From Steve Inch

SELINSGROVE, Pa. – Selinsgrove Speedway will usher in the new decade with an aggressive 31-date race schedule in 2010. The historic Snyder County oval’s 65th year will open with a two-day modified event Friday, March 19 and Saturday, March 20.

Friday’s event will feature the 358 modifieds in a 25-lap feature paying $2,200 to win, with the Race of Champions big block modifieds being showcased in the third annual Icebreaker 50 paying $4,000 to win on Saturday.

A weekly four-division show this season will consist of the A&A Auto Stores 358 sprint cars, Lyons Trucking late models, Salem RV Center pro stocks, and Byers Built Engines/Collier Paving & Construction roadrunners.

This year will mark the 10th anniversary season for the 358 sprint cars as the track’s headline open wheel division. The 358 sprint cars will make their season debut on Saturday, March 27 at 6 p.m. along with the pro stocks.

The 358 sprint car National Open that was rained out last fall will be run on Saturday, April 3, paying $3,000 to win the 30-lap feature. The roadrunners will make their first start of the season as part of the April 3 racing program.

The 358 sprint cars will also be featured in the Jack Gunn Memorial URC/358 Challenge Race May 15, Joe Whitcomb Memorial June 19, Firecracker 30 July 3, and 10th Annual National Open for 358/360 sprint cars Sept. 4.

With Lyons Trucking as the new title sponsor this season, the late models will make their season debut at 6 p.m. Saturday, April 10. The late model division will also have several special events in 2010, including a spring championship May 8, the second annual Appalachian Mountain Speedweek June 6, a summer championship July 24, and the Late Model Open Aug. 7.

The annual Roadrunner 20 and Pro Stock 20 championship races will be held April 17 and May 1, respectively. Jeff’s Auto Body & Recycling Center will host the second annual Driver & Fan Appreciation Night July 17.

The 410 sprint cars will compete at Selinsgrove on May 30 (Keystone Cup), July 4 (Opperman Memorial/PA Speedweek), and September 18 (28th Annual National Open). This year’s National Open for 410 sprint cars will also be a tribute race to honor the memory of the speedway’s only five-time sprint car champion Jim Nace, who succumbed to cancer last November. Details on the Nace Memorial National Open will be forthcoming.

Following several year’s absence, the super sportsman tour will be making a return to Selinsgrove Speedway as part of the May 30 open wheel doubleheader. In addition to the May 15 Gunn Memorial, the United Racing Company sprint cars will compete at Selinsgrove in another dual open cockpit show June 5.

The Selinsgrove Speedway Motorsports Show at the Susquehanna Valley Mall, Hummels Wharf, is scheduled for Sunday, Feb. 14 through Saturday, Feb. 20. Teams interested in placing their race cars on display must register by contacting Steve and Jennifer Inch at (570) 523-8420 or

Race fans can purchase or renew their season reserved seats at the motorsports show Mon.-Fri., 6:30-9 p.m., and Sat. 1–7:30 p.m. The season kickoff ceremony will be held in the mall’s center court Saturday at 7:30 p.m.

Selinsgrove Raceway Park, the one-fifth mile oval located inside of Selinsgrove Speedway’s half-mile track, will celebrate its 10th anniversary in 2010. The go kart season opener is slated for 12 p.m. Sunday, March 28. The Selinsgrove Ford micro sprint cars will make their season start at 7 p.m. Friday, April 2.

The Pennsylvania Dirt Karters Series will make a single stop at the track this season on Sunday, April 18. Go kart racing will be the featured attraction as part of the Firecracker Special July 2 and Speed Weekend Oct. 2.

The micro sprint cars will take the spotlight in the fourth annual All Star Championship race Sept. 19. The Briggs & Stratton slingshots will make stops at Selinsgrove Raceway Park May 14 and Aug. 6.

DH&L Fire Co. will coordinate the second annual motorsports flea market on the speedway grounds Oct. 30. The season will conclude with the 10th annual Selinsgrove Speedway & Raceway Parks awards banquet Nov. 20 at the Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey Hotel.

For a complete 2010 schedule, please visit