Latest News


From Allan Brown

The Board of Directors for the Michigan Motorsports Hall of Fame, whose objective is to promote and preserve Michigan’s extensive racing history, are pleased to announce the ten new 2010 inductees.

The inductees include Tony Brabbs, from Clio, who is being inducted for his successful stock car racing career. Butch Dowker, from Charlotte, is a standout engine and chassis builder. Jeff Finley from DeWitt is one of the most successful short track drivers in Michigan history. John Haas, from Allegan, is a championship drag boat racer, having won numerous IHBA Top Fuel Hydro titles. The late Ray Harroun, who lived in Saginaw, was the winner of the inaugural Indy 500 in 1911. Diane Miller, from New Lothrop, was the first woman to race in the Soo I-500, among her other snowmobile exploits. Jim Slade, from Hillsdale, was one of the top Modified drivers. Ray Paquet, from the greater Lansing area, is a veteran NHRA and IHRA Super Stock drag racing champion. The Logghe Brothers, Gene and Ron, were pioneering Funny Car and Dragster Chassis builders. They are from Fraser. Ed & Carmen VanDuinen, from Lake City, were long time owners and promoters of the successful Merritt Speedway.

The induction ceremony will be held at the University Comfort Inn in Mount Pleasant, MI on Sunday afternoon, November 7, 2010. Tickets are available to the general public. Additional details can be found on when it becomes available.