Johnny Herrera wins ASCS Red River feature at Creek County

Johnny Herrera (Serena Dalhamer photo)

From Bryan Hulbert

Sapulpa, OK — (April 10, 2015) — Working top-to-bottom on the Creek County Speedway, New Mexico’s Johnny Herrera raced to his first victory of the season with the American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Red River Region presented by Smiley’s Racing Products.

Riding runner-up to Seth Bergman early, Herrera utilized a Lap 4 restart to bolt past the No. 23.

Challenged briefly in slower traffic, the MVT / Semi-Crazy Truck Wash No. 45x was able to stay on point. Seth Bergman settled for second after the brakes began to give in the final rounds. After destroying a car one week ago, Tennessee’s Brandon Hanks put his No. 3h on the final podium step.

Kevin Ramey and Kade Morton rounded out the top-five.

Matt Covington was sixth with Blake Hahn from 12th to finish seventh. Andy Shouse, Mickey Walker, and Tony Bruce, Jr. completed the top-ten.

The American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Red River Region presented by Smiley’s Racing Products competes next at the Super Bowl Speedway in Greenville, Texas on Saturday, April 11. For continued updates and information the American Sprint Car Series, log onto


ASCS Red River Region
Creek County Speedway – Sapulpa, Okla.
Friday, April 10, 2015

Car Count: 24

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 1A-Kevin Ramey[2]; 2. 11-Joe Wood Jr[5]; 3. 29-Matt Ward[1]; 4. 14K-Kyle Bellm[3]; 5. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[7]; 6. 32B-Taylor Tidmore[8]; 7. 50-Brandon James[6]; 8. (DNF) 17W-Harli White[4]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 27-Andy Shouse[2]; 2. 23-Seth Bergman[1]; 3. 95-Matt Covington[4]; 4. 40-Howard Moore[3]; 5. 26M-Fred Mattox[5]; 6. 4X-Shawn Petersen[8]; 7. 7M-Chance Morton[6]; 8. 05M-Charles McManus[7]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 3H-Brandon Hanks[2]; 2. 8M-Kade Morton[1]; 3. 2-Mickey Walker[4]; 4. 45X-Johnny Herrera[8]; 5. 8-Alex Sewell[6]; 6. 52-Blake Hahn[7]; 7. 9$-Kyle Clark[5]; 8. (DNF) 48-Jake Martens[3]

B Feature (12 Laps): 1. 4X-Shawn Petersen[2]; 2. 8-Alex Sewell[4]; 3. 32B-Taylor Tidmore[1]; 4. 26M-Fred Mattox[3]; 5. 7M-Chance Morton[6]; 6. 9$-Kyle Clark[7]; 7. 48-Jake Martens[10]; 8. 05M-Charles McManus[8]; 9. (DNF) 50-Brandon James[5]; DNS 17W-Harli White

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 45X-Johnny Herrera[3]; 2. 23-Seth Bergman[2]; 3. 3H-Brandon Hanks[4]; 4. 1A-Kevin Ramey[5]; 5. 8M-Kade Morton[1]; 6. 95-Matt Covington[8]; 7. 52-Blake Hahn[12]; 8. 27-Andy Shouse[6]; 9. 2-Mickey Walker[9]; 10. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[11]; 11. 40-Howard Moore[14]; 12. 14K-Kyle Bellm[13]; 13. 29-Matt Ward[10]; 14. 7M-Chance Morton[19]; 15. 8-Alex Sewell[16]; 16. 4X-Shawn Petersen[15]; 17. 32B-Taylor Tidmore[17]; 18. 9$-Kyle Clark[20]; 19. (DNF) 26M-Fred Mattox[18]; 20. (DNF) 11-Joe Wood Jr[7]