Over $250,000 in Cash and Contingencies Handed Out at Knoxville Banquet

knoxvillebanquetFrom Bill W

KNOXVILLE, Iowa (November 19, 2016) – Over $250,000 in cash and contingencies were handed out Saturday night, November 19 at the 2016 Knoxville Raceway Championship Cup Series Banquet! The event, held at Prairie Meadows Racetrack and Casino in Altoona, Iowa again played host to over 500 attendees. Tony Bokhoven and Kris Krug presided as Masters of Ceremonies.

The contingency package was headlined by a giveaway of eight chassis. Each owner in all three sprint car classes was awarded a contingency (see prize list with winners below). The Knoxville Raceway Charitable Organization (KRCO) again will provide insurance for all 2016 Knoxville point eligible drivers next season for wherever they may race. The KRCO will also provide each driver a $800 gift certificate to Simpson Racing Products.

After dinner, Promoter John McCoy and new Marketing Director Kendra Jacobs addressed the attendees. In addition to the thanks doled out to those who make Knoxville Raceway what it is, both expressed their excitement for the 2016 season and beyond.

They also relayed the excitement generated from a rise in attendance on weekly racing nights last season, as well as an increase in attendance at both the 26th Annual Arnold Motor Supply 360 Nationals presented by Great Southern Bank and the 56th Annual 5-hour ENERGY Knoxville Nationals presented by Casey’s General Stores. It was also announced that 5-hour ENERGY will return in its support for the Nationals in 2017.

Drivers and owners outside of the top five in each of the three respective classes received their accolades.

The “Jr. Fan Club Drivers of the Year” were announced. Brian Brown (410), Clint Garner (360) and McKenna Haase (305) won in each class. Brown won the award voted on Jr. Fans for the second time (2014), while Garner won for the first time. Haase won for the third year in a row. Young fan McKenzie Smith was honored as the “Jr. Fan Club Fan of the Year”.

Greg Luellen was named the honoree of the “Knoxville Raceway Fan of the Year” Award.

The “Lyle Boyd Hard Charger Award” awards the drivers who passed the most cars in A main events this season. Dan Henning received the award in the 305 class, with Tony Shilling (360), and Josh Schneiderman (410) receiving the award in their respective classes.

Dakota Hendrickson was named the “Sportsman of the Year” in the 410 class, while Jamie Ball picked up the honor in the 360 class. Corey Kautz, won the award in the 305 class.

Bob Baker, the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame & Museum Executive Director, presented the “Heritage Award” to the Knoxville Raceway Charitable Organization. Maureen Nichols accepted the award on behalf of KRCO, who has done so much for drivers over the years in respect to safety.

Chase Wanner (305), Rob Weuve (360), and Scott Bogucki (410) were named “Rookie of the Year” in their respective classes.

“Owner/Team of the Year” Awards went out to the Christian Bowman Racing #15 (305), the Boyd and Glenda Fluth #40 (360) and the Big Game Motorsports #2 (410).

The big hardware went out last to the top five drivers in the Lucas Oil Knoxville Championship Cup Series point standings. In the 305 class, Mike Mayberry (5th), Chris Walraven (4th), McKenna Haase (3rd), Devin Kline (2nd) and Christian Bowman (champion) were honored.

In the 360 class, Nate Van Haaften (5th), Matt Moro (4th), Tony Shilling (3rd), Ryan Giles (2nd) and Clint Garner (champion) were honored. It was Garner’s record seventh 360 track title.

In the 410 class, Brooke Tatnell (5th), Craig Dollansky (4th), Ian Madsen (3rd), Brian Brown (2nd) and Danny Lasoski (champion) were honored. It was a record eleventh track championship for Lasoski.

Contingency Winners by Draw (presented to owners)…

305 Class:

J&J Chassis: Joe Simbro
Vortex Wing/Schoenfeld Mufflers: McKenna Haase, Chase Wanner
Vortex Wing: Christian Bowman, Chris Walraven, Matthew Stelzer
HRP Wing/Hoosier Right Rear Tire: Devin Kline, Mike Mayberry, Dan Henning
HRP Wing/10 Free Pit Passes: Brad Comegys, Corey Kautz
Winters Front End Kit: Mitchell Alexander

360 Class:

J&J Chassis: Clint Garner
EMI Chassis: John Anderson
Vortex Wing/Hoosier Right Rear: Joe Beaver, Matt Moro, Tom Lenz
Winters Rear-end Kit/FSR Radiator: Alan Zoutte
KSE Gen2 Steering Gear: Rob Weuve, Nate Van Haaften
Vortex Wing/10 Free Pit Passes: Sawyer Phillips
Waterman Fuel Pump/VSE Shock Set: Jamie Ball
Engine Mount/FSR Radiator/VSE Shock Set: Tony Shilling
Winters Front-end Kit/VSE Shock Set: Calvin Landis
Vortex Wing/Schoenfeld Mufflers: Mike Van Haaften
Winters Rear-end: Ryan Giles

410 Class:

EMI Chassis: Bob Weuve
Maxim Chassis: Bronson Maeschen, Kevin Hetrick
J&J Chassis: TKS Motorsports #2KS, VanderEcken Motorsports #10V
Winters Rear-end: Davey Heskin, Brian Brown, AJ Moeller, RJ Johnson
Vortex Wing/Ti64 Bolt Kit: Scott Bogucki, Ian Madsen, Dustin Selvage, Tasker Phillips, Josh Schneiderman
VSE Shock Set/Winters Front-end Kit: Brooke Tatnell
All Pro Cylinder Heads: Big Game Motorsports #2