Sam Hafertepe, Jr. rolls to victory at the Lone Star Speedway

Sam Hafertepe Jr (Serena Dalhamer photo)

From Bryan Hulbert

Kilgore, TX — (October 10, 2015) — Picking up his fourth victory of the season with the American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Red River Region presented by Smiley’s Racing Products, Sam Hafertepe, Jr. came from sixth to top the Texas State Championship at the Lone Star Speedway.

A $3,000 score for the driver of the Hwy. 79 Collision No. 15h, Hafertepe worked past the No. 17t of Dustin Gates as the pair hit traffic. Coming from fifth, the No. 87 of Aaron Reutzel quickly took second, and began stalking Hafertepe through the back markers. With his path to the No. 15h eventually clogged with the slower cars of Michael Lang and Chance Morton, the caution flew with under five laps to run as Blake Hahn and Joe Wood, Jr. tangled in turns one and two.

Making contact with the No. 7m of Chance Morton under caution that resulted in the No. 7m going around and coming to a stop, Aaron Reutzel was disqualified for rough driving; moving Dustin Gates back to second on the restart.

With a lapped car buffer, Sam was unchallenged as Gates came under fire from Wayne Johnson and Seth Bergman with Johnson making the pass to the runner-up spot. Caution on Lap 23 for Mickey Walker, the restart again saw the second spot up for grabs as Seth Bergman challenged low to take over the spot, but would not be able to run down the No. 15h.

Seth Bergman crossed second with Dustin Gates third. Wayne Johnson from eighth was fourth at the line with Shawn Petersen completing the top-five. Cody Adams crossed sixth with Taylor Tidmore charging from 20th to seventh. Tyson Hall from 12th, Mark Huddleston from 16th, and Michael Lang rounded out the top-ten.

The American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Red River Region presented by Smiley’s Racing Products races next with the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network at the Devil’s Bowl Speedway on Friday, October 16 and Saturday, October 17. More information can be found at

For continued updates on the American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Red River Region presented by Smiley’s Racing Products, log onto

Race Results:

ASCS Red River Region
Lone Star Speedway – Kilgore, Texas
Saturday, October 10, 2015

Car Count: 21

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 87-Aaron Reutzel[2]; 2. 14-Michael Lang[1]; 3. 4X-Shawn Petersen[7]; 4. 2-Mickey Walker[6]; 5. 8M-Kade Morton[5]; 6. 51-Caleb Martin[3]; 7. 87X-Billy Melton[4]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 23-Seth Bergman[2]; 2. 16-Cody Adams[1]; 3. 84-Brandon Hanks[6]; 4. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr[7]; 5. 11-Joe Wood Jr[3]; 6. 52-Blake Hahn[4]; 7. 32B-Taylor Tidmore[5]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 17T-Dustin Gates[2]; 2. 17-Channin Tankersley[5]; 3. 77X-Wayne Johnson[6]; 4. 5X-Tyson Hall[1]; 5. 7M-Chance Morton[4]; 6. 33-Mark Huddleston[3]; 7. (DNF) 3-Raven Culp[7]

A Feature 1 (25 Laps): 1. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr[6]; 2. 23-Seth Bergman[7]; 3. 17T-Dustin Gates[4]; 4. 77X-Wayne Johnson[8]; 5. 4X-Shawn Petersen[2]; 6. 16-Cody Adams[10]; 7. 32B-Taylor Tidmore[20]; 8. 5X-Tyson Hall[12]; 9. 33-Mark Huddleston[16]; 10. 14-Michael Lang[9]; 11. 8M-Kade Morton[13]; 12. 7M-Chance Morton[14]; 13. 84-Brandon Hanks[3]; 14. (DNF) 2-Mickey Walker[11]; 15. (DNF) 11-Joe Wood Jr[15]; 16. (DNF) 52-Blake Hahn[17]; 17. (DNF) 87X-Billy Melton[21]; 18. (DNF) 3-Raven Culp[19]; 19. (DNF) 17-Channin Tankersley[1]; DNS 51-Caleb Martin; DQ 87-Aaron Reutzel[5]