Shullick and Muldoon Duel in Triple Crown Championship Grand Prix Tilt at Oswego

Dave Shullick Jr. Robert Clark photo

By Dan Kapuscinski
OSWEGO, NY (July 1, 2017) –

Dave Shullick Jr.
Robert Clark photo

Starting from pole position, Muldoon was in prime position early on driving his family owned and built No. 15, the same machine that took Muldoon from 18th to 9th just one week earlier at Stafford Speedway in winged competition.

Leading the majority of the event, Muldoon looked to be in control until Shullick poured it on past halfway in the Nicotra Racing No. 2 to take the lead at lap 50 and runaway with this third Oswego win of the season and his third TCCS triumph at the Steel Palace.

With the win, Shullick becomes the first Ohio driver to win Oswego’s Grand Prix since his father triumphed in 1982.

Muldoon held on for the second position, driving across the line as the top cross over machine in the field. Following Muldoon across the stripe in the top five were fellow same car TCCS combatants Dave Gruel, Jeff Abold, and Joe Gosek.

TCCS crossover racers Tim Snyder and Dave Danzer finished sixth and seventh with Keith Shampine and Joey Payne finishing ninth and tenth.

Otto Sitterly, who came into the night second in TCCS driver points dropped out of the event early on after contact at lap 5 between himself, Brandon Bellinger, and Michael Barnes. Sitterly managed a 12th place finish in the Nicotra Racing No. 7.

Shullick remains in control of the Bentley Warren Driver of the Year championship as the double point portion of the season begins on Saturday, July 22 with the $10,000 to win Mr. Novelis Supermodified at Oswego.

At that point, drops will be implemented into the point standings as only the best three finishes in Oswego non-wing and ISMA winged points will be included in the overall championship.

Shullick leads Sitterly, Gosek, Muldoon, and Danzer in the driver’s championship which will pay $6,000 to the winner, $4,000 to second, $2,000 to third, $1,000 to fourth, and $500 to fifth. Snyder is just one position outside of the money, despite not running Stafford. Again, drops will be factored in after Mr. Supermodified which will be key in the championship.

The Jim Shampine Supermodified of the Year championship is extremely tight at this juncture with the Gosek Racing team now in the lead by only 6-points over the Danzer Racing No. 52 team. The Muldoon Racing team is just 1-point behind Danzer making the top three separated by only 7-points in the race for another $6,000.

Snyder Racing and Penix Racing currently round out the top five in the same car championship as the series returns to Oswego on July 22.

If interested in helping to support the Triple Crown Championship Series of Supermodified Racing feel free to contact series promoter Dan Kapuscinski by e-mail at or by phone at (315) 708-7544.

To learn more about Oswego Speedway, visit online at and be sure to visit for more information on the International Supermodified Association.

About the TCCS: The Triple Crown Championship Series of Supermodified Racing, a promotional Supermodified series, was formed by Dan Kapuscinski Motorsports Promotions in conjunction with Oswego Speedway and the International Supermodified Association. The 10-race joint venture, which helps to provide bonus money for Supermodified drivers and owners, would not be possible without the support of Shea Concrete Products, ASI Racewear, A&P Automotive, Burke’s Do-It-Best Home Centers as well as the support and dedication of the participating TCCS race teams and the loyal Supermodified fan base.

TCCS Race #5 – July 1 – Oswego Speedway
Oswego Speedway Grand Prix (75-laps): 1. 2 – Dave Shullick Jr. (TCCS), 2. 15 – Michael Muldoon (TCCS), 3. 50 – Dave Gruel (TCCS), 4. 05 – Jeff Abold (TCCS), 5. 00 – Joe Gosek (TCCS), 6. 0 – Tim Snyder (TCCS), 7. 52 – Dave Danzer (TCCS), 8. 83 – Lou LeVea Jr., 9. 55 – Keith Shampine (TCCS), 10. 14 – Joey Payne (TCCS), 11. 56 – Hal LaTulip, 12. 7 – Otto Sitterly (TCCS), 13. 71 – Bill Sharkey, 14. 02 – Brandon Bellinger, 15. 68 – Michael Barnes, 16. 51 – Joey Moriarty

Bentley Warren Driver of the Year Standings: (as of July 1)
1. Dave Shullick Jr.*** – 459
2. Otto Sitterly – 379
3. Joe Gosek – 360
4. Michael Muldoon – 353
5. Dave Danzer – 350
6. Tim Snyder – 308
7. Joey Payne – 283
8. Dave Gruel – 277
9. Dave McKnight – 249
10. Jeff Abold – 243
11. Tim Jedrzejek – 241
12. Keith Shampine – 225
13. Chris Perley – 133
14. Howard Page – 129

Jim Shampine Supermodified of the Year Standings: (as of July 1)
1. Gosek Racing 00 – 360
2. Danzer Racing 52 – 354
3. Muldoon Racing 15 – 353
4. Snyder Racing 0 – 308
5. Penix Racing 14 – 283
6. Gruel Racing 50 – 277
7. Morton Racing 70 – 249
8. Team Abold Racing 05 – 243
9. Osetek Racing 55 – 225
10. Miller Racing 11 – 133
11. Page Racing 18 – 129

Shea Concrete Triple Crown Championship Series presented by ASI Racewear

May 13 – Oswego Speedway 67th Season Opener (Non-Wing) – Dave Shullick Jr.
June 3 – ISMA Lancaster Speedway (Wing) – Trent Stephens
June 10 – Oswego Speedway Twin 35’s (Non-Wing) – Dave Shullick Jr.
June 23 – ISMA Stafford Speedway (Wing) – Ben Seitz
July 1- Oswego Speedway Independence Grand Prix (Non-Wing) – Dave Shullick Jr.
July 22 – Oswego Speedway Mr. Suprermodified (Non-Wing)**
July 28 – ISMA Sandusky Speedway Hy-Miler Fast 40 (Wing)
July 29 – ISMA Sandusky Speedway Hy-Miler Nationals (Wing)**
September 3 – Oswego Speedway International Classic (Non-Wing)**
September 9 – ISMA Star Speedway Classic (Wing)**
** – Indicates Double Point Shows

Feature Points Only, Oswego 100-point format
Best (3) Non-Wing finishes, combined with best (3) wing finishes count toward (6) race point total