Jordon ” The Jet” Mallett charges to historic USCS Outlaw Thunder career first win at Carolina

By Pete Walton

Gastonia, NC – April 13, 2012 – 2011 United Sprint Car Series presented by Goodyear, Rookie of the Year, Jordon “The Jet” Mallett from Greenbrier, Arkansas put his name in the USCS history books by winning his career first USCS presented by Goodyear main event at Carolina Speedway on Friday night. Mallett the K&N Filters Pole Position reached the USCS victory lane in the 30-lap main event after chasing ten-time USCS National Champion Terry Gray from Bartlett, Tennessee for the first sixteen circuits before making his winning pass. He then held off Tim Crawley from Benton, Arkansas and Gray after a lap twenty-three red flag to win by eight car lengths at the finish line. It was also the eighteen year olds career first-ever sprint car feature win.

Crawley who started fifth in the original order crossed the finish line in the runner-up spot. Gray followed him in the third position. The 2010 USCS National Rookie of the Year, Morgan Turpen from Oakland, Tennessee who won the second half of twin main events at Carolina Speedway last October finished in fourth place and 2008 USCS Rookie of the Year, Anthony Nicholson from Bartlett, Tennessee rounded out the top five.

2009 USCS Rookie of the Year, Justin Carver from Drummonds, Tennessee came home in the sixth position. The 2010 USCS presented by Goodyear, Southern Thunder regional series Rookie of the Year Eric Riggins, Jr. from Charlotte, North Carolina started last and finished in seventh place. Riggins who fought engine problems in the early part of the evening, had to change motors before the main event. He previously won the 2011 Fall USCS Carolina Thunder Nationals at Carolina Speedway. The 2008 USCS Southern Thunder Rookie of the Year Jake McLain from Indian Trail, North Carolina finished in the eighth spot. Veteran sprint car racer, Bob Auld from Largo, Florida finished in the ninth position and Nick DeFeo from Marietta, Georgia rounded out the top ten.

Matt Linder from Hoschton, Georgia was un-injured in the lap twenty three red flag incident that brought out the red flag after his nasty turn two tumble. Linder was running in the sixth position at the time.

Jordon Mallett kicked off the evenings sprint car action by streaking two a win in the Goodyear Speed Dash as well. Anthony Nicholson won the Engler Machine and Tool First Heat. Veteran Terry Gray won the Butlerbuilt Second Heat. Gray also collected the K&N Filters Podium Award for his third place finish. Jordon Mallett was awarded the K&N Filters Pole Position after high-points earning, Anthony Nicholson drew a six inversion in the K&N Filters inversion draw.

Young gun (16-year-old) Eric Riggins was rewarded for his hard charging efforts with the Wilwood Hard Charger Award for the driver who advances the most positions in the main event after improving eight positions. The JE Pistons Top Guns Award that rotates from first through fifth place at each event was earned by Morgan Turpen. Anthony Nicholson garnered the Keizer Aluminum Wheels Top Five Award and Nick DeFeo collected the Diversified Machine/Bulldog Rear Ends Top Ten Award.

The next USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour event is at Toccoa Speedway in Toccoa, Georgia on Saturday night. (April 14th). For information on that and other USCS Outlaw Thunder events please call 770-460-7223 or visit

United Sprint Car Series presented by Goodyear USCS Southern Thunder results:

Carolina Speedway – Friday, April 13, 2012.

Goodyear Speed Dash: winner = Jordon Mallett, Morgan Turpen, Juston Carver, Tim Crawley, Terry Gray and Anthony Nicholson.

Engler Machine and Tool First Heat: winner = Anthony Nicholson, Danny Martin, Jr., Morgan Turpen, Jake McLain, Lance Moss, Gary Troutman, Jason Day, Eric Riggins, Jr., DNS and A.J. Maddox DNS.

Butlerbuilt Second Heat: winner = Terry Gray, Tim Crawley, Matt Linder, Jordon Mallett, Justin Carver, Bob Auld, Nick DeFeo, Joe Larkin and Johnny Bridges.

USCS presented by Goodyear results Feature 30 laps:

1 – 14 Jordon Mallett, Greenbrier,AR
2 – 88 Tim Crawley, Benton, AR
3 – 10 Terry Gray, Bartlett, TN
4 – 80 Morgan Turpen, Oakland, TN
5 – 16 Anthony Nicholson, Bartlett, TN
6 – 87 Justin Carver, Drummonds, TN
7 – 47 Eric Riggins, Jr., Charlotte, NC
8 – 67 Jake McLain, Indian Trail, NC
9 – 83 Bob Auld, Sarasota, FL
10 – 96d Nick DeFeo, Marietta, GA

11 – 44 Gary Troutman, Vale, NC
12 – 82 Danny Martin, Jr., Sarasota, FL
13 – 33 Joe Larkin, Suwannee, GA NC
14 – 1x Matt Linder, Hoschton, GA
15 – 07 Johnny Bridges, Cherryville,
16 – 4Q Jason Day, Cherryville, NC

17 – 23 Lance Moss, Cherryville, NC

18 – 3a A.J. Maddox, Tampa, FL

USCS Sprint Car Race Awards:

Goodyear Speed Dash winner: Jordon Mallett

Engler Machine and Tool First Heat Award: Anthony Nicholson

Butlerbuilt Second Heat Award: Terry Gray

K&N Filters Pole Award: Jordon Mallett

Wilwood Eng. Hard Charger Award: Eric Riggins (started 15th finished 7th)

JE Pistons Top Guns Award: Morgan Turpen (4th place)

K&N Filters Podium Award: Terry Gray (3rd place)

Keizer Wheels Top Five Award: Anthony Nicholson

Diversified Machine Inc: Top Ten Award Nick DeFeo