with a retro paint scheme that was a replica of the final car that Ross competed in, complete with his #23 racing number.

Earlier the heats were seeded by time trials during hot laps with Broken Hill youngster Brendan Guerin pacing the field with a lap of 11.731 while the heat winners were Guerin, Pestka, Aidan hall and Ricky Maiolo.

The 360ci Sprintcars were also on show as they also contested a Memorial race with Rory Button leading all 20 laps to claim his first ever feature event win in South Australia. Second place went the way of Adelaide Hills resident Sam Putland and with the event doubling as round 6 of the SA State Series the result maintained his lead in the 7 round series. Michael Lovegrove put in what could be described as the “Drive of the Night” as moved from position 9 with a highline charge to claim third. Fourth place went to Darryl Guerinwith Dan Evans completing the top five.

Jarman Dalitz won the wingeless V6 sprint car feature.