Dussel Wins FAST 410 Feature at Full Throttle Nationals

Nate Dussel. (Jim Denhamer photo)

By T.J. Buffenbarger

LAKE ODESSA, Mich. (June 4, 2022) — Nate Dussel overcame mechanical gremlins to win the FAST on Dirt sprint car feature as part of the Full Throttle Nationals Saturday night at I-96 Speedway. Dussel and his crew had to fix a fuel pickup issue following the dash and a left rear tire that was losing air during the closing stages of the 30-lap main event in route to the victory. Max Stambaugh, Dustin Daggett, Zeth Sabo, and Lee Jacobs rounded out the top five.

Lee Jacobs and Tyler Gunn started on the front row for the 25-lap main event and ran side by side for the opening lap before Gunn drove to the lead. Gunnโ€™s race ended five laps later when he made contact with the back of a slower car while attempting to put them a lap down and slide into the wall in turn four, handing the lead to Lee Jacobs.

Jacobs continued to lead with Dussel in second while Fridayโ€™s FAST feature winner Danny Sams III and Dustin Daggett diced for third position. Gunn brought out a second caution on lap eight when he lost a torsion bar and Darin Nadia was stopped on the backstretch. Neither was able to make the restart.

Jacobs pulled away during the restart as Daggett started to pressure Dussel for the second position. Daggett drove by Dussel on lap 10 and was pressuring Jacobs with Dussel in the mix as well to create a three-car race for the lead.

On lap 12 Dussel was able to drive from third to first around Jacobs and into the lead. Two laps later Dussel checked out from the field while Daggett passed Jacobs for the second position.

Dussel began to overtake slower cars while Max Stambaugh, who had moved into third position, closed in on Daggett.

Lap 21 saw another caution for Ricky Peterson slowing on the track and was unable to continue.

Dussel pulled away during the restart and was never seriously challenged for the lead during the remainder of the feature to win the feature. Stambaugh was able to get by Daggett on lap 28 for second while Daggett held on for third. Sabo and Jacobs rounded out the top five.

Full Throttle Nationals
FAST on Dirt Sprint Car Series
I-96 Speedway
Lake Odessa, Michigan
Saturday, June 4, 2022

1. 68G-Tyler Gunn, 13.580[6]
2. 7N-Dain Naida, 13.731[1]
3. 23-Chris Andrews, 13.969[7]
4. 17S-Reece Saldana, 14.026[5]
5. 19-Mitch Harble, 14.043[3]
6. 49I-John Ivy, 14.128[2]
7. 14-Sean Rayhall, 14.218[4]

Qualifying 2
1. 85-Dustin Daggett, 13.500[5]
2. 25M-Ryan Ruhl, 13.629[3]
3. 12-Corbin Gurley, 13.709[6]
4. 1-Nate Dussel, 13.837[4]
5. 24D-Danny Sams III, 13.867[7]
6. 71H-Max Stambaugh, 13.886[1]
7. 10-Justin Adams, 14.721[2]

Qualifying 3
1. 29-Zeth Sabo, 13.505[1]
2. 81-Lee Jacobs, 13.580[3]
3. 9-Ricky Peterson, 13.658[2]
4. 16C-Tyler Rankin, 13.855[5]
5. 1P-Levi Poortenga, 14.430[4]
DNS: 19M-Jett Mann, 14.430

Heat Race #1 (8 Laps)
1. 68G-Tyler Gunn[4]
2. 17S-Reece Saldana[1]
3. 23-Chris Andrews[2]
4. 7N-Dain Naida[3]
5. 49I-John Ivy[6]
6. 19-Mitch Harble[5]
7. 14-Sean Rayhall[7]

Heat Race #2 (8 Laps)
1. 1-Nate Dussel[1]
2. 85-Dustin Daggett[4]
3. 24D-Danny Sams III[5]
4. 12-Corbin Gurley[2]
5. 71H-Max Stambaugh[6]
6. 10-Justin Adams[7]
7. 25M-Ryan Ruhl[3]

Heat Race #3 (8 Laps)
1. 81-Lee Jacobs[3]
2. 9-Ricky Peterson[2]
3. 16C-Tyler Rankin[1]
4. 29-Zeth Sabo[4]
5. 1P-Levi Poortenga[5]

Dash #1 (6 Laps)
1. 81-Lee Jacobs[3]
2. 68G-Tyler Gunn[4]
3. 1-Nate Dussel[6]
4. 29-Zeth Sabo[5]
5. 7N-Dain Naida[2]
6. 85-Dustin Daggett[1]

A-Main (30 Laps)
1. 1-Nate Dussel[3]
2. 71H-Max Stambaugh[14]
3. 85-Dustin Daggett[6]
4. 29-Zeth Sabo[4]
5. 81-Lee Jacobs[1]
6. 24D-Danny Sams III[10]
7. 12-Corbin Gurley[12]
8. 14-Sean Rayhall[18]
9. 19-Mitch Harble[16]
10. 17S-Reece Saldana[7]
11. 16C-Tyler Rankin[11]
12. 10-Justin Adams[17]
13. 23-Chris Andrews[9]
14. 49I-John Ivy[13]
15. 9-Ricky Peterson[8]
16. 7N-Dain Naida[5]
17. 68G-Tyler Gunn[2]
18. 1P-Levi Poortenga[15]
DNS: 25M-Ryan Ruhl