Sumar Classic Thursday at the Terre Haute Action Track

USAC United States Auto Club Top Story Logo

From Adam Mackey

Terre Haute, IN — (June 30, 2015) — Thursday’s “Sumar Classic” USAC Silver Crown Championship race at the Terre Haute (Ind.) Action Track marks the 20th anniversary of the inaugural won in 1995 by Donnie Beechler. Thursday’s race will feature a battle for series supremacy with six drivers in sight of the point lead entering the race.

Defending race winner Kody Swanson of Kingsburg, Calif. has a 14-point lead over Aaron Pierce going into Thursday’s race. Last year’s win was one of seven he has posted in the last 14 series outings. He led all but two laps of last year’s “Sumar Classic.”

Prior to Thursday’s race, a 4pm ceremony behind the main grandstand will feature the unveiling of a commemorative plaque erected by the Indiana Racing Memorial Association honoring long-time race organizer Don Smith and the history of the Terre Haute Action Track.

Former race winner Dave Darland (2008) is also expected to compete as he continues his quest for a 100th USAC National feature victory.

Thursday’s race will be recorded and aired on Mav-TV’s “Dirty 30” program at a date and time yet to be determined.