Rico Abreu Captures High Limit Grandview Main

Rico Abreu. (Bob Buffenbarger photo)

From Bob Miller
Bechtelsville, PA. (7-26-23)BECHTELSVILLE, PA (July 26, 2023) – In front of a capacity crowd at the Grandview Speedway, Rico Abreu of St. Helena, California won the Rich Mar Florist High Limit Sprint Car Series main event powered by Levan Machine & Truck Equipment and presented by HVAC Distributors on Wednesday Night. Abreu — claiming his second consecutive 410 Sprint Car win at the Bechtelsville dirt track – took home the $23,023 winner’s share as part of the NAPA Auto Parts Thunder on the Hill Racing Series. A total purse of $80,000 was paid to the competitors.

“This was just good racing,” Abreu claimed after climbing out of his No. 24 machine. “My car was unbelievable, we set it up for the end of this race, and I just had to let the car come to me.”

Abreu was slated to start fourth on the 24-car field, however outside polesitter, Tim Buckwalter suffered a motor issue following the dash, retiring his machine and criss-crossing the field.

Hunter Schuerenberg – inheriting the outside pole — shot to the early lead overtaking Kyle Larson as the green flag dropped but a tangle on the initial start would negate the battle and ultimately end the night for Freddie Rahmer, the victim of the on-track collision.

With a second chance at keeping Schuerenberg at bay, Larson powered into turn one holding the top spot and bringing Justin Peck with him. Larson and Peck raced side-by-side as the laps ticked away giving Abreu the opportunity to make up ground on the leaders.

Abreu moved passed Peck on lap 12 and set his sights on Larson.

The caution flag flew at the halfway mark with Peck – running comfortably in the third position – stopped with a right rear flat tire retiring Peck’s No. 13 machine from competition at lap 17.

The move of the race took place at the next restart, with Larson selecting the high side and Abreu choosing the inside. Abreu hammered down into turn 1, overtaking the lead from Larson and setting a rapid pace in the second half of the 35-lap main event.

Larson showed signs of life, closing in the final circuits of the event. However, Abreu remained dominant etching his name in the Greg Hodnett Cup trophy for the second time, claiming the inaugural High Limit Sprint Car Series win at Grandview, and his second Thunder on the Hill series win.

Larson – a 4-time Grandview winner — would settle for the runner-up spot, with Brent Marks in the third position, Danny Dietrich in fourth, and Cory Eliason finishing in fifth.

Kasey Kahne finished in sixth from the 19th starting position. Cap Henry finished in the seventh position, Kyle Reinhardt in eighth, Hunter Schuerenberg settled for ninth and Lance Dewase finished in tenth aboard the Macri Racing No. 39M.

High Limit Series

A Feature 1 (35 Laps): 1. 24-Rico Abreu[4]; 2. 57-Kyle Larson[1]; 3. 19-Brent Marks[6]; 4. 48-Danny Dietrich[13]; 5. 11-Cory Eliason[12]; 6. 9K-Kasey Kahne[19]; 7. 2MD-Cap Henry[11]; 8. 71-Kyle Reinhardt[9]; 9. 55-Hunter Schuerenberg[3]; 10. 39M-Lance Dewease[16]; 11. 5-Tyler Ross[14]; 12. 10X-Ryan Smith[21]; 13. 11T-TJ Stutts[18]; 14. 23-Devon Borden[8]; 15. 20-Ryan Taylor[17]; 16. 9-Chase Randall[7]; 17. 5T-Ryan Timms[15]; 18. 13-Justin Peck[5]; 19. 5K-Jake Karklin[24]; 20. 99-Kyle Moody[22]; 21. 11A-Austin Bishop[23]; 22. 3J-Dusty Zomer[10]; 23. 51-Freddie Rahmer[20]; 24. (DNS) 20B-Tim Buckwalter

B Feature 1 (10 Laps): 1. 9K-Kasey Kahne[1]; 2. 51-Freddie Rahmer[4]; 3. 10X-Ryan Smith[2]; 4. 99-Kyle Moody[3]; 5. 11A-Austin Bishop[5]; 6. 5K-Jake Karklin[7]; 7. 35-Tyler Esh[9]; 8. 77K-Steven Kisamore[6]; 9. 88C-Chad Miller[8]

Dash (7 Laps): 1. 57-Kyle Larson[1]; 2. 20B-Tim Buckwalter[2]; 3. 55-Hunter Schuerenberg[4]; 4. 24-Rico Abreu[6]; 5. 13-Justin Peck[3]; 6. 19-Brent Marks[5]

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 57-Kyle Larson[1]; 2. 20B-Tim Buckwalter[2]; 3. 9-Chase Randall[4]; 4. 3J-Dusty Zomer[5]; 5. 48-Danny Dietrich[6]; 6. 39M-Lance Dewease[3]; 7. 99-Kyle Moody[8]; 8. 10X-Ryan Smith[7]; 9. 5K-Jake Karklin[9]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 13-Justin Peck[1]; 2. 55-Hunter Schuerenberg[2]; 3. 23-Devon Borden[3]; 4. 2MD-Cap Henry[5]; 5. 5-Tyler Ross[4]; 6. 20-Ryan Taylor[8]; 7. 9K-Kasey Kahne[6]; 8. 11A-Austin Bishop[7]; 9. 88C-Chad Miller[9]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 24-Rico Abreu[2]; 2. 19-Brent Marks[1]; 3. 71-Kyle Reinhardt[4]; 4. 11-Cory Eliason[6]; 5. 5T-Ryan Timms[3]; 6. 11T-TJ Stutts[5]; 7. 51-Freddie Rahmer[7]; 8. 77K-Steven Kisamore[9]; 9. 35-Tyler Esh[8]

Qualifying 1: 1. 57-Kyle Larson, 00:11.767[6]; 2. 13-Justin Peck, 00:11.773[18]; 3. 19-Brent Marks, 00:11.826[15]; 4. 20B-Tim Buckwalter, 00:11.830[1]; 5. 55-Hunter Schuerenberg, 00:11.849[9]; 6. 24-Rico Abreu, 00:11.855[25]; 7. 39M-Lance Dewease, 00:11.871[19]; 8. 23-Devon Borden, 00:11.875[22]; 9. 5T-Ryan Timms, 00:11.899[14]; 10. 9-Chase Randall, 00:11.913[13]; 11. 5-Tyler Ross, 00:11.921[10]; 12. 71-Kyle Reinhardt, 00:11.972[5]; 13. 3J-Dusty Zomer, 00:11.987[2]; 14. 2MD-Cap Henry, 00:12.018[21]; 15. 11T-TJ Stutts, 00:12.023[11]; 16. 48-Danny Dietrich, 00:12.024[24]; 17. 9K-Kasey Kahne, 00:12.033[7]; 18. 11-Cory Eliason, 00:12.043[20]; 19. 10X-Ryan Smith, 00:12.051[12]; 20. 11A-Austin Bishop, 00:12.060[3]; 21. 51-Freddie Rahmer, 00:12.180[27]; 22. 99-Kyle Moody, 00:12.207[17]; 23. 20-Ryan Taylor, 00:12.295[4]; 24. 35-Tyler Esh, 00:12.325[23]; 25. 5K-Jake Karklin, 00:12.442[8]; 26. 88C-Chad Miller, 00:12.561[16]; 27. 77K-Steven Kisamore, 00:12.978[26]