USAC / CRA series rumbles at Perris on Saturday

Jake Swanson, 6th in USAC/CRA Point Standings. (Lance Jennings Photo)

Jake Swanson, 6th in USAC/CRA Point Standings. (Lance Jennings Photo)
Jake Swanson, 6th in USAC/CRA Point Standings. (Lance Jennings Photo)
From Lance Jennings

Perris, CA — (Juen 10, 2015) — This Saturday, June 13th, the Amsoil USAC/CRA Sprint Car Series will headline an open wheel showcase at Perris Auto Speedway. Promoted by Don Kazarian, the eighth point race of the season will also feature the PAS Senior and Young Gun Sprint Cars. Located in Perris, California on the Lake Perris Fairgrounds, the spectator gates at “America’s Premier Dirt Track” will open at 5:00pm and racing is scheduled for 7:00pm. For more event information, visit the track’s website at or call 951.940.0134.

Saturday’s race will mark the 175th Amsoil USAC/CRA Sprint Car event at Perris Auto Speedway. Dating back to March 6, 2004, the “Southern California Home of Major League Sprint Car Racing” has been the “home track” for USAC/CRA. At press time, “The Demon” Damion Gardner leads all drivers with 33 series wins at Perris and Nic Faas holds the 1-lap track record of 15.833, set on February 25, 2012.

NOTICE TO COMPETITORS: Per USAC/CRA rules, all fuel-injected 410 and 360 powered sprint cars must run the Hoosier 105/16 Medium Right Rear Tire and all four corners must be Hoosier. Cars must pass a tech inspection and one-way radios are mandatory for drivers. USAC/CRA charges a $25 entry fee to all competitors and the series rule book can be found online at

Mike Spencer of Temecula, California has a 25-point lead over the competition, Driving Ron Chaffin’s #50 Grubstake Mini Storage / Madera Produce Maxim, Spencer ran seventh in the May 23rd “Salute To Indy” at Perris. To date, the five-time champion has two Woodland Auto Display Fast Time Awards, three heat race victories, seven top-10 finishes, and 17 feature laps led to his credit. This Saturday, Mike will be looking to extend point lead by claiming his 36th career USAC/CRA main event.

After finishing second in the “Salute to Indy,” Yorba Linda’s Matt Mitchell has climbed to second in the point chase. Racing his #37 Campbell Bros. Storage / Pit Boss Jacks Maxim, Mitchell has two heat race victories, one Competition Suspension Inc. / Rod End Supply Semi-Main win, seven top-10 finishes, and 13 feature laps led. Currently tied with Levi Jones, Bud Kaeding, and Blake Miller for thirteenth on USAC/CRA’s win list, Matt will have his sights on his seventh career victory.

“The Demon” Damion Gardner of Concord, California sits third in the chase for the championship. Piloting Mark Alexander’s #4 Scott Sales Company / Weld Racing Spike, Gardner scored nineteenth on May 23rd after an early exit. Heading to Perris, the three-time champion has two main event wins, three heat race victories, six top-10 finishes, and 35 feature laps led on the season. “The World’s Fastest Sprint Car Driver” will be looking to earn his series leading 60th win.

Arguably the hottest driver on the circuit is Visalia, California’s Richard Vander Weerd. Currently fourth in points, the driver of the family owned #10 Vander Weerd Construction / Stone Gate Development Maxim made the “Salute to Indy” his fourth win of the campaign. The former USAC West Coast Sprint Champion also has one Woodland Auto Display Fast Time Award, two heat race victories, five top-10 finishes, and 109 feature laps led. Currently tied with Garrett Hansen for 17th on the series win list, Vander Weerd will have his sights on scoring his sixth career USAC/CRA feature.

Austin Williams of Yorba Linda, California sits fifth in the point standings. Racing Jack Jory’s #2 John Jory Corporation / AMA Plastics Spike, Williams charged to third in the May 23rd feature after starting ninth. Entering Saturday’s race, the 2009 Rookie of the Year has one heat race victory and five top-10 finishes on the season. Currently in a nine-way tie for 21st on USAC/CRA’s win list, Austin will be looking to claim his fourth career win this Saturday night.

Sitting thirteenth in the point standings, “The Flying Peanut” Parker Colston of Lake Elsinore, California leads the chase for Rookie of the Year honors. Michael Curtis, Anthony Lopiccolo, and Tommy Malcolm are also in contention.

Among the other drivers expected to be in action are Jake Swanson, Brody Roa, “The Cadillac” Cody Williams, Logan Williams, Jace Vander Weerd, Ronnie Gardner, “Super” Rickie Gaunt, David Bezio, Chris Gansen, A.J. Bender, and more.