Supermodified Racing’s Biggest Stars Ready for $10,000 Battle Royale at Oswego

From Oswego Speedway

OSWEGO, NY (July 20, 2017) – In one of Oswego Speedway’s premiere events this season, a full field of Novelis Supermodifieds and Pathfinder Bank SBS are expected to compete for over $20,000 in prize money in this Saturday night’s ‘Mr. Supermodified’ and “Mr. Small Block Supermodified’ championships.

While Dave Shullick Jr. has been virtually dominant this season behind the wheel of the Nicotra Racing No. 2 in the Supermodified division, he will have some added competition in Saturday night’s event, which is scheduled as part of the Triple Crown Championship Series of Supermodified racing.

Expected to join Oswego’s Supermodified regulars in search of the $10,000 top prize along with added Jim Shampine Supermodified of the Year and Bentley Warren Driver of the Year points are triple crown campaigners Dave Danzer, Tim Jedrzejek, Howard Page, Dave McKnight, and Joey Payne. Returning drivers Bobby Bond and Tim Devendorf are also expected to be in the field come Saturday night.

Approaching this weekend, Shullick and Joe Gosek sit atop the Triple Crown standings with ‘The Shoe’ out front in the Driver of the Year chase by a long shot over teammate Sitterly, while Joe Gosek leads Danzer Racing in the Supermodified of the Year standings by a mere six points ahead of Danzer.

Only two former Mr. Supermodified champions will be in the field this weekend in Otto Sitterly and Danzer, who have swapped right to the title back and forth for the past three seasons. Second generation drivers Michael Muldoon and defending Budweiser International Classic Champion Jeff Abold would both love to follow in their father’s footsteps and pick up a Mr. Supermodified crown. Some 23 Supermodifieds are expected in the pit area come Saturday night.

On the always competitive Pathfinder Bank SBS side of the pits, two time Mr. SBS champion Dave Cliff has a comfortable points lead six races into the season, but the driver of the Tim Barbeau owned No. 50 machine is winless thus far in 2017.

With what will no doubt be a full field of cars in the pit area, Cliff will have to fend off challenges from series veterans Mike Bond, Russ Brown, Barry Kingsley, Andrew Schartner and Rob Pullen, who will join the defending champion as fellow former Mr. SBS winners.
Racing action will get underway at 6:45pm this Saturday night at the ‘Steel Palace.’ Adult general admission tickets are just $20 while kids 16 and under remain FREE for the gigantic show.