urc United Racing Company Logo

urc United Racing CompanyFrom URC

Delmar, DE — (June 30, 2012) — It’s the kind of race that brings fans back the following week! You inch to the edge of your seat then you just decide to stand and watch the final two laps.

It was one of the most thrilling feature events in URC history that saw Ed Aikin of Lincoln University, PA take the win, leading just the final two laps and holding off a late race bid from  “The Master” Kramer Williamson. Robbie Stillwaggon appeared to have the race pretty much in hand leading the 25 lap feature from the drop of the green flag. Josh Weller made several bids for the lead followed by Chad Trout who also had an eye on the top spot. From out of nowhere, Andy Best rocketed into second on lap nineteen and he began reeling in the leader. On the white flag lap, race leader Robbie Stillwaggon had a tire go down and he spun coming out of turn four. The yellow was displayed and at the same time, Andy Best pulled off the track with mechanical problems. Ed Aikin took the top spot for the restart with Kramer Williamson second and point leader Kevin Darling in third. For the final two laps, Aikin fought off a determined Williamson for the win. Aikin and Williamson were side-by-side at the drop of the checker flag. For Aikin, it was his second Rislone URC Sprint Series feature win of the season and his eighth career URC victory.

URC heat race events were won by Jonathan Swanson, Robbie Stillwaggon and Josh Weller.

At the start of the feature event, Robbie Stillwaggon and Josh Weller immediately went to battle for the lead with Jonathan Swanson and Chad Trout in the hunt. Davie “No Panic” Franek moved into the top five and set his sights on Chad Trout. The top five remained unchanged then on lap eleven, the yellow flag was displayed for Joe Zuczek who spun.

On the restart, Stillwaggon and Weller returned to battle as Chad Trout, Andy Best and Ed Aikin make up the top five. Dave Betts brought out the caution on lap fifteen and set up the field for the first double-file restart of the night. Stillwaggon clicked off one more lap and the yellow came out again, this time for Steve Downs.

This double-file restart produced one of the most exciting moments of the race as Stillwaggon, Weller, Trout and Aikin set-up four wide for the lead going into turn one. Stillwaggon remained the race leader with Trout now in second and Aikin in third. On lap eighteen, Andy Best passed Aikin and began to reel in Trout and one lap later, Best was in the runner-up spot followed by Aikin, Trout and Kramer Williamson.

With just five laps remaining, Best was reeling in Stillwaggon as the leader was approaching slower traffic. Exiting turn four on the white flag lap, the flawless ride by Stillwaggon came to an end as a tire started to go down and the lead spun, causing the caution to be displayed. Stillwaggon rejoined at the rear of the field to complete the final two laps. Andy Best, who was running second at the time had the rear go out on his URC sprint car, forcing Best to retire for the night.

On the restart, Ed Aikin who started eleventh and won the race the week before in Winchester, VA, was on point but the pink panther of Kramer Williamson was now a contender. With two laps remaining, Aikin used the bottom lane as Williamson moved to the outside groove. Williamson stayed with Aikin and entering turn three on lap twenty-four, Williamson made a bid for the lead for the run down the homestretch. Current Point Leader Kevin Darling was now racing in third and also gaining on the race leaders.

On the final lap, Williamson duplicated his attempt from the prior lap, going to the far outside off of turn four. Aikin and Williamson were side-by-side for the run down the long home stretch with Aikin edging out Williamson for the win. Williamson was second followed by Kevin Darling, Chad Trout and Davie Franek.

The win for Ed Aikin was worth $2,000 and he became the first back to back winner since June of 2010 when JJ Grasso won back-to-back features. Aikin started eleventh in the twenty-five lap feature event.

FEATURE FINISH: Ed Aikin, Kramer Williamson, Kevin Darling, Chad Trout, Davie Franek, JJ Grasso, Randy West, Josh Weller, Art Liedl, Joey Biasi, Tim Hogue, Joe Zuczek, Jeff Fithian, Robbie Stillwaggon, Jonathan Swanson, Dan Mazy, Troy Betts, Steve Downs, Andy Best, David Swanson, Scott Lutz, Jimmy Stitzel, Kameron Darling.
Fred’s Trailer Parts Hard Charger: JJ Grasso advanced 13 spots
LikeWise Fast Time of the Night: Robbie Stillwaggon
Engler Tool & Machine Heat 1 Winner: Jonathan Swanson
Brad Penn Oil Heat 2: Robbie Stillwaggon
Pioneer Pole Buildings Heat 3: Josh Weller

Next Event: Saturday, July 7 New Egypt Speedway Bar’s Leaks Nationals